Easy No-Bake Tahini Candy (GFCF)

This kind of belongs in the “Duh” category.  I can’t believe I never thought of this before.  It’s a gluten-free, dairy-free, nut-free and peanut-free version of the no-bake peanut butter candy you may remember from childhood.

Joyva tahini

Joyva tahini

This recipe came into existence a couple of nights ago.  Two friends have given us holiday plates of cookies.  Regular cookies, that is.  That’s great for my two kids who are eating regular diets, not so great for those who can’t have gluten or dairy.  In desperation for a dessert for my restricted-diet kids, while the others were having cookies, I whipped this up.  It was a hit, and everyone, even my regular-diet kids, requested that I make them again soon.  (I did, just now, to make sure I had the proportions right.  Yum!)

Now, I don’t know for certain, because the two batches I’ve made haven’t lasted that long, but since this is a fairly high-fat recipe, I believe it would freeze (and thaw) well.  Also, if you won’t be eating these for a few days, I’d pop ’em in the fridge.  But, given the ingredients, it seems to me that these would not quickly spoil, even at room temperature.

No-Bake Tahini Candy

Makes 12

  • 1/4 cup tahini (puree of sesame seed)
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup sweetened, flake coconut
  • Additional flaked coconut for rolling

In a small bowl, with a wooden spoon, mix the tahini, honey, and powdered sugar until well-incorporated and smooth.  (Once it is mostly-mixed, you may remove the “dough” from the bowl and knead it a few times on a sheet of waxed paper for more thorough, easy mixing.)

Add the flaked coconut, mixing well.  Again, you may choose to knead the dough on some waxed paper.  This will result in a very stiff dough.

Form into tablespoon-sized balls of dough.  (If the balls seem soft and don’t hold their shape, return the dough to the bowl and mix in another tablespoon or two of powdered sugar.)  Roll the balls in coconut.

Enjoy!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 17, 2008, in Allergies, Christmas, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Dairy-free, GF Recipes, GFCF, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh, these sound TASTY. We will have to make them once the snow and ice lets me leave my house again. Don’t have any tahini on hand as of right now… sigh.

  2. Oh my word!! It’s the coconut!! You cannot go wrong with coconut!!

    Thank you for sharing your recipe. I’m really looking forward to trying it. 🙂

  3. Carlie Sabatine

    Is there something healthier I can substitute the powdered sugar for?

  4. Have you ever had halva? It’s a middle eastern candy that sounds like it could be very similar to this. If you have tried it, how does it compare?

    Lovin’ your GF recipes!

    • I LOVE halvah! I guess the taste of this is similar, but the texture is completely different. Halvah has a powdery/melty texture, and this is much creamier & smooth.

      I’m trying to get away from sugar altogether, so I haven’t made this recipe in a while. 🙂 Actually, what I need to do is update a good portion of my recipes! As the years progress, I make healthier choices, so there’s a bunch of recipes on here that I wouldn’t make anymore. But, just when I think about pulling down the less-than-ideal recipes, someone posts a kind comment like, “Wow! I’m new to gluten-free, and our family loved these biscuits” or something like that, and I don’t have the heart to do it!! Maybe I’ll take that on as a summer project, revisiting my old recipes.

  1. Pingback: ALL THE RECIPES!! « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

