Thanksgiving miscommunications, menu, etc.

This year, my husband and I put out the word, sort of, that we would rather not host Thanksgiving.  You know, spitshining the house and cooking and baking endlessly don’t combine easily with newborn…  What we meant to do was gently invite ourselves over to our parents’ house, or something like that.  Unfortunately, somehow, we miscommunicated this, and our parents came to hear our plans/hopes as, “We would rather not celebrate Thanksgiving at all” which is totally not true.

Last year, I was rather heartbroken to celebrate Thanksgiving by our own selves, with no other family in town.  I didn’t want to repeat that.  It was too late, though, for Martin’s dad and stepmom;  they committed elsewhere, thinking that we wanted to be by ourselves.  However, I called my mom and stepdad, and although they had been planning on going down to Tucson to spend Thanksgiving with his extended family, they hadn’t made any actual commitments, and after listening to my tearful pleas*, agreed to come over here for Thanksgiving after all.  We all agreed that our kids would probably do better hanging out here than at their decidedly not-baby-proof house.  And they agreed to overlook the 1/4″ of dust that has collected on virtually every surface.  (Except in the family room, which I managed to clean from top to bottom yesterday!)

My mom is working this week, Monday through Wednesday, so can’t really do a lot of preparing ahead of time.  However, my stepdad offered to smoke a turkey.  Yum.  So, he’ll stay up until midnight tonight, and then pop the turkey in the smoker, as it needs 10-12 hours to smoke.

With the exception of the cheesecake, everything is gluten-free, dairy-free.  Our menu is:

  • Smoked turkey
  • Oven roasted garlic rosemary potatoes
  • Yams (in chunks in the Crockpot with allspice, brown sugar, salt and Smart Balance)
  • Cucumber salad with tomatoes and onions
  • Green salad
  • Black-eyed peas with mushrooms
  • Green beans with garlic and almonds
  • (plain) corn
  • GFCF rolls
  • GF pumpkin cheesecake
  • GFCF coconut flan
  • GFCF pumpkin maple pie

The potaotes, black-eyed peas and the green bean recipes come from a new cookbook, graciously given to me by Martin’s step-mom.  The book looks fabulous, and has a decidely European air…

I’ll post recipes if anyone is interested.  🙂

Happy Thanksgiving to all!!!!!

———–

*I’m not a big cry-er;  I abhor emotional manipulation.  But I absolutely couldn’t help myself when re-asking my parents to come over for Thanksgiving.  We had a lovely meal last year, but really, I was very sad at having no one to share it with, and the tears spilled over.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 26, 2008, in Family, GFCF, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love your blog (everything). I’ve enjoyed your recipe for sugar cookies, but never before posted a comment. Your story for Thanksgiving definitively touched me, so here I am: first of all Congrats to everyone! the reason besides the obvious holiday wishes :-), is the way you build your relashionship.

    One of the things I h’ve always noticed is how families let missunderstandings ruin the spirit, and you guys didn’t allow yourselves to spend another “sad” holiday and worked it over with grace and good disposition. This is how families and friends should react, but is seldome seen nowadays.

    Thank you for sharing! (and many thanks for your recipes, I’ll come back looking for those for the yums, flan and pumkin maple pie)

    • Goodness, Pat, thank you for your encouragement!!!!

      I will have to post the coconut flan recipe. It turned out great!!! If you love coconut, that is, and if you can’t have dairy, it’s dreamy. I ended up modifying a recipe I found online, and I was so pleased with the results.

      And, I’ll link to the pie recipe… I borrowed it from a blog-friend. 😉

      Thanks for the comment — really, it was an encouragement to me!

Leave a Reply

