Woo hoo! Local produce!

Being that we live on the outskirts of the outskirts of town, there isn’t a farmer’s market anywhere within 20 miles of where I live.  Recently, though, my friend Cristi told me that there is a sort-of mobile farmer’s market, where the company involved brings bags of local produce to local drop-off points, and one drop-off is only about 3.5 miles from where I live!!  It’s called Chef-to-Chef.

The name comes from the fact that the owners originally thought they could sustain their company simply by selling to restaurants, but that proved to be not be economically viable for them, so they branched out to us regular folks, for which I am grateful.

I have found out that, while none of the farms used are certified organic, some are in the process of becoming certified, and all use sustainable farming practices.  (One is Crooked Sky Farms, and one is One Windmill Farm, both of whom, apparently, aren’t putting many of their resources into their website.)

One of the good things about living in the desert is that one can farm all year ’round.

So, last Saturday, my hubby picked up our big $25 bag, and it contained:

  • a bunch of green onions
  • a big bok choy
  • about 2 lbs of carrots
  • a bag of baby lettuces
  • a bag of fresh spinach
  • an acorn squash
  • a red onion
  • five apples
  • five white potatoes
  • four big tomatoes on the vine
  • a bulb of garlic
  • a head of broccoli
  • 1+ pound green beans

I’m probably forgetting an item or two, as well.

It was all tasty.

The only thing funny was the five small potatoes, which probably amounted to about a pound and a half, maybe.  I mean, when I have a family with six people who eat dinner, what am I going to do with only five undersized potatoes??  I ended up slicing them thin and cooking them in olive oil and fresh garlic, and supplementing them with two leftover baked potatoes I had (which I sliced and cooked in the leftover oil… and, at my hubby’s request, served separately, so as to not taint the “good” potatoes).

I’m just thrilled to have fresh, local, healthy produce.  😀

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 10, 2008, in Arizona, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. We have the opposite problem! The box I buy from the market contains over 1kg of potatoes, there are only three of us and I’m not a big potato eater! So I’m having to find ways to use them up. I’m going to make a potato salad with ours (and serve it to other people, heh!) If only we could swap!

    The farmers’ veg boxes are such a good idea, aren’t they? We preordered ours this week, and I asked if the lettuce could be replaced by zucchini (it’s OK to do this. While we like lettuce and eat lots of salad, the box already contains a huge bunch of spinach and a cabbage – too much for only three!) I was so surprised when we opened to box to find at least 10 zucchini… and a lettuce! And 12 fresh eggs! We were a bit puzzled, wondering if they’d given us the wrong box, but the extra zucchini seemed to say it was the right one. Not that I was complaining!

  2. That is so awesome. During the summer I almost always forget about the farmer’s market because they aren’t too close, but there are 4 within a 15 mile drive.

    We plan on doing a bigger garden though this coming year so I hope that will help.

    Yeah for the free tea. I do coupons, but I still only use about 1/3 of what I actually cut out. I don’t even cut out the cleaners (we make our own) or most of the junk food. Only during the soccer season do I keep the fruit snack ones to help when it is our turn to buy snacks.

  3. Sounds mouthwatering! Gabe and I were discussing the need for variety in our meals. We’ve gotten into a rut, and you know it’s bad when one of the kids brings up vegetables!

  4. Have you ever tired, or heard of, Bountiful Baskets Food Co-op? We have used it a few times and I believe some are organic. Anyways you may want to check it out. They have several pickup stations in the valley.

Leave a Reply

