Nesting and … labor??

All of this week, I have been highly motivated to get things clean and ready for Baby Fiala.  However, at 38+ weeks pregnant, “highly motivated” doesn’t equal “highly productive.”  I move slowly and clumsily, and tire easily.

Monday, what with a doctor appointment and hair appointment, I was about shot for the day.

Tuesday, it took me the whole day to clean my bedroom.  The whole day.  One room.  However, I deep cleaned — moved all the furniture (except the bed and bookcase), polished (not just dusted) the two dressers, two desks, said bookcase, headboard, and little couch’s wood trim.  Plus, I dusted/cleaned the ceiling fan, all hanging pictures, knick-knacks, baseboards, etc.  Oh!  And the two wood blinds.

Wednesday, I cleaned my bathroom.  Granted, I didn’t spend all day on it, and it’s a pretty big bathroom, and I scrubbed the whole thing meticulously.  But, that’s pretty much all I got done for the day.  We did also have a Little League game to go to, so that cut my day short, somewhat.  Still, it’s a bit disappointing to have great big plans for accomplishing… well, at least more than cleaning one bathroom, and having the day end with that being the totality of my accomplishments.

Today, I spent the morning going through Audrey’s baby clothes, and re-arranging her room a bit.  Thankfully, she has a shorter, wide, 6-drawer dresser, and only half of the drawers actually had clothes in them.  The other ones had blankets and shoes, which I moved elsewhere.  So, now, half of the dresser is Fiala’s, and half is Audrey’s.  And, I confirmed that we, indeed, have a dearth of infant winter clothes.  Since Audrey was born in April, all her 0-6 month stuff is spring/summer.  We definitely have enough onesies, little knit pants, jammies, etc., but virtually no outfits.  After I’m done here, I’m going to start trolling eBay for baby clothes, which is always great fun.

Also…  well…  I could be in labor.  I’m not certain.  I am having contractions.  It’s now about 2:20, and they’ve been going on since about 7:00 this morning.  But, they’re very light.  I’m also nearly certain that the baby dropped.  Feels like she’s going to fall out, actually, and all morning, I couldn’t stand for more than a minute or two at a time, due to the very uncomfortable pressure.  The pressure has eased up a bit, but the ctx are growing a bit stronger.  They’re still only every 20 minutes or so, and definitely still light…  but I hope they lead to actual labor, instead of just fading away.

With all my kids, I have 12-48 hours of very light contractions, every 20 minutes or so… so light that, unless I’m paying attention, I almost wouldn’t notice them.  And, also, with Audrey in particular, there were three or four different days where I had 8-12 hours of ctx, then they would peter out into nothing.  She ended up being six days late.  Right now, if Fiala were born today, she would be 11 days early.  However, both my first two, Ethan and Grant, were born exactly 11 days early, so we’re within the realm of possibility.

This morning, I got an e-mail from a friend which ended, “I’m praying for your labor/delivery!”  And, I thought that she had heard through the grapevine or something.  I had suggested to Martin that he not tell anyone yet, until we know for certain that it is labor.  And, unbelieving wife that I am, when I got that e-mail, I assumed that Martin called some people…  Turned out that he hadn’t!  My friend had just been praying for me!  So, maybe that was God prompting it in her heart…  I hope so!!

So, if I go for a week or two without blogging, you can bet that when I come back, I’ll have a whole bunch of pics and a story to tell!!

Also, I feel like a bad, self-focused bloggy-friend, because I have spent virtually no time in the last two weeks or so, reading up on anyone else’s life.  I truly hope all is going well with each of you, and I look forward to catching up when things slow down.  Wait, no, that’s not going to happen.  “Slow down.”  Ha!  I look forward to catching up with each of you at some, hopefully sooner-than-later time.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 9, 2008, in Introspective Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh I hope things are going well. Please don’t wait 2 weeks to post baby pics. They have wireless internet at most hospitals now so we want details soon! (but I will understand if it is awhile :0))

    I am nesting and I still have 15 weeks left. You are amazing to be doing all of that right now! Be careful!!

  2. I’m sure things will go brilliantly – probably just Braxton-Hicks at the moment, right? Am hardly blogging at all myself at the moment and I don’t even have being 38 weeks pregnant as an excuse…

  1. Pingback: It wasn’t a mistake (whew!) « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

