A face only a mother could love…

When my oldest, Ethan, was born, I thought he was absolutely beautiful.  However, I was aware of the precious bias that God places in the hearts of mothers, which leads them to view their child The Most Beautiful Child In All of the World.  So, when people would compliment me on his little self (as if I were deserving of credit), I would deflect their words, thinking, “They must be saying that just to be nice.”  However, when I look back on his baby pictures, he really was beautiful.  He was seriously a perfect little Gerber baby.

When Fiala was born, about five weeks ago, I honestly didn’t think she was that cute.  She looked rather boyish, actually.  People keep telling me that she is beautiful, but inside, I was thinking, “Umm… Not so sure about that.”  My weirdest-looking baby, Grant, has matured into quite the handsome little 9yo boy.  So, I know that baby faces change, of course, and it’s not like I was despondent over her face in the first place;  I just didn’t think she was all that cute.

Now, though, I am smitten with her little face.  I still cry if I think about it;  she is so lovely to me.  She has huge blue eyes, chubby cheeks, little rosebud lips, perfect little round head, and the hugest, sweetest smiles.  She squinches her nose when she smiles…  Audrey piped up, “Like a bunny!” yesterday, about Fiala’s nose.  We all laughed.  Yes, like a bunny…

I don’t know if my ever-increasing love for her has changed my perspective, or if she has just “matured” into a more beautiful baby.  I have no idea.

I don’t care if my babies are gorgeous or ugly;  I love them the same…  I just think how strange it is that I should have my mind changed so completely and so rapidly about my little baby’s face.

The only bummer is that she has a horrible case of baby acne.  A neighbor (a man) was literally taken aback when looking at Fiala the other day.  It is a little scary/sad.  So, it’s all the more funny to me that I think she is absolutely beautiful, when her face is totally covered with inflamed, red bumps.  Poor baby.

I’m washing her face with chamomile tea.  Chamomile is known to be both antiseptic and calming.  Then, yesterday, I thought maybe I was imagining improvement, so I went back to plain water, and her face is worse today.  No more experiments.  I’m going back to chamomile.

112608_11372

Smiley baby Fiala

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on November 29, 2008, in Babies, Motherhood, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. She is adorable!

  2. She is beautiful! And I’m not just saying that to be nice, hehe. Are you nursing? If so, you might consider eliminating some of the common allergens out of your diet (one each, for a few weeks at a time) because baby acne is often caused by a mild reaction to something you are eating. It might be worth a try. Dairy, soy, corn and wheat are some common reactive foods.

  3. Cucidati ~ Thank you!!

    Rebekah ~ Welcome to my blog! Yes, I’m nursing!! I nursed my last baby for 21 months. 🙂 Being a person with celiac disease, I’m already wheat-free. Other than half & half in my coffee (and the very occasional ice cream), I’m dairy-free, too, since two of my five children can’t have dairy, and I don’t bake w/ it, and I don’t drink milk. Soy… I’m about 98% soy free, though I occasionally use soy lecithin, and some of my dairy-free baking includes Mocha Mix which has soy in it. Corn… Dear God, don’t let my daughter be allergic to corn; we eat a LOT of it!!!! Same with eggs. Ugh. I most emphatically hope not. When/if the time comes that I discover that she’s allergic to something — even if it’s something that’s a staple — I will certainly eliminate it. Hey, I visited your blog — you have some great info there!!!

  4. Fiala is an absolutely beautiful little baby, dearheart! I thought she was beautiful the first time I saw her! Well, the first time I saw PICTURES of her anyway. 😉

  5. I feel so dumb because the whole reason your blog was pointed out to me is because you are gf so of COURSE you don’t eat wheat! It just didn’t occur to me you’d be all up to date on food allergies (duh) because most people I know are just not. And man, if I discovered dairy intolerance in my kids I’d positively cry. We live on a dairy farm! Thanks for the warm welcome!

  6. She IS beautiful! And her cheeks just look rosy. ‘Tis the season for rosy cheeks, anyway … 🙂

  7. She is sooooooooooooooo cute! Look at her gorgeous smile! Funnily enough, I remember Kiko having a terrible time with his skin as a baby – I didn’t half get some funny looks because of it – that used to really upset me! I can’t even remember what made it go away. The doctor prescribed me some creams but I honestly don’t think anything worked, in fact, as you said, some remedies just made matters worse. Time seemed to be the key. He had eczema, of course, but it would always start off with the bumpy rash, and of course he has allergies – just not to anything I was giving him at the time! I hope Baby Fiala gets better soon!

  8. Am I the only one going to tell you the truth? The kid’s hideous! Poor thing.

    She’s gorgeous, if slightly androgynous looking. I’m all about that! You are so sure that there is some God-given definition of femininity and masculinity – That boys like boy stuff and Audrey likes girl stuff, that I’m hoping she turns out to be a total tomboy. Maybe her favorite color will be brown, and she’ll wear her brothers’ hand-me-downs, and she’ll reject the constrictive nature of women’s clothes, and…

    Or, you could just put her in a pink onesie instead of a white one.

    And didn’t you get defensive on my behalf when I told you that mom said I was her ugliest baby but that I had the most personality?

  9. Woops… When I said she was hideous, I put “hee-hee” in brackets b/c I was kidding, then they didn’t print when I posted my comment. I really was kidding.

  10. Congratulations! I felt the same way with my second and third child. I though both of them were kind of…squished looking, and not very pretty at all. Not that I didn’t love them completely, but compared to my first child, the girls didn’t look as cute as newborns. But like all babies, they grow us and become more beautiful each and every day.

    By the way, I moved my site to a self-hosting. Would you mind updating your blogroll to my new address? http://fivejs.com

    Congrats again. She really is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

