And now for something completely unimportant…

Yesterday afternoon I was footballed-out (CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT THE CARDINALS ARE 5-3????  Woo hoo!!  This is the first year my husband hasn’t mocked me for being a fan), and started scanning the onscreen guide for something to watch while I was feeding my baby.  I saw that the movie Secondhand Lions had just started, so I flipped over to TNT.  That movie had been recommended to me before;  I think it’s one of my friend Sheila’s favorites.  But, I’d never seen it before.  Well, about 30 seconds into it, I was totally hooked.  Eventually, everyone came out to watch with me.  It really was a fantastic, worthwhile movie — feelgood but not sappy, much about bringing boys into manhood.  I put it on hold at the library so we can watch it all again, sans commercials.

Anyways, a bit into the movie, I said, “If they ever make a movie about Peyton Manning’s life, Haley Joel Osment should play him.”  They do look strikingly similar:

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 3, 2008, in Family, Movies, Random Stuff, Sports Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love Secondhand Lions and so do the kids. They walk around saying “Corn, Corn nothing but Corn!” And they love the part where they have target practice with the salesmen.

    When you get the DVD be sure and watch the special features because the making of the lion part and some of the deleted scenes are pretty interesting.

Leave a Reply

