Hard day

So…  I can’t figure out if my day is really all that hard, or if I’m just a whiner.

First, I have figured out the problem, but I have had had serious trouble with the “simple” pattern from which I’m making four dresses for Audrey for Christmas.  It’s not like I’ve never sewn before, either.  That dumb thing is worded so confusingly… and I’m 3/8 yd short of fabric for all the dresses because on the back of the pattern (where they list the fabric & notions, etc., needed for each view), part of what I needed was listed separately.  It has taken me four days of poring over the pattern, the instructions, calling the toll-free number for Simplicity…  Ugh.  All of that equals late nights — really late nights — that have been spectacularly unproductive and frustrating.  And, for one of the dresses, I’m going to have to endlessly seam-rip, which is so not my favorite, and I’m going to have to go back to the fabric store for more fabric.  Hmph.

So, I’m just tired.  Really tired.  I don’t know how to make Christmas presents, nurse a baby 2+ times at night, and get adequate sleep.  I need a few more hours in my day.

All of my kids either have a cold, or are recovering.  Except Grant, who gets sick about once every two years.  Even baby Fiala has a boogery nose.

Speaking of, my baby’s been crying all day.  There’s nothing so long nor so sad as a day filled with baby tears.  She’s exhausted; hasn’t slept ALL DAY.  But, she just cries when I hold her, cries when I lay her down, cries and cries.  I usually can tell what a baby needs, and how to make her contented, but I have lost my skills for today, apparently.  Plus, we have school… but we got startlingly little done today, what with me tending to Fiala so continually.

AND, the kids — even Ethan, who at 11yo is usually very helpful and most of the times behaves in such an exemplary way, and I’m so often filled with pride and pleasure in my dear son — have been CRAZY today — extremely disobedient, wild, uncooperative…

And, Ethan has a band concert tonight.  He plays trumpet, and twice a year, he plays with the public school band that my step-dad leads.  I wouldn’t miss it for the world, but I’m dreading going out in the cold (it’s a Winterfest, outdoor thing) with a inconsolable baby and unruly children.

AND, a dear bloggy friend e-mailed to say that her husband, here in the Phoenix area on business, had to be taken to the E.R. in the wee hours with what turns out to be a GIGANTIC kidney stone.  And, it looks like neither me nor my hubby can visit him until tomorrow morning.  I feel AWFUL about him being alone there in the hospital, knowing no one here in town (not even business associates), and us, unable to visit today.  I couldn’t imagine going through something similar, alone, out of town.  Dear man.  Please pray for him.

And I’m feeling the stress of being unprepared for Christmas, and unprepared for a party which we’re hosting on Saturday night.  The pressure mounts…

Dear Jesus…  ~sigh~

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 11, 2008, in Family, Homeschooling, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Random Stuff, Sad Things, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Whining. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I didn’t mention (I don’t think) that the diaper bag took us a week because we couldn’t understand the directions. Also my mom and I started sewing pajama pants and we sewed one pair wrong twice. So take heart at least in that.

    My kids have been crazy bad too. Maybe it is the time of year. Whatever it was I went to the bathroom and didn’t come out until everyone was finished yelling and crying.

    Thankfully I have a girls night out tonight and that will help so much!

  2. I sew and I could help if I was remotely close, which I am not. But the thought is what counts. What can you cut out? Sew one dress not 4 before xmas?

    Who can help you get ready for the party? Will you ask for help? I would if I was there, and I am sure someone is willing to help. Don’t attempt to do it on your own. You have a two month old, your fifth….is it time to adjust expectations?

    Ears? Teething? Growth spurt? Just being a baby?

    Take care of yourself, you are feeding two…….

  3. I wish I had more advice…but instead, I thought you would appreciate just sincere prayers from one mom to another that you will have a better day tomorrow, and hugs.
    ~Ade

  4. Didn’t you just have a baby? Good heavens woman! The fact that you are attempting to sew and host a party is either industrious or crazy:) Seriously, I’ll pray for little Fiala to sleep and be content.
    Debbie

  5. Even if it wasn’t a hard day, you are still entitled to whine. 🙂 And this days sounds like a doozie.

    I share your pain re: a pattern that should be simple. I usually end up with an unfinished project or a modified version because I get tired of trying to figure it out. I applaud your perseverance!

    Have you tried a sling for Baby Fiala? When I had my hands full of bigger kids and a newborn to tend to, my sling was a lifesaver. Good fit is key, I went through a lot before I figured that out. My favorite: http://www.babyholder.com/

    Wearing the baby really help keep my hands free and amazing kept my little ones VERY calm, I could even breastfeed using it.

    A friend of mine just found a great one (still in its package) at a resale shop for $15!!!!

    We are praying for you and your friend’s hubby!

  6. Hang in there, Karen Joy!

  7. If you’re a whiner, than I’m something much worse that we can’t mention on a family blog!

    Seriously!

    If I lived near I’d stop by with Starbucks and watch your kids while you had some time to yourself. Alas, I am not close by. So take a deep breath and just make your daughter one dress and order take-out and go to bed early and what other good advice that I never take for myself, but liberally disperse!

    Off to bed….maybe…..

  8. How’s everyone feeling at your house, Karen Joy? Better, I hope.

    I was thinking what Lisa said. Make fewer dresses and you should have EXTRA fabric! 😀

    I’m sorry you had a hard day, but I hope things are going better today.

    Hugs,

    Esther

  9. Oh no, this sounds awful! I hope you’re all feeling better soon. I was wondering about Baby Fiala’s ears too. Time and again when I’ve been perplexed about Kiko being upset, it has turned out to be an ear infection.

  1. Pingback: A Better Day and Other Miracles (Really) « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

