Score! Or, Rice Chex makes me happy

Just got back from grocery shopping.

Apparently, all the grocery stores around here thought, “Well, you ate a lot on Thanksgiving;  you won’t really need to eat again for another week” because virtually nothing was on sale.  It’s that way every year.  No meat is on sale the week before Thanksgiving, other than turkey, and there are no food ads for the week after.   I’m sure it’s to make up profit for all the loss-leaders that grocery stores advertise during the week of Thanksgiving.

There were a few items, though that were on sale tonight…  In particular, I am thrilled with my cereal purchase.

I have been so happy that General Mills makes Rice Chex gluten free.  However, it’s NEVER on sale.  Never.  Even when all the other Chexes are on sale, Rice Chex isn’t.  It’s some sort of conspiracy, I tell you!!  😀   And, at $4.39 a box, I can’t buy it if it isn’t on sale.  So, I’ve only purchased Rice Chex a couple of times in the last year, since it’s just so flippin’ expensive.  After almost every trip to the grocery store, my husband looks forlornly at the row of cereal boxes in the pantry and says, “No Chex?”  Nope.  Can’t pay that much, my dear.

But now, I can tell my hubby, “We have FIVE boxes of Rice Chex!”  Five!  That’s because they were on sale, for $2.50 each, plus I had $2.50 in coupons, bringing the total price for five boxes to $10.00.  Woo hoo!

I’ve paid less per box many times before — sometimes even less than $1/box for other cereals — but I’ve never purchased Rice Chex for that little.  I’m so happy.

Whodathunk that, one day, I’d be so absolutely thrilled over the price of a box of cereal???  And that every single item on my Christmas wish list is something for the kitchen???  Oh, I’ve become so domestic.  😀

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 2, 2008, in Celiac Disease, gluten-free, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Since you were able to get the Rice Chex so cheaply now is the perfect time to make these. The other ingredients are not that expensive and nothing will make you so happy as to have something that is so close to the real thing we all love Rice Krispies treats. I love the Rice Chex and like you I found these wonderful bargains and I made Rice Treats like a kid at christmas. Hope you enjoy and e-mail me back to let me know if you like them. The instructions are on the back of my marshmallow bag and it takes about four cups of cereal which is almost a box. Tonya

  2. That’s funny! Every year I ask (for Christmas) for kitchen stuff. I think my parents and brother get tired of that.

    Yeah for the great find on the cereal. We don’t have much cereal around here because it is expensive and with 7 of us we go through it way to fast.

    BTW I thought your daughter is/was adorable. I especially love the picture for your header now. What a precious sight of siblings loving each other.

  3. We are stocked up on the Rice Chex as well… it was on sale for $2.43 and I had severak $3.00 off 3 coupons. Bonus!!!!

    I loves a good deal. 🙂

    My Christmas list was also all kitchen (& a sewing machine)… Hubs made me alter it to add it some personal items. I thought a nice bubbly foot soak thingy would be fun.

  4. you gotta love the little things in life. 🙂

    Love you!
    L

  5. Tonya ~ Do you mean rice krispie treats made with Rice Chex? I’ve made them with g.f. rice krispies, and also “trail mix” style, with a variety of different g.f. cereals, plus dried fruits…

    Christy ~ We alternate cold & hot breakfast days, so usually do cold cereal 2-3 days a week. I have to set certain rules, too, so that all the “good” cereal doesn’t get eaten too quickly… otherwise, it would be too expensive for us, too.

    Jamie ~ Aw, you beat me with your savings! Good for you!!!!

    Lori ~ Love you, too!!!! 😀

  6. Hi…I’m a random stranger dropping by. One of my good friends snagged this post on her ‘Possibly Related Posts’, and we were amused because for once the subject matter actually matched. She’s dealing with news of possible allergies, and was excited to find that Rice Chex is still okay for her to eat. 😉

    I love your Lincoln quote. I homeschool too, and we’re also Christians. It’s always nice to find others doing similar things to what we’re doing. 😉

  7. Hi there! This post was one of my “Possibly Related Posts” so I popped over to see it. It’s funny, because they actually got one right for once! My post is about how Rice Chex rocks and is gluten-free, too. After reading your post I’m starting to wonder if I should go back and stock up. It was on sale 2 for $5.00, but I didn’t realize that it’s normally so much more!

Leave a Reply

