Small (but important!) things

  • My friend Lisa has a blog!!!  How could I not know this???  Please go visit.  I’m sitting with coffee cup in hand, reading the last five months of posts.
  • Precious, beautiful sweetie with round cheeks

    Precious, beautiful sweetie with round cheeks

    My baby slept through the night last night!!!!!  Woo hoo!!  From 10:00 until 6:45.  Actually, I had a feeling that once her boogy nose cleared up and she could suck her binky without me assaulting her with saline drops and the bulb syringe, she’d sleep more soundly.  Sure enough…

  • Speaking of Fiala, as of Tuesday, she was 13 lbs 13 oz, at 11 weeks.  That puts her in the 97th percentile.  I know those percentiles aren’t the Gospel, but lemme tell ya, after my last two children have had serious digestive problems which, among other things, keeps them very small, to have a chubby baby in the 97th percentile makes me very happy.
  • FANTASTIC story on the front page of the Arizona Republic this morning about Cardinals quarterback Kurt Warner and his faith in God.  Plus, it’s written by Paola Boivin, who has been writing on sports for the Republic for… five or seven years.  She’s fabulous.  Here’s an excerpt:  “During a visit to The Oprah Winfrey Show, Warner “basically had three sentences to say, so, in the middle one, I made sure I mentioned my faith, because how could they cut it out?” he said. “I went to watch the show on replay . . . and they cut it out!””  (That also says lots about Goddess/Queen of the World and “Spirituality” Oprah…)
  • YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK.  As a homeschooling family in our seventh year, we have hundreds of books.  We have read hundreds more, from our countless trips to the library.  There have been only a handful that have been 10-star books that absolutely take my breath away.  This is one.  Rachel Field’s Calico Bush.  It has everything:  page-turning adventure, history, rejection, redemption, tenderness, relationship, God, glorious nature, hardship, reward, surprises… all unfolding in the most beautiful poetic prose.  And, I absolutely adore when a book wraps up the loose ends only 90% or so.  I mean, enough of the blanks filled in so that you’re not totally left hanging, but with enough unanswered that it leaves room for wonder, conjecture, imagination, conversation, and a wish for just a wee bit more.
  • We have had our ’94 Suburban since 1999.  We own it outright, and it has served our growing family faithfully lo these many years.  After my hub’s commuter car died last year, instead of replacing it, he got a “new” vehicle for me, a 1999 Ford Expedition (with the 3rd seat, of course!), and started commuting in our 14 mpg Suburban.  The reason for this is that, since we own it outright, it was still cheaper to drive than a new vehicle for which we’d need to make payments.  But, the decrepit Suburban, which has OVER 200,000 miles on it, is surely and not-so-slowly dying, and we are loathe to sink more money into it.  So, we’ve been researching other vehicles.  Ones that get reasonable gas mileage, are in good repair, hold seven people, is a vehicle we can take camping/down a dirt road  (and hopefully have 4WD/AWD) and cost less than $10,000 are hard to find.
    2003 Volvo XC90

    2003 Volvo XC90

    We are leaning toward a Volvo XC90, probably a 2003 or ’04.  We have a friend who had an ’04 and he said it regularly got 24 mpg, even though that’s not what it’s officially rated.  We’ve found one that meets our requirements (and several additional ones around $12K), and now we just need to find the money.  Seriously, we have no idea where the $$ will come from.  But, I’m praying.  I’ve been praying for months, actually, for God to meet our transportation needs.  I don’t know, of course, if we will actually get the car we want, but I am absolutely certain that God is faithful to take care of us, and that we are not going to be stranded with no vehicle.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 9, 2009, in Babies, Blogging, Books for children, Books I'm Reading, Celiac Disease, Christianity, Digestive Woes, Friendships, Homeschooling, The Kids, TV, Vehicles. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Yea for all night sleeping!!!

    That story on Kurt Warner is awesome!

    I pray that God will bless your family with just what you need in a car! 🙂

  2. Woo hoo, we love all night sleeping. 🙂

    Speaking of football did you see Tebow from Florida last night, he had John 3:16 under his eyes in black and white paint.

    A friend has a Volvo, they love it. He is Jehovah-Jireh.

    No comment on Oprah outside of I am not surprised.

  3. My blog is a best kept secret. Only my husband reads. Supremely boring, it is. But I have to just do it and hope to be more, witty/interesting.
    Kurt Warner used to be in STL.
    Hope you can find a vehicle……

  4. Great growth Fiala! My Kenzie went from 9lbs7oz at birth to 16lbs2oz at 12 months (and is a digestive nightmare)… looks like Fiala is on track for a healthy digestive system!

    We will pray for you and your search for an automobile (and the $$$ to pay for it!).

  5. A chubby baby is a great thing! And sleeping through the night too! I’m very pleased for you (with that many kids you need your sleep) but sooo jealous…

  6. Hey baby is very cute….Did you got the Car?

Leave a Reply

