Astronaut babies!

When I was pregnant with our first girl, Audrey, the three boys began to watch TV a little differently.  Commercials for products aimed at girls which they had for years routinely mocked began to elicit such remarks as, “We better not make fun of it.  Our sister might like that…” said with a curious mixture of awe, disgust, and wonder.

What we didn’t count on were the super-excited reactions to commercials like this:

(Click for an .mpg — hat tip to this guy, who worked on the animation, for the still graphic.)

ASTRONAUT BABIES!!!”  Audrey squeals at ear-splitting decibels, running up the to the T.V., getting as close as possible.  She loves all the Astronaut Baby commercials, watching them in tickled fascination.  Clearly, she’d like one for a pet.  Or, just to hug one.  “Awww…. astronaut babies…  so cute!!”

Upon searching the Cox Communications website, I find that their official name is “Digis,” not Astronaut Babies.  But, Audrey’s pet name is quite fitting, dontcha think?

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on January 15, 2009, in Family, Funny Stuff, The Kids, TV. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. silvia bernard

    I’m a customer of Cox Cable and I love these Astronaut Babies is there any way I can get one for my self?

  2. Cox Digis are not astronauts but, speedracer-clads for High Speed Internet

Leave a Reply

