“Pink Eye.” Or, “Duh.”

Last week, my 11yo son Ethan had a very red left eye.  He graciously let me pry open his eyelids so I could get a better look. (What is it about motherhood that makes one strangely enjoy literally picking on one’s kids, like a grooming chimp or something?)  On the whites (sclera?) of his eye, amongst the bloodshot vessels, was a strange bump.  I immediately got very worried, thought it must be Pink Eye/conjunctivitis or something, and told my husband, who immediately told me to calm down, that I always think something is wrong with our kids.  Hmph.

Ethan’s eye did clear up in the next day or two… but then, I noticed MY eyes looking very red, inflamed red even, extremely bloodshot, and sore.  Goodness!  I was right!  Ethan did have something contagious!!  Of course, I alerted my husband, who, peering into my eyes, said, “Hm.  They do look a little bloodshot.  But, I don’t think you caught anything from Ethan.”  Hmph.  The proof was right in front of him!

A couple of hours later that night, as I was yawning and getting ready for bed, it dawned on me:  For the last three weeks, I have, at most, gotten about 5 hours of sleep each night.  Hm.  Think chronic lack of sleep might play into the fact that my eyes are bloodshot??  The whole thing dawned on me with a resounding, “Duh.”

I bet that when Fiala starts sleeping for a longer clip at night that my Pink Eye magically clears up.  :blush:

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 14, 2008, in Babies, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “Hmph.” [laughing] Love it!

    I’m glad you’ve got balance in your household: Caution and reason. An important mix [smile].

    ~Luke

  2. btw, know what really works for clearing up pink eye? Chammomile. Make a tea with it and soak a clean white cloth in it and apply it to the eye. I’ve also rinsed eyes with weak chammomile tea, too. Clears up pretty quickly.

    Magic!

    As for the “Duh”…..I’m with ya. I looked in the mirror the other day and my eyes had dark circles and I starting thinking that maybe my hemoglobin had gone down again and was trying to remember if I’d taken my vitamins. Then I realized I was just TIRED!!! LOL!

  3. Luke ~ Always glad to amuse you. 🙂 Although, I must say that some defensiveness rose up when I realized what you were saying: I was the voice of Caution, and my husband was the voice of Reason. I have always thought myself highly reasonable, and my husband lacking in logic. My, how parenthood changes things.

    Daja ~ I’ll remember that about chamomile!!!! Last time conjunctivitis swept through our household, I used colloidal silver, which knocks it out, too. However, I just remembered that as I was pondering your suggestion. Duh again. I could have just dropped some colloidal silver in Ethan’s eyes, or my own, and worry would have been averted. 🙄 And, you have trouble keeping your hemoglobin up? I didn’t know that.

  4. In the immortal words of Chef:

    “That ain’t no ___-_____ pinkeye! That’s the livin’ dead!”

Leave a Reply

