I have two stickers

i-voted-early4I applied online for a mail-in ballot, but I guess with the birth of Fiala and all, I didn’t get the thing filled out early enough to actually mail it in.  I know that you can leave things blank if you’re unsure about the candidates for the school board, or which superior court judge should stay and which should leave, or which proposition should get my yes vote.  But, I’m the kind who likes to vote for everything.  And, if I’m going to vote for it, I need to be educated about it.  And, in order to be educated, I need to read all I can that’s been published in print and online, both from neutral parties and those biased.  All of that takes time, which I haven’t had in spades, lately.

Thankfully, here in Arizona, once the “mail-in” ballot is completed, it can be turned in to any polling place.

My hubby and I completed our ballots last night, after the kids were in bed.  It took about 90 minutes.  I first went through the gigantic, two-sided thing and marked everyone/everything of whom/which I was well-informed (or highly-opinionated, one or the other).  Then, I pulled out all my election booklets and read through the appropriate sections for the people or issues of which I was unsure.  Then, I went online and did some more reading — interviews with candidates, organizations that gave their opinions, etc.

I filled everything out.

Could YOU vote for him??  Plus, he said, I have three children...  Both went on to college...  Hes either confused about his children, or about his grammar, neither of which is good for a governing school board member

Could YOU vote for him?? Plus, he said, "I have three children... Both went on to college..." He's either confused about his children, or about his grammar, neither of which is good for a governing school board member

The only thing that was an under-vote was for our local school board.  There were five candidates, of whom I could vote for three.  One guy, I knew for certain I was going to vote for.  Looking into the other four, of one woman I thought, “OK, she sounds like she’d do a good job, even though she has no experience and is trying to make the leap from stay-at-home mother to elected position overnight…”  The other guys…  Umm…  No.  One of them even said that home schooling was a “major challenge” that faced the public school system, listing it as a problem area that needed to be “addressed.”  Hm.  The other two guys, well, one of them was opposed to standardized testing and measurements in general, which… well, I think it’s important that one actually learns something before one is handed a diploma.  The other guy (and this was my most scientific evaluation) simply looked like a jerk.  I mean, I saw several photos of him, and he looks like a …  well, a jerk.  I couldn’t vote for him.  So, five candidates, three positions, and I voted for two.

Anyways.  With the mail-in ballot came a sticker that says “I Voted Early.”

At about 6:30 a.m. this morning, my husband took both our ballots to our polling place, not knowing for certain if he could turn in my ballot too, but we thought it was worth a try.  It worked.  He said, “There were a couple of hundred people there already, and I just walked right by them and turned in our ballots.”  After he did so, the election official gave him two stickers of “I Voted Today,” one for each of us.

So, now, I have two stickers.

I’m thinking about wearing them both, just to mess with people.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 4, 2008, in Arizona, Homeschooling, Political Thought, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. It’s kind of freaky you can hand in a vote for someone. Election laws are in dire need of reform. I mean he was your husband but he could have been an acorn worker.

  2. My ballot was in a sealed envelope with my siggy on the outside. I guess that’s considered safe enough!

  3. I’m so sorry your senator didn’t win. He totally grew on me in this campaign. I didn’t like him in the primaries, but the more I knew of him the more I liked. I’m sad.

  4. Here we only vote by absentee ballot… we don’t even have real polls anymore (that I know of). We can either mail our ballots back (as hubs and I did a week ago) or drop them off at an “Official Ballot Drop Site”. There are workers outside, who take our ballots at our car window! It’s awesome. We do have to place our ballot inside a security envelope, then inside another envelope which bears our signature and registration name, etc… evidently they scan the signatures and compare them with our registration signatures on file.

    Works for me.

    But then I live in a Democratic state where, technically my vote doesn’t count! 🙂

    Oh, and I want a sticker! We don’t get those!

    Cheers!
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

