OH NO!!

So, here it is, 12:36 a.m., and I am so bummed out.

My Mom and Stepdad were over tonight for dinner, and we watched the Bears beat the Packers in overtime.  It was a good game.  However, I kept looking at the clock, wondering when they would leave.  And why, you might ask, was I so rudely itching to get them out my door??  Because I’ve been sewing a present — an apron — for my Mom, and I so wanted to get back to work on it!

Well, I put in two hours of productive work on it (and the one I’m making for my mother-in-law, too), and decided that I’d check e-mail, look at my blog admin page, etc. before I  wake Fiala up and nurse her before I go to bed.  I did that for 20 minutes, happily reading several incoming links where folks used my GFCF gingerbread recipe to make houses of their own…  Then it dawned on me:

WE WERE SUPPOSED TO PICK UP OUR GINGERBREAD HOUSE FROM CITY HALL BY FRIDAY LAST WEEK!!!!  ACK!!!!!

I am SO BUMMED.  I’m going to call the city in the morning…  I don’t know how I’m going to break it to my kids that the house was “disposed of,” if, indeed, they kept to their word that all houses not picked up by the end of the work day on the 19th would be done away with.

I so hope they still have it.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on December 23, 2008, in GFCF, Holidays, Sad Things. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh, I sure hope they still have the gingerbread house. Maybe as winners, they let yours hang around past the deadline to brighten up the place. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Kiva, for your endearing hopefulness. But… I called first thing this morning, and the dear receptionist (who runs the place!!) said, “Oh, no… On Friday, a number of people asked for it as it was growing later, but I said, ‘No, I know this family. They will be here. They will come.’ And then five o’clock rolled around, and maintenance got there, and you weren’t here, and my heart just sank, but we had no place to put it!”

    ~sigh~ So, it’s my guess that our gingerbread house is cheering the home of someone from the city’s maintenance staff. 😉

    My 7yo wept long and hard. The other two were very disappointed — mostly that we wouldn’t have the house to have their cousins destroy with them… Last year, the six boys (my three sons, my three nephews) took GREAT delight in being the “giants” who bombed and ravaged the gingerbread house… That was nearly all they talked about as we were creating it. Oh, well. 😦

  3. I’m sewing aprons as well… must be in the air!

    Keeping our fingers crossed that your house will still be there… we haven’t gotten around to making one, big slackers that we are. (Could be due in part to being snowed in and not having the proper supplies on hand, but I digress…).

    Good luck and Merry Christmas!
    Jamie

  4. This was an opportunity to bend the truth,,,,I would have told the kids that the judges thought it was so beautiful that they wanted to see it they could donate it to …uh.. I don’t know..a childrens charity maybe.. senior citizen………….you get the point. And who know maybe eles did just that rather throw it away. Keep the faith…Have a Merry!

  5. Hi, Jamie! Merry Christmas Eve! 😉 How’d your aprons turn out? And… you didn’t make a house, but you did make cookies!! My house smells like anise and peppermint from cookies right now. 🙂 They did not have the house. Oh, well.

    Linda ~ I’m not bright enough to keep track of lies to my kids. 😉 So, I just tell ’em the truth. However, I do my fair share of avoiding answering, making the truth as gentle as possible, deferring, distracting, etc. 🙂 What I DID do was tell the boys that — seriously — when I was praying about the whole thing, I really felt strongly like the house ended up at the home of someone on the night cleaning/maintenance crew, that is, the crew that was supposed to “dispose” of it. And… you know… that sort of work doesn’t exactly bring home lots of money, so it’s VERY possible that whoever ended up with the house really NEEDED to bring home something nice/fun/special for the kids, and may not have had the $$ to do so. So, we prayed for that family that the g’bread house would bless them. And, they were very satisfied with that, thinking that our g’bread castle, on which we worked VERY hard, was in the home of a family less fortunate than ours, and bringing joy to them.

Leave a Reply

