Various baby/pregnancy notes

  1. No, I’m not pregnant.  But, I’m thrilled that my friend Erin is!  (Click to read Erin’s 2-step plan to popularity with other women, one of which is “get pregnant.”)
  2. There’s always so much to learn about pregnancy and birthing!  God has created us so amazingly complex.  Every time I learn something that would make pregnancy or birthing an even better experience, it makes me want to have another.  Seriously.  At this rate, I’ll end up with 27 children.  Just kidding.  However, thanks to Christy at Zimm’s Zoo, I learned that the vitamin K shot that I OK’ed for all my children is likely what contributed to their jaundice.  Fiala, you may recall, had to stay overnight in the hospital shortly after birth because of serious jaundice.  (Read more here on the vitamin K shot.)  WHY HAD I NEVER HEARD THIS BEFORE???  I don’t know.  I’ve read an awful lot on natural pregnancy and birth, but had never heard/read this one before.  If we do have any more children, we are definitely NOT getting the vitamin K shot.
  3. I read Daja’s recent article on the benefits of unmedicated birthing… funny, it’s like she was preaching to the choir.  However, I find myself reading more and more and more about natural birth.  I’ve had five Bradley-style unmedicated births myself, but there’s always more to learn, both for myself in the possible future, and because I relish any opportunity to help lead others I know — gently — towards the decision to birth naturally.  Anyways.  Searching out something she had written led me to this article, called Infant Self-Attachment, published by La Leche League.  PLEASE.  Read it!!  It is absolutely, gloriously fascinating.  It’s all about how babies, even moments after birth, if just left on the mother’s bare abdomen, baby skin to mama skin, will crawl their way up and find the breast, 100% on their own.  The drive and impulse for a baby to nurse (combined with the “useless” stepping reflex and Bauer’s reflex) is so strong, the baby, left to its own devices, will latch on absolutely correctly, with no help from the mother (or anyone else) at all.  Fascinating.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 6, 2009, in Babies, Birth, Friendships, Medical Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. looksgoodinpolkadots

    I’m a fan of unmedicated births… But due to severe shoulder dystocia in first two births and major blood loss im a forever c section now. Almost losing baby numbers one and two make me not even want to try for a vbac in the future!!! Heh… But since I can’t even preggers without help I shouldn’t be surprised!!!

    I was just thinking about vaccines/vit k/eye drops/circumcision/jaundice/medical food supplementation, etc… I wondered about the vit k and if I would/should give it to any future babies. This gives me more to think about because like you I wouldn’t allow formula to combat jaundice, etc… Luckily none of my kids (so far) have had jaundice.

    I’m with you on the 27 kids… Except I know my uterus is giving up!!!! 🙂 babies are awesome and being a mom rocks!!!!

  2. You should know, too, that the vitamin K shot still has thermerisol (mercury!) in it. Yet another reason to pass on the vitamin K!

  3. I am so impressed with people who can have an unmedicated birth. I am one of those complicated people who gets sick at the end of my pregnancy and this last time ended up with a c-section. I had said that if I could, I would have tried it unmedicated, but diabetes, pre-eclampsia, and a breech baby conspired against me. LOL

    I do love to learn more and more about the whole process though, it is fascinating.

    If I were a younger woman who had an easier time getting pg, I would so have bunches and bunches of children too.

  4. I had actually told the kids about the baby crawling to the breast and they so wanted to see the baby do that. But I kinda forgot about it after the birth. They were disappointed because they just didn’t believe me. I had seen a video on it when I was pregnant with number 3.

    I didn’t know about the mercury in the shot too. WOW! My dad always says that it is a wonder babies ever survive the hospitals. He is not an advocate for them wich suprises me even now.

Leave a Reply

