Illness

We live a healthy lifestyle.  We really do.  We eat fresh, healthy, virtually nothing from boxes, nor mixes, nor ready-made, nor frozen (except veggies and tater tots).  We eat organic when we can, and when we can’t, then it’s at least all-natural.  I make sure the kids get plenty of outside play, and play in general.  Our exposure to the outside world is limited to about 3x/week.  We all take vitamins and other supplements.

Still.  We seem to catch everything that comes down the pike.

Almost, anyways.

Except for Grant, who hadn’t — until last week — been sick in over two years.  Everyone else, though, seems to get a serious cold, fever, the throw-ups, intestinal distress, etc., a good 2-3x/year, maybe even more.  Multiply that by six (i.e., everyone except for Grant), and that makes a lot of illness.

Most of it is not so serious that it needs a doctor.  That happens about once a year, per kid.

Still, it’s baffling, frustrating, heartbreaking, all in one.

The frustrating part from, “WHY do my kids get sick so often??” and the heartbreaking part from just seeing them ill.  The baffling part comes from the fact that, since Grant virtually never gets ill, does that mean that, in general, we ARE a healthy family, but that everyone just has weak constitutions?  Or, does that mean that I’m missing something somewhere, leading to everyone’s frequent illness, except for Grant because he has an abnormally iron-like constitution?  I don’t know.

We just got back from urgent care with Fiala.  Three months old, with RSV and an ear infection.  Her pulse-ox was at 88%.  They gave her a breathing treatment, and rx for Pulmicort and albuterol, to be used in the SVN machine that we already own because of Wesley’s asthma (which, as you may recall, since we took dairy out of his diet two years ago, has dwindled down to virtually nothing during the warmish-to-hot nine months of the year, and which we use about 3x/week during Phoenix’s few cold months).  They also wrote an rx for antibiotics for Fiala’s ear infection, but as her temp is actually almost normal (as it has been, the entire length of her illness, which started on Saturday), I think her own immune system is handling that quite well, and I think I’ll let it run its course.  I told the doc I’d hang on to the rx, and fill it if her fever dramatically escalated, or if it otherwise appeared that her ear is not healing.

Actually, I think the “bad cold” that everyone has had around here for the last week+ has been RSV, but it’s particularly dangerous for babies, who have smaller lung capacity, and less musculature to cough out lung gunk.

And, I was up at 3:00 a.m. with Audrey, and had her — very unwillingly — in a cool bathtub full of water, with a 103.6°F temp.  After I’d dosed her with Tylenol, which didn’t seem to work after giving it a good 45 minutes, I gave her Advil, too.  The meds plus the bath got her fever back down to 101.6°F.  Even up to 11:00 this morning, her fever was in the 100-point-something degree range, which was great, because that was without additional meds…

I had Audrey at urgent care with me (along with Grant;  Ethan & Wes, I left at home), and debated, “Do I pay the $25 copay for them to check Audrey out, too, and have them tell me, ‘It’s a virus;  we can’t do anything’?  Or, maybe her fever is from an ear infection??  Well, her temp is good now…  she’s not coughing… I think we can ride it out.”  The, we get home at 12:30, and her temp is back up to 103.5°.  😦

Gave her some Advil, popped her in bed.  Prayed.  😦  I probably should have put her in the tub, but my smallest children, I always internally debate, “Do I wrestle them into the tub and deal with them wailing, especially when I know she’s dog-tired?  Or, will rest be the cure she needs?”  It was lunch time for everyone, so I just put her in bed.

~sigh~

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 10, 2009, in Babies, Family, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Sad Things, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I am sorry to hear that she is sick. I have 2 friends whose babies are in the hospital with rsv, pneumonia and one also has staph that he contracted at the hospital.

    Our little one is having a snotty sounding nose this afternoon and I am so nervous that it will turn into something.

    i understand how frustrating it is to have sick ones. We used to seem to get everything all the time. The past 1 1/2 years has been much easier. I don’t know why. On the other hand my friend who isolates her family gets everything. Maybe you just need to get them to eat food dropped on the floor or lick their hands after being at wal-mart and it will build up their tolerance! ( I am SO joking!).

  2. So sorry, Karen!!!

    Have you tried herbs or probiotics to strengthen everyone’s immune systems?

    Hope your whole household is on the mend!!

    (btw, I like the picture in your new header! Is that in honor of Valentine’s Day or did you just want a change?)

  3. Oh no! It really has been a bad cold and flu season all around. Get better soon!

  4. I hope she gets better soon – babies are remarkably tough but they do put you through it (thinking of my recent six ours in A&E paediatrics with dudelette, though it turned out ok). I’m a great believer in immune systems being exposed to stuff. Which is just as well as we have two cats and a bad attitude to housekeeping.

  5. I’m sorry … I hope they get better.

    We get sick a lot too, especially me. I don’t eat right and I’m not 100 percent consistent with vitamins. I’ve tried to do better with my kids.

  6. May everyone return to full health soon! Hang in there.

    ~Luke

  7. glutenfree4goofs

    I feel your pain! My oldest had RSV as a toddler, he also contracted pneumonia, and influenza type b at the same time. He had to stay in the hospital a week as his O2 was so low he couldn’t breathe on his own. VERY scarry! I will pray for fast recovery. It broke my heart to give him the albuterol (stereroid) but I followed the doc’s orders. Actually agressively tapping on his back every chance I got helped a ton and I would definately do the herbs and acidopholis, you probably already know that! 🙂 Those viruses are stinker! If you are really unsure about a hidden allergy you could do the 10day allergy challenge diet (after the kids are well). It’s no fun, you have to cut out everything you think may be the culprit and then add them back one at a time, either one per meal or one a day, watching for adverse effects. I’m in the middle of this with my 2yo. I already messed it up yesterday when he got cheese. Ugh!

  8. Thank you all for your commiseration, encouragement, and well-wishes!

    Daja ~ Duh. I keep some acidophilus in the fridge for when/if anyone has to go on antibiotics. I whipped it out, and I’ve given it to all of ’em. I’ll especially keep it up in this season of illness. I’ve got some chamomile tea brewing (loose tea, from the flowers)… and have given them all other prepared teas at other times in this past week — Gypsy Cold Care and Echinacea Throat Coat. Any other herbal suggestions? I actually have a huge bag of new mama’s bath tea that I concocted… many of the ingredients have antiseptic properties. However, I didn’t create it to drink, just for use in soaking baths or in a sitz bottle. But, I’m gonna look it up to see if I could make a drinkable tea out of it. I should have thought of that before. But, as I didn’t, THANK YOU for your suggestions!

    Argh! Will respond to others later… Must run & get lunch on the table.

  1. Pingback: Duh. (Or, YAY! Herbs!!) « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

