Evening of chaos (sort of)

So… tonight, my husband went to kinship (Bible study).  Last night, I went.  We used to go together, but with “only” four kids, we were paying $30/night, 4-5 times a month.  Now, we have five.  Plus, the kinship to which he was assigned (as a worship leader) is a good 30 minute drive away, so that’s an additional hour’s worth of babysitting we’d have to pay.  So, this is the first year we’ve gone separately.  Bummer.

Martin walked out the door at about 6:20.  I actually had dinner ready before 6:00, and Martin got home at 5:30 or so… seems like we should have all ben able to sit down and eat together, but it was just a little crazy this evening, partly because Fiala was very fussy, and suddenly, it was time for him to leave, and dinner was still sitting in the warm oven.

Fiala was still very fussy.  Usually, when she’s tired, I can just lay her down, and she’s out like a light.  But, not tonight.  I thought, “If I could just rock her in peace for ten minutes, I think she’d be OK.”  So, I had Grant and Wesley start on a board game in their room, and I asked Ethan to play with Audrey.  “It’s only for ten minutes,” I said.  “Please do not be crazy, and do not be destructive to any people or things.”  You’d think I wouldn’t need to utter that last statement, but… literally thirty seconds later, as I was on my way into my bedroom, where Fiala’s cradle is, there’s Ethan, with one of Audrey’s baby dolls, pummelling the crud out of it.  Grrr…

All of this, mind you, is while Fiala is still crying, which isn’t peace to a mother’s mind and heart.

With more restraint than I certainly felt, I reprimanded Ethan, redirected him to play kindly and peacefully with his sister, and went to rock Fiala.

She snuggled right into my arms, and about nine minutes later, she was asleep, and even I was nodding off in the dusk-filled room.

I laid her back down, and went out to put dinner on the table…  Now, three hours later, I’m just sitting down… dinner’s over, kids in bed (Ethan, my oldest, had to go to bed early), dishes washed, hubby’s on his way home, his dinner is in the oven…

~sigh~

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 4, 2009, in Babies, Family, Motherhood, Parenting, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I couldn’t help but chuckle at your description of Ethan’s antics. Oh, the wonders of children. I’m glad I can just step back and watch and read about everybody else’s problems, and learn from it, so, don’t worry, you’re still blessing someone.

    And yes, this would be chaotic to watch. I’ll wait for my child-induced headaches (or else, so sayeth my mother).

    =D

    Love
    Nick

  2. Nick, you’re hilarious. Anyone would think, reading your comment, that you’re some 30yo sage. Hehehe. Your secret is safe with me. 😀

  3. Anyone who clicked my username would know otherwise. Guess I’m compromised already.

    Did I really post that last one at 11:11?

  4. As you alrady know I can completely sympathize. When I go to take a shower I always what they are doing while I am not looking. It is certainly not what they are assigned. But then they have never burned the house down so I guess that will do. LOL!

  5. I’ve uttered those same words, “Please do not be crazy, and do not be destructive to any people or things.” How is it that my kids can break something in just seconds when I’m not looking? How is it that a toy with the simpliest instruction will be used as the manufacturer never intended?

    *sigh*

    Glad I’m not the only one!

  6. the ‘taking turns’ is just for a season. i only have one but he is autisticish and therefore we do church and Bible studies separately- have for 8 years…but the seasons are changing …Praise the Lord.. and we are being blessed in new ways. And were during the times that we took turns as well.
    love your blog
    amy

  7. glutenfree4goofs

    SIGH is right! That’s how my day has been. I finally gave up on school and sent the boys outside. They wanted to go up to our only neighbor and I called her almost in tears-she has been here so she knows, bless her- I sent them up and finally was able to get my toddler in bed for a nap. He started climbing out of his crib last week and taking off his diaper when it is soiled so even though with a new baby I wasn’t ready for potty training and nap training I get to do it anyhow! Lord save these tired mama’s and give us rest and peace! I too, just want to enjoy my family!

Leave a Reply

