Seven random things meme…

I like being tagged, and was recently tagged with this meme by the always-interesting Daja, who I think would make a lovely neighbor.  However, I’m not so hot about applying all the instructions that go with rule-laden memes…  This is due to some semi-latent rebellion in me that says, “It’s ridiculous to submit to that sort of thing” like chain e-mails and the like.  I’m most likely to tag those who I think would appreciate being tagged, and I don’t know if that would total seven or not.  We’ll have to see at the end.

Here are my things…  (If I have already stated any of these before, I’m sorry!  I’m trying to be original, but my memory is really poor…)

  1. I have my nose pierced.  Or, at least, I used to.  I got it pierced when I was 18 at a shop in the French Quarter called Warlocks.  :roll eyes:  I was a student at Tulane.  I’d been planning on getting my nose pierced as soon as I turned 18, but didn’t quite have the courage until I was about 18 years and … 8 months or so, when my sister was with me to hold my hand.  VERY few people had their noses pierced 17 years ago, and I was totally unprepared — due to my youthful oblivion — to the negative assumptions people would make of me.  Cultural perceptions are much different now, and I’m sure if I put my nose ring back in, no one would look askance.  But I think I still carry some residual pain/surprise at the response I received for the three years or so that I wore my nose ring, and I would likely not wear one today.
  2. I am trend/fad-avoidant.  Unless blogging counts.  I can’t believe I’ve been blogging for about three years now.  Time flies.
  3. Our house is three years old and we have not ever had the carpets cleaned.  This is really bugging me.  Also bugging me is the fact that it costs a good $150+ to get them cleaned.  It seems there’s always some more important use for the $150 than getting our carpets done.  We have a really good vacuum, and each living area gets vacuumed twice a week, and each bedroom once a week, so it’s not like they’re filthy.  Still, I think about this just about every day, wondering what lurks in those dark fibers…  Ugh.
  4. At one point in our childhoods, my husband and I lived about four houses down the street from each other.  He’s 6.5 years older than me, and in kid-years, that’s a whole generation apart.  He was friends with the neighborhood thugs, to whom he lived next door.  “Rick and Bill?” he says, “Oh, they were harmless.”  They probably were — it’s more like they were simply the redneck sort to have four beaters up on concrete blocks in the front yard, who turned their 1970’s banana-seat bicycles into chopper-styles bikes decades before OCC was on TV, who sprouted mustaches at age 14, and who glared at little kids.  Still, we were all terrified.
  5. Several times, maybe five or six times, when I was in college, late at night, I scaled the underneath of this bridge over the Mississippi, and via the maintenance catwalks underneath, hung out on top of one of the concrete pylons (or whatever they’re called) and watched barges pass beneath, and saw the city lights of downtown New Orleans.  At the time, it seemed like exciting yet harmless fun, but now, looking back, I can’t believe I was that daring/stupid.
  6. I am not a collector of anything.  Except kids.  😉  I think, at the core, that has something to do with my extremely unsentimental side, the side that 99.95% of women have in droves, and which I (usually fruitlessly) try to cultivate, but which doesn’t come naturally at all.  (Did that make sense?)
  7. I am NOT a good phone conversationalist.  I’d so much rather talk in person.  Second choice would be written communication.  I pretty much talk on the phone because I have to, not because it’s any joy.  We have call waiting, which came for “free” with our phone package, but I never use it.  I usually don’t even glance at the caller ID to see who’s calling, until after the phone conversation I’m involved in is finished.

OK… whom to tag?

First, Melanie at Mundane Meanderings, who always says she “steals” my memes, but that’s probably because I just simply do memes and then don’t tag anyone, because I’m always afraid that they’ll be annoyed by it.  So… Melanie, you won’t be stealing this time, because I’m willingly “giving” you the meme, OK?

Then, Jamie at Looks Good in Polkadots, except she very recently did a non-meme post of a similar nature that I thought was fabulous.

And, Embejo, Etc., a Kiwi homeschooler who is also a compassionate woman of action (check out this post).

And, Carrie at Ginger Lemon Girl, who is my favorite gluten-free recipe-poster.

And, Christy at Zimm’s Zoo, a midwestern homeschooling mom of soon-to-be six.  Check out this diaper bag she made.  I’m drooling over it.  Like a baby.  😀

Additionally, I tag anyone who has a blog who would like to join in, especially all of my LURKERS, who seem to be popping up, saying, “Oh, I’ve read your blog for a year!” and yet I’ve never heard from them until now!!

Lastly, I’d like to tag anyone who doesn’t have a blog.  Just leave your seven things as a comment, even if it’s a very long comment.  🙂

There.  That’s seven, with a little creativity.

I’ll have to notify everyone tomorrow, though, that they’ve been tagged, because my blog-time is up.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on October 30, 2008, in Memes, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That was very interesting and entertaining!!! Thanks for doing it! I didn’t know you loved to be tagged, so that’s another thing I just learned about you!

  2. Once upon a time I did the belly button piercing thing. That didn’t last long! The nose and tongue freak me out!!!!

    This is fun, your daring adventures remind me of things I did back when!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  3. I checked to see if that material was available and it is all gone or I might have considered sending you ours.

    I am extremely un-sentimental too. It drives my sentimental husband up the wall.

    I am going to try and post today.

  1. Pingback: 7 things that are indeed random, but not necessarily about me. « Embejo Etc

Leave a Reply

