Even in the little things (part 2)

In my last “little things” post, I wrote about how God answered my prayer just to get my hair cut.  This time, he answered my heart, even though I didn’t actually pray!!

Money is tight.  Surprise, surprise.  It is for virtually everyone, I know.  Every mom who has had a baby girl must surely understand my… well, “heartache” might be a little too strong of a word, but my sadness over having virtually no money to spend with a bitsy girl being born…  all those racks of beautiful girly dresses and fuzzy pink blankets just calling my name, and I have to ignore them like the song of the Sirens, so that I don’t crash on the rocky shore of my husband’s broken trust and a credit card balance that we shouldn’t even be carrying.

I did buy a couple of small lots of used baby clothes on eBay in the last few weeks, but if it weren’t for my friend Shellie, Fiala would literally not have anything brand-new to wear*.  Not that a baby needs new things to wear…  But, still.  For some reason, it just seems extra-sad to me for a new baby not to have new clothes.  Fiala wore that outfit from Shellie both home from the hospital, and to church on her first Sunday.  (BTW, for anyone who knows me IRL, this is not a hint AT ALL for gifts for clothes for my little girl.  We’re doing fine, and God always provides.)

The dress I liked looked like this, but it is lilac with brown polkadots, not brown with white polkadots

The dress I liked looked like this, but it is lilac with brown polkadots, not brown with white polkadots

A number of weeks ago, I was at a store for… something.  Can’t remember what.  But, of course, I had to look at the baby girl things, even though I knew I couldn’t buy them.  And, normally, I’m not a huge fan of Carter’s clothing… not sure what it is…  just don’t like Carter’s style.  But, there was a fabulous little lilac dress by Carter’s, very classically styled, with teensy brown polkadots, and teensy brown bows on the sleeves.  I looked at it, and thought, “This is almost worth Martin getting mad at me for buying it.”  But, I was a good girl, and didn’t buy it.  Argument avoided, and he didn’t even know…

So.  Anyways.  After church on yesterday, I got into my truck, which my dear hubby had loaded up for me with kids and diaper bags, etc., and I look over and there’s a present from someone.  Oh, goody!  I opened the card, and it was such a lovely handmade card that I’m going to frame it.  The present was from a precious young woman…  I think she’s 20…  I was so surprised to be getting a present from her!  And, what do you think was the first thing I pulled out from the gifg bag???  That dress.  That sweet, polka-dotted dress.  The same one that I resisted buying, hard as it was to, when my hubby put the kibosh on spending.  I started crying.  Everything in the bag — the dress, a pack of onesies, and two little pairs of pants, was lavender.  (Fiala means “violet.”)  I called the giver, and got her voicemail, on which I left a long, tearful message telling her of me seeing the dress a while ago and not being able to buy it, and wondering if she had known the meaning of Fiala’s name.  She called back later, and left her own tear-filled message (I didn’t hear my phone ring), saying that she was so thrilled to hear the leading of God, even unintentionally, and, no, she didn’t know the meaning of Fiala’s name.

~sigh~  See?  God provides.  He takes care of our needs, and He even has compassion on the heart of a mother who wants a few new things for her new baby, even though it’s not a need at all.  He’s good like that.

———-

* A couple of dear women from my hubby’s work DID give us a very cute set of three onesies and two little pants, which Fiala will look scrumptious in, come this spring, since they’re 3-6 month size…  Also, the stuff I bought off of eBay is all fall/winter stuff, but it’s been unseasonably warm, so she can’t wear any of it yet.  A few more weeks…

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 3, 2008, in Clothes, Encouragement, Friendships, God/Christianity/Church, Shopping, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That is so awesome.

    It is always nice to know that God knows the desires of our hearts. I wanted some baby shoes (because I am sucker for those) and my SIL brought over 5 brand new pairs!!

    Our Father loves us so much!!

  2. That’s amazing! I love little dresses like that, especially the matching knickers – so cute! I have to say, it was a good thing I had a little boy otherwise I would definitely have given into temptation and gone mental round the shops buying girls’ clothes and dollies! I saw this gorgeous dress today in the shops… $50. A dress to fit a one-year-old. Can you believe it? It makes me wish I could sew.

  3. I love all your recent photos. You have such beautiful children.

    Re: this post … I am right there with you, sister! I have those experiences frequently, and my most recent one was this Saturday. I was going yard sale-ing (saling? whatever.) with the intent of doing my Christmas shopping – and I prayed beforehand and asked God to help me find some really good deals so the kids could have a nice Christmas on our slim budget.

    The week before, I’d thought about how much I loved the pedal car I owned as a child, and thought dreamily about how I’d love the kids to have one – but I know how horribly expensive they are, so I didn’t really seriously entertain the thought.

    But, wouldn’t you know it? Saturday morning, I found a Kettlercar for $10. Woohoo. And lots of other nice things for the kids’ Christmas. I was really overjoyed that God cares about such a relatively petty thing.

Leave a Reply

