Duh. (Or, YAY! Herbs!!)

The other day, I stood on tippy toe, to pull down a box razor blades (to remove fuzz from a sweater), and down tumbled a small ziploc with two hunks of raw beeswax in it.  I was more than a little surprised;  I thought I’d used up all my beeswax in the various home remedies/salves I’ve made over the years.

Well, in a comment on my last post, Daja suggested trying herbal remedies.  I’d already been giving the kids colloidal silver (both in their drinks and as drops in ears), and doubling up on vitamins, but hadn’t thought of herbs.

I believe that many herbal remedies are as good or better than standard medicine here in the U.S., but I am by no means an expert, and am really still such a newbie at any kind of homeopathic medicine that it just isn’t the first thing that comes to mind.  So, thank God for Daja, whose comment made me think, “Hm.  I wonder what else is up there with that beeswax?”

So, I drug over a stool and climbed up to investigate.  Lo and behold, I had a gallon ziploc, half-full with some New Mama’s Tea I had made for myself when I was nearly due with Audrey, which was nearly three years ago.  Now, I had made it as a bath tea — to put in cotton “tea” bags that hold roughly 1/2 cup of herbs.  That, and to put in a sitz bottle.  In other words, I hadn’t crafted it to drink.  So, I wasn’t sure if it would be safe or helpful for drinking.

Fortunately, I knew I had made a document that listed what all I put in there, so I pulled it up, and researched in both a book I have, and online, to see if I could possibly make a decoction to give to my family.

Well, it turns out that not only are all the ingredients safe, but it appears that many of them are particularly helpful!  The only thing that’s sort of neutral is the myrrh resin in it;  it doesn’t seem like it would be specific to our needs.  But, that’s OK.  A couple of the items have minor warnings;  the St. John’s Wort causes dermatitis in some people, and the yarrow flower should be used in moderation.  And several of these ingredients should not be used when one is pregnant.

I am cautiously optimistic that the batch I have, which is currently boiling on the stove, is going to be of great help.  I’m going to give it to Fiala in concentrated drops, and to everyone else, as a tea.

I’ll let y’all know how it works out, because EVERYONE is still sick here, except for Grant, who just has an occasional lingering cough.

Here’s what’s in it.  (If anyone reading has some knowledge of herbs, I’d be happy to know your thoughts.)  My original recipe was one ounce of everything, and two ounces of comfrey leaf.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 11, 2009, in Babies, Loving Nature!, Medical Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have taken comfrey internally, although some recommend against it. Should not be used over a long period of time.

    Let us know how it works out!

    Have you tried GSE? (Grapefruit Seed Extract) That stuff works like magic around here to cure colds/flus, infected teeth, canker sores, UTI’s, ANYTHING. It’s a great infection fighter!

  2. We do have GSE! Two bottles, in fact.

    Here’s my problem: I’m so one-track-minded, that I’ll purchase something like GSE for one particular purpose, and then when I’m done with that… I forget I have it, or forget that it is useful for 26 billion things other than the ONE thing for which I’ve used it.

    The tea, btw, is extremely bitter, which I guess is common with “digestive” herbs. I’m using it like drops for all the kids (and myself)… I don’t know how much to use, though! I’m starting small, and seeing what kind of effect it has.

  3. I just bought colloidal silver but not quite sure how to use it. maybe you and daja should do some posts on herbs. I use herbs but only after someone has given me specifics because i seem to get lost in all the info on the internet and not sure which is right.

  4. Maybe you could add some local honey to the bitter tea and use it more like cough syrup.

    As for the bitter GSE….I put 10 drops in water or juice for the kids and 20 drops for the adults. We takes it about 4 times a day if we’re sick or feelling like we might be. It’s bitter to be sure. But, it goes down if i threaten the children. LOL! Actually they’ve gotten used to taking it quite well. They do a better job of downing it than I do!

Leave a Reply

