It appears to have worked! Maybe.

Well, I had a doctor’s appointment early this afternoon.  Although all my contractions from last Thursday didn’t produce real labor, at least it produced significant progress in my body’s getting ready for labor.  (I’m dilated to 3cm, and fully effaced, but baby’s still at -2 station.)  “Progress” is not quite as exciting as an actual baby, but encouraging nonetheless.  Kindly, he told me the dates for the rest of the week when he’s actually on call, when he’ll be out of town, etc.  It’s his suggestion that I have the baby tomorrow, the 14th.  🙂  Hehehe!  Tomorrow’s a full moon, too, and for reasons not fully understood, statistically, more women do go into labor during a full moon than under a … normal moon.  Here’s hopin’!  (ETA:  Found a cool online moon phase calculator.  Only my first — and now, maybe my fifth — were born within a day or two of a full moon.  Still, it’s fun to tinker with!!)

The thing in the title that appears to have worked is my OB/GYN placing me on The South Beach Diet for this, my third trimester.  The reason he did that is because I have three risk factors that all increase my chances of hemmoraging:  1)  This is my fifth child;  2)  I have BIG babies;  3) I have — let’s just call it — a vein problem.  To decrease the risk, theoretically, it would help if I don’t gain a lot of weight, both to minimize the stress on my own body’s vascular system, and to not have the baby pack on extra weight, either, to make for a relatively easier birthing process.

On the diet, I have gained exactly no weight for the entire last 9 weeks, and a total of 19 or 20 pounds, depending on when I weigh myself.  Lemme tell you, I’m starting to feel excited about not having tons (or at least tens) of pounds to lose after Fiala is born.  I keep looking at my arms in the mirror and noticing that they are not gigantic.  Usually, my upper arms just balloon, and my face gets super-rounded.  Neither has happened.  I keep thinking, “This maternity jacket/pair of jeans/shirt, which I wore last pregnancy, didn’t fit when I was 39 weeks.  Or even 36.  I was too big.”  Other than my maternity tee shirts, which are now too short because I am so freakishly long-waisted, plus 39 weeks pregnant, all of my maternity clothes still fit.  That’s a first for me.  Usually, at about 34 or 35 weeks, I have to run out and get a few more, larger items because I’ve outgrown all the larges and XLs that I owned.

Now, it’s not like I’m a slender reed;  I’m 179 pounds.  And, about the time I got pregnant, I weighed five more pounds than I normally do, so you could say I have gained 24 lbs during the pregnancy.  And, I lost 8 lbs at the beginning of the pregnancy, just from being sick, so if you really wanna be picky, you could say that I actually gained a total of 27 pounds.  Even topping out at 27, that’s the fewest pounds gained for any of my five pregnancies.  With all my others, it was 40-50 lbs.

So, here I sit, chowing down on raw almonds and tangerine Diet Rite, waiting for real labor to kick in.

The only thing that I’m really concerned about is if, when dear little Fiala is born, it turns out that she’s six pounds or something.  Then I’ll feel like I’ve malnourished her.  I’m hoping for a baby in the low-to-mid eights.  (My smallest was 8 lbs 13 oz, biggest was 10 lbs even.)  I don’t think it’s likely that she’ll be really low birth weight.  I think I was almost 33 weeks at my last ultrasound, and that one estimated her to be 4 lbs 12 oz, which is the 90th percentile.  I just would feel so badly if her growth was somehow stunted from me not eating to my heart’s content during this last trimester.  So, that’s the “maybe” part of the title.  I don’t want my non-weight-gain to be at the expense of the health of my newborn daughter.  So, we have yet to see the final proof of the diet, to see if it was worthwhile.

So… whenever you think of me, if you do, kindly, think of me, just take that as a little prompt from the Holy Spirit, and pray for me.  🙂  Pray for me to go into labor, and pray for it to be a medically uneventful, normal birth, with no excess bleeding.  All four of my children were birthed with no medication, and minimal intervention.  I have no reason to believe that this will be any different, but if you would, please do pray that the pattern holds, and that little Fiala Gabrielle will be birthed med-free.  I am one of the few, weird mothers who actually look forward to birthing.  I love the process.  It’s not like I sadistically love pain, but I love the hard work that it takes — the labor, one might say — that it takes to bring a sweet baby into the world, and the supreme joy of seeing the fruit of that labor.  I know that, in the long run, the pain is short, and the reward is the absolute sweetest that there is.

So… yet again, I post this with the high hopes that my next offering will be to say, “She’s here!!!”

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 13, 2008, in Birth, Medical Stuff, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Christina Edwards

    Hang in there, not tooo long! You’ll make, you always do. I look forward to birth as well. It is a very spiritual journey. Only God can change the length, intensity, or anything else in that time. Man can medicate, but that is it.
    May God be with you and give you strength for the journey.
    Christina Edwards

  2. Hi Karen, I just found your blog and I find it very interesting. Just for some words of encouragement, I was on South Beach my second child and it went great. He weighed more than my first child, and I lost the weight MUCH faster. Good luck and God bless.

  3. It’s the 14th here! I’m wondering if anything has happened…?! I will be thinking about you and sending out the normal birth vibes and pray that both of you will be very well. I love the name you’ve chosen, Fiala Gabrielle, that is beautiful.

  4. I gave you an award. Check out my blog entry for today to collect!

Leave a Reply

