Things I Like

  1. Illustrations/Paintings by Stan Fellows.  I have posted about Stan’s work before, but it’s been a while.  Have you clicked on his relatively-new blog, there on the right, on my blogroll?  Please do.  How could anyone not like his work??  There is a new book of poetry coming out in March, for which Stan did the illustrations.  I can’t wait.
  2. Raw almonds.  For the last five months or so, this has been my snack food of choice.  Rich in fiber, protein, calcium and iron, low in carbs…  What’s not to love?  Oh, the fat.  And the price.  I buy my almonds at Costco, and they’re $9.99 for a 3 lb bag.  I can easily eat a pound a week.  😮
  3. Cholula.  It is absolutely the best hot sauce ever.  I put it on/in everything.  There’s a family debate between Tabasco and Cholula, with loyalties on both sides…
  4. Puff.  Puff is a marvelously comfy, threadbare baby blanket, so named by my firstborn when he was a toddler.  I didn’t use it for Audrey…  The blanket seemed boyish, and after three boys, I didn’t want anything that looked boyish or unisex;  I wanted GIRL stuff.  Plus, Audrey didn’t want to be covered.  However, Miss Fiala is beautifully snuggly, and she loves Puff.  I had to dig it out of the back of the linen closet one night when I needed a warm blanket, as my spit-up queen had christened all the other blankets.  Now, we’re both sad when Puff is dirty.  It’s in the dryer now.  🙂
  5. Freshly ironed clothes.  I like ’em on my husband, on myself, on my boys, on my girls…  However, the actual ironing??  Not so fond of it, as evidenced by my 2 ½ foot high stack of ironing (I measured).  And that’s after I did some ironing this morning.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 10, 2009, in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Cholula is one of my favorites too! I have a stash here at my place of several varieties of hot sauce, and Cholula is one that I always have on hand.

  2. I like the look of freshly ironed clothes. But I hate to iron. I din’t even own an iron until my friends bought me one as a gag gift for my $30 birthday.

    My husband loves almonds too. he has no clue how much they are. I hate them, especially when it is ruining a perfectly good candy bar.

Leave a comment