A Better Day and Other Miracles (Really)

In my last post, I wrote about a the really hard day I had on Thursday…  Well, Thursday night, I’m happy to report, went very smoothly, with Fiala cooperating grandly on our long drive to Ethan’s concert, then during his concert, too.  That night, she slept SEVEN HOURS straight, the longest of her li’l seven week old life.  She has not since repeated that feat, but it gives me hope for the future.  🙂

The next morning, she woke up with no apparent memory of the previous day;  she started the day with a smile and a coo, napped well, ate well, and was more than agreeable the entire day.  I do not know what caused Thursday’s day-long baby meltdown;  I wish I did, so as to avoid its repeat, but at least it is over.

On Thursday night, I was reflecting on the “hard day” post, and on comments given to me by my blogfriends and real-life friends, too.  After discussing the events with my husband, I decided that I would scale back the menu for Saturday’s party.  It was a casual event, but I love to cook, and always make something fancy and/or time-consuming.  Well, not this year.  It was still really tasty, just not Christmas-fancy.  There was also just one dessert, instead of the several I had planned.

On Thursday night, I also decided that I would take Lisa’s advice, and ask someone to help.  Part of me loves help, and part of me thinks, “I should be able to handle this on my own.”  Well, it was becoming apparent that I could not handle it on my own, so I thought, “Tomorrow morning, I’ll call Elouisa and ask her if she would be willing to come early.”  Instead…  I was tootling around the house on Friday morning, and saw that my answering machine was blinking.  I don’t know how I missed the call;  we’d been there all day.  I checked the message.  It was this:  “Hi, Karen.  It’s Elouisa.  I was thinking about Saturday’s party, and how you have a lot on your hands.  I just thought I’d let you know that I am available the whole day if you’d like me to come over and help clean or cook or watch your kids, whatever you need.”  !!!  Thank you, Jesus!!

I called Lisa to thank her for her prodding comment.  🙂  She was right.

Elouisa came at about 1:30 to prepare for guests’ arrival at 5:30, and together, we sipped tea, chopped veggies, and cleaned.  And, the party was a success.

My second little miracle of the past few days is not related to the above happenings, but it seems apropos to include here.

We have talked to our kids to let them know that Christmas will be high on family warmth and the celebration of Jesus’ birth, but light on presents.  The fundage just isn’t there.  I specifically told my dear son, Ethan, that he should not get his heart set his deepest wish, a metal detector.  I think that’s a GREAT Christmas wish;  I think he would really enjoy using/playing with one… and I just love toys and such that require activity, especially outdoor activity.  It breaks my heart to see his hopes dashed, but since all but the flimsiest of toy metal detectors cost a good $40-80 or more, I told him we just wouldn’t be getting a one for him.

Last night, my mom and stepdad were over for their weekly dinner visit.  After the kids went to bed, my mom asked me, “Would it be OK with you if I got the boys one big present to share, rather than individual presents?”  Of course, that’s OK.  My mom, by the way, is a fantastic present-chooser.  She almost never asks for a list or even ideas;  she’s good at just knowing the person to whom she’s giving a gift, and consistently picks thoughtful, useful, fun, relevant gifts for that person.  I’ve been really impressed by her abilities.  Her gift-picking combined with my stepdad’s generosity has equaled some happy children on many occasions.  Anyways, after I had given my blessing to the idea of a shared gift, she said, “I want to get the boys….”  (of course, you know it’s coming) “… a metal detector.”

My jaw dropped.

Time and again, God has shown Himself faithful to our family.  He has provided in ways big and small, both for our actual NEED-needs, and for our “needs” that are really, like Christmas presents and beautiful baby dresses, just wants.

Must run.  Lunchtime for kids.  After that, more sewing.  Contrary to that advice, I’m not ditching my plan for four dresses.  At the time I wrote Thursday’s post, I already had most of the pieces for all four dresses cut out.  And now, I have one dress 100% completed, one completed except for sewing on two buttons, and the other two each need about 2 hours’ work.  I’ve also completed two coordinating hair bows, with two more planned.  Also… if I have time, which it appears I will, I’m going to make a tiered skirt for Audrey, and maybe one for Fiala, from the leftover cloth.  😀

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 16, 2008, in Babies, Christian Living, Clothes, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Encouragement, Family, Friendships, Holidays, Parenting, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That is so awesome! I love hearing those stories, because sometimes in the caring for children, we forget that God cares about the tiniest of details.

    I am glad the dresses are going better for you too. You will need to provide pictures soon!

Leave a Reply

