Where does she get this stuff?

Last night was part of an ongoing losing series called “Feeding Audrey.” The girl lives on air, and honestly, it really worries me.  Actually, I was more worried until I found out a couple of weeks ago (at the doctor’s office for what turned out to be a not-UTI, thank God)  that she’s actually in the 25th percentile, which is small, but not tiny enough to elicit concern on the doctor’s part.   Still, she’s small enough that I worry about it daily.  Or at least, I’m aware/mindful/concerned about her weight; I don’t know if “worry” is quite the right word.

Anyways, I’m concerned enough that I give daily vitamins and calcium supplements to both Wesley and her (my two children on dairy-free, gluten-free diets due to celiac disease and dairy allergy), hoping that will make up for whatever they’re lacking in their diets.  Wes used to be a sparing eater, too, but over the last six months, he’s been eating like a cow, having seconds and even thirds at mealtime, sort of like an extended growth spurt, or making up for lost time.  He’s spent his life (post-celiac diagnosis) on the 50th percentile, so I’ve been less concerned for him, but still…  it feels strangely reassuring that he’s eating.

After last night’s meal, which was yet another dinner that consisted of Audrey consuming a grand total of three bites, I was frustrated — almost angry.  However, I investigated my feelings a bit and discovered that I wasn’t really mad at my daughter for not eating, I’m just… concerned for her growth, development, and general health.  So, I decided to manipulate her appeal to her emotions.

After being the mother to only boys for nearly nine years before Audrey was born, it continues to amaze me that she actually cares for my feelings;  she is genuinely concerned when things are not right with me, whether I’m sick or sad or whatever.  So, I told her, “Audrey, it makes me sad that you don’t eat your dinner.  You need healthy food to grow healthy and strong.  If you don’t eat healthy food, you will become weak and sick.”

Gazing into my eyes, Audrey responded with chipper hopefulness, reassuring me, “But, Mama, vitamins and calcium does the trick!”

“DOES THE TRICK”??? Where does she get this stuff?  She’s two and a half years old.  Two and a half!  We met a two-and-a-half-year-old at a restaurant yesterday who couldn’t even say her name.  And, here’s Audrey, holding full conversations with me, demonstrating some serious higher reasoning.

I laughed and laughed.  And shook my head.  She’s the epitome of precocious.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 22, 2008, in Allergies, Celiac Disease, Digestive Woes, Funny Stuff, GFCF, gluten-free, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. How stinkin cute!

    My little critter is nearly four and weighs in at 29lbs… she goes through phases of eating a lot, and at other times eats nearly nothing. Lately she’s only wanted crunchy foods (dry cereal, crackers, pretzels). We also do vitamins, because with Celiac there is the malabsorbtion issue even when they eat properly! It worries me so!

  2. How cute! It sounds like Audrey is doing well even if she is low on the man made percentile chart thingy. 🙂

  3. Wah, that is so cute! I love the way she said “calcium” too! It sounds like she is listening to *everything* that is going on around her!

    I get so annoyed at doctors quoting percentile charts when specifically approached about a concern. That was always happening to me when Kiko ate nothing (and he honestly did eat next to nothing until he was 18 months old). I found it so unhelpful that no investigation was done whatsoever, and he certainly wasn’t getting all his vitamins. I’ve got him on vitamins now – against the doctor’s advice – even though he’s generally eating OK, and I think they make a big difference. In desperation, to force him to eat, we cut out his milk. It was a bit drastic but worked. But Audrey mustn’t drink milk already if she is has dairy intolerance. It’s such a tricky one and a problem that used to drive me to distraction with Kiko. I hope she discovered food soon!

  4. That’s a scream! Yeah, Gabriel couldn’t say his first words until over 2 years, and Mikaela was the same way Audrey is at that age – having conversations that made us laugh. Audrey sure sounds like a smart cookie! 🙂

  5. That is too cute! My 4 yo weighed 17 pounds until she was almost 3. They tested her and couldn’t find anything wrong.

    Now she eats a lot.

  6. What vitamins do you use, Karen? I’m looking for a good multivit as my 10 year old seems to have problems with her stomach frequently. I’ve given her probiotics and am now trying with a liquid B complex to help increase her B12.

    Really enjoyed your story about Audrey! She’s a smart cutie!

  7. You know, it’s OK to be 25%. My Bethany was 3% or so, until she got to be about 8yo (and started public school, eating school lunch) when she gained about 10 lbs in a year and jumped to the 10%. Belen has always been about 10%. Eden is HUGE compared to them. Belen just turned 5yo and weighs 32 lbs. Eden is 30 mo old and weighs 30 lbs! I think she’s in the 50% and that is so huge to me!

    Have you kept a detailed food diary on Fitday or something for her? At WIC I learned 1000 calories + 100 for each year of age. So Eden needs about 1200 calories a day. Well that’s all I need (adults calories formula is 10xideal weight). All she seems to eat is tortillas with peanut butter, fresh OJ each morning, some milk, and an apple, banana, pineapple or other fruit. But when I put it all into Fitday, it *is* close to 1200 calories and has a good variety of micronutrients.

Leave a Reply

