My husband rocks

My husband rocks because he is so very good at his job, and he really loves it.

That sounds so lame, like how does that make him rock??  But, really, if your husband has a job that he can’t stand, or makes him upset, perhaps you can visualize what a blessing it is to me — to our whole family — that Martin loves his work.

Before we got married (and even after) I had this dream of us vagabonding around the world, guitars slung over our backs, like minstrels or something.  It made me mad when, shortly after we got married, our pastor offered him a full-time job, and he wouldn’t take it.  I could NOT understand Martin’s reasoning.  Now, I do.

He is still the worship pastor at our church, which he also greatly and dearly loves and to which he devotes a HUGE amount of time.

But, he also has been employed for nearly 18 years at a homebuilding company.  When he started, it was just a mom’n’pop kind of place;  now it’s the largest privately held homebuilder in the nation.

He didn’t always like his job there.  How he GOT the job is a fantastic story, but one I’ll have to save for another day.  What he wanted was a job in the field, as a construction superintendent.  What he got was a fairly menial office job.  But, it was work…  He took it, hoping something in the field would open up.  In the meantime, he learned all he could learn.  He made a lot of lateral job-changes within the company.  When people quit (or were laid off), he took on extra responsibilities without whining.  Over the years, through his hard work, good attitude, loyalty, integrity, and a simple desire to serve, he acquired a HUGE amount of skills.  Maybe I’m biased, but I’m guessing he knows more about all the different tasks that go into building a home than anyone in the company, except maybe the president.  It’s all because he kept saying, “Yes” when asked to take on another responsibility, and didn’t start whining  and post his resume on Monster, like a good number of his former co-workers.

After a number of years, he became the head plan-tweaker on CAD.  Plans would come back from the architect, and they’d need a few changes.  The house would get built, and a few more changes would present themselves.  Or, they’d take an old plan, and want to build it in a new community, with yet a few more changes.  Martin would be the one to make the changes.

In 2000 (I think it was), he got permission to head up a team to make some in-house plans for a new home series.  That series became Shea‘s best-seller for the following year, and shortly after that, Martin became a full-time designer — basically an unlicensed architect.

It took him TEN YEARS of doing work in a field he liked, but not really the job he liked, and doing it faithfully, before he was “handed” his dream job.  So, these last eight years, he’s been designing, almost exclusively.  He LOVES his work.  He’s so good at it, too.

After he designs a home, various department heads will go over the plans in a design charette.  He often has to sell others on why a certain feature should be retained.  He told me, “The problem is, when the plan is on the paper, they can’t see it.  I can see what it would look like, in my head.  They can’t really see it until it’s built.”  I think that’s what makes him such a good designer.  He can visualize a space, then draw it, and the finished product will turn out as he has envisioned.

Anyways.  Back to the minstrels.

My husband’s father raised him, after his parents divorced when he was very young.  They had a very nomadic existence, and even as a child, Martin felt the uncertainty of their lives.  He is driven to provide faithfully for his family, so that his kids won’t have to live with the fears he did.  I still sometimes think that keeps him from taking risks that I think he should, or that we should.  I still hold out hope that, one day, we’ll get to minister full-time in our church.  But for now, he’s really making it work, being a part-time worship pastor and full-time home designer.  He loves ALL of his work;  he doesn’t come home burdened or burned out;  he comes home excited, and brimming with plans, and a real sense of accomplishment.

(This is longer than I had intended.)

I’m just so proud of Martin — of his loyalty, of his skills, his talents, just the way he lives his life.  I knew he was a good man when I married him, but I didn’t realize how good.  He’s one of those very rare people that, the deeper I’ve dug, the more I’ve found there is to love and to admire.

martin-karen-4-04

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 5, 2008, in Marriage, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. How nice to read about how much someone respects their husband, and is proud of who they are (and who they have become over the years)! I am so tired of hearing women bash their husbands.

    I too respect my husband so much for who is and how he has handled the challenges that life has sent our way over the last 20 years. His integrity and honor shine like a candle in the dark of night in a world where many take the easy way out.

    Thanks for sharing this!!

    Trina

  2. awww! great post! it is such a blessing that your husband loves what he does. we have been on both ends of the spectrum with Austin’s jobs, and it is wonderful that he is in a place that he loves! 🙂

  3. Trina ~ I’m glad the post blessed you, and I’m glad your marriage has a similar story!

    Katy Lin ~ I didn’t realize that you were the originator of the “My Husband Rocks” thing! Now that I do, I fixed it so that the graphic will link back to your blog. 🙂

  4. thanks! 🙂 i’ve added you to the blogroll, too! 🙂 hope you’re having a good week!

Leave a Reply

