Mmmm…. Tea… For free!!

Our six months of Phoenix summer are over, so in our family, that means it’s Tea Season.  My hubby and I enjoy tea at nighttime, after the kids are in bed.  It caps off the day for us in a cozy way.  It’s amazing how cared-for each of us feel when the other starts the tea kettle and says, “What kind of tea would you like?”

The other night, he asked, “Do we have any of that one tea?  The honey vanilla one?”  He meant Celestial Seasonings Honey Vanilla White Tea Chai.  I replied that, unfortunately, we didn’t, but that I’d keep an eye out for it to go on sale.

Monday night I was grocery shopping.  I am a list shopper.  I keep a list of the things we need, or have run out of.  Then, I save the weekly food ads (or view them online, if I mistakenly recyce them too soon), and make my list based on a) what’s on sale, b) what we need, and c) what I have a coupon for.  A convergence of all three of those things is fabulous, but anymore, it rarely happens because of our family’s weird diet.

If you do coupons, you try it:  Go through your coupons and eliminate everything that has even the tiniest bit of wheat/rye/barley, or even minuscule amounts of dairy.  Then, go through what’s left and eliminate all household chemical cleaners.  (We buy all our cleaners, except OxyClean and toilet bowl cleaner, from Melaleuca.)

On top of that, I try my absolute best to eat healthy and chemical-free as possible, and that renders useless the coupon buying-power for a bunch of other stuff that’s otherwise GFCF, like “fruit snacks,” which I view as thinly veiled junk food, given its corn syrup and artificial coloring content.  So eliminate all junkfood coupons, too.

You’ll be left with a stack of usable coupons roughly 1/10 of what it used to be.

I blogged about a year ago about me losing heart with coupons.  Everyone who commented said, “Yes!  Coupons are a waste of time!  Jettison them!  I did!”  So, in some sort of oddly-directed rebellion, I thought, “I’ll show them!” and from that time, I went back to using coupons faithfully.  I still only save $5-15 a week with them, but I feel like I’m being more responsible with our family’s resources, even if maintaining them is a drag.

Anyways, back to The List.  I am NOT an impulse buyer.  If it’s not on the list, I don’t buy it.  But…  I bend a little, if I see something that didn’t make it to the list, yet is on sale and/or I have a coupon.  This happened on Monday night.

There I was, shopping, and lo and behold, I see that all the Celestial Seasonings teas are on sale for $1 each.  One dollar!  That’s fabulous, given that they’re usually $2.99.  Even better, I remembered that I had three fifty-cent coupons for that brand.  Even better, my grocery store doubles coupons up to fifty cents, taking $1 off of tea that costs $1.00.  So, I got three boxes of tea, all for FREE!

And, yes, though the selection was greatly picked-over, there in the back, I found a box of Honey Vanilla White Tea Chai.  Woo hoo!

By the way, if you’re gluten-free, make sure you check the ingredients of tea.  Many teas, some Celestial Seasonings varieties included, use roasted barley or barley malt as an ingredient.  Whodathunk tea would have gluten in it???

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 10, 2008, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GFCF, gluten-free, Shopping, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A great story to show how God blesses us even in the small things. 🙂

    And boy do I LOVE to find bargains like that!!! 🙂

  2. Well, Korea actually has barley tea and Korean friends of ours drink it religiously (it’s an acquired taste, I’ve never acquired it and I suspect you aren’t missing much!)

  3. FANTASTIC!! God is sooooo good!

    I am a big tea drinker–I was even before I moved to Asia, but that sort of cemented my tea drinking ways! But in recent years I’ve developed a severe allergy to chammomile! Even a hint of it and I’m sneezy and wheezing the entire next day and pretty much unable to do anything until the swelling in my face goes down.

    So, I have to read my tea labels very carefully. What a drag.

    My favorite kinds of tea these days are red teas (rooibos). Have you tried them? SO GOOD!

  4. I do enjoy your blog more and more. I am a Christian, homeschool mom cooking gfcf as well as cane sugar free. I also use and love Melaluca cleaning products–wish you lived nearby so we could order together–hard to fill a monthly order just on cleaning products–especially as often as i use them!

    keep blogging–I’m thankful!

    Oh, and I just discovered the rooibos tea too–wonderful!

Leave a Reply

