The new pic in the header, school stuff, etc.

  • A couple of you have asked about the pic in the header.  Yes, it is of my hubby Martin and me.  It was taken in November of ’06 at the La Posada in Winslow, AZ, on our 12th anniversary celebration.  Notice the baby seat/carrier in the LH background?  That was Audrey.  With this new layout, I tried about six or seven different pics, and none of them would take!  I had the exact number of pixels called for, didn’t work.  I tried them bigger, I tried them smaller, I tried a direct upload to WordPress, I tried uploading them to Photobucket…  None of them worked.  Then, I tried this pic, and inexplicably, it worked, and at that point, I was thinking, “Whatever.  It worked.”  So…  I’m glad y’all like it!
  • I had a doc appointment this morning, for myself, which meant — yet again — not much school got done.  This whole week has been shot, with me primarily taking care of sickly small children.  But, today, I came home and had Ethan do a chapter in Story of the USA, which happened to be on the Alamo.  One of the assignments was to create a skit/play about the events.  Both the other boys are familiar with the story, so they participated as well.  Nerf dart guns in hand, they were done planning in about 2 minutes.  Unimpressed, I told them, “You can’t just shoot each other and then have whoever is playing Santa Ana say ‘I win.'”  Three boys’ shoulders slumped.  I had read their minds.  Hahaha!  So, they planned it out a little better, taking 20 minutes to decide on their stage set-up, plot outline, choose characters and dialogue.  Even 2yo Audrey got in on it;  her line was, “Oh, no!  The Mexicans are attacking!” which sounded like, “Oooooooohhhh!  The Mexcicoooooo ummm  ummm ATTACKING!!!!”  It was cute.  I should have taken pictures.  It really did seem like one of those ‘homeschool moments.’  Then, after lunch, everyone did double-lessons in math, and we called it a day.
  • Speaking of school, Ethan has about one week of material left in Core 3.  We’ve been working on it for…. umm… two years.  It actually took us about 18 months to get through the first 17 weeks of material, and about five months — which includes my three week ‘maternity leave’ with Fiala AND an additional two weeks we took off around Christmas — to do the final 19 weeks.  Why the big speed-up this year?  We dropped Latin.  It was time-consuming.  It was beneficial, and I wish we could continue, but it was TOO time-consuming.  So.   Anyways.  We plan on using the $$ from our tax refund to get Core 4, but that’s another 3-4 weeks away, so I’m planning on crafting him a special-interest unit study.  We got a catalogue in the mail, which is primarily (it appears) for adult continuing-education-type courses.  I had Ethan go through it — not because I intend to order something from the catalogue, but to find out what he’d like to learn.  I thought he might surprise me, and, whaddya know?  I’m flabberghasted in his choice.  He chose a course called Lost Christianities:  Christian Scriptures and the Battles Over Authentication.  Basically, it’s about the canonization of Scripture.  He’s eleven years old.  He’s seriously interested in this.  I’m elated.  I’m still uncertain where I’ll get my source materials;  we still haven’t been back to the library after my $100+ fine, and our own city’s new branch library’s opening has been pushed back, once again, to March 7.  We’ll probably just go back to the “old” library.  I look forward to finding some resources next week.  It’ll be a fun study.  (His second choice?  The American Civil War.  I told him, “Um, that’s in Core 4, so we’ll be studying that in a couple of months anyways.”  His third choice was Understanding the Brain.)
  • Fiala is still very sick.  Everyone else is recovering/dramatically improving, bless God.  But, it pains me to see her ill.  Plus, it’s looking like our Friday night Valentine’s date night is in jeapordy.  😦
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 12, 2009, in Babies, Blogging, Family, Giving searchers answers, Homeschooling, Marriage, Random Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The first thing I noticed was the carrier. Funny! I guess it is a mom thing. Plus we have so many anniversaries with nursing babies.

    I am sorry the baby is still sick. I am glad you can nurse her though. That is so helpful for her. And she isn’t in the hospital yet! Yeah for that!!

    We are on week 23 of core 3. Several times the kids have turned in something and I made them go back and actually put some thought into it. One was last week. 12 yo throw a fit and then finally turned in something worthwhile. I don’t know if your library has a used booksale, but that is where I picked up most of my books for core3 and 4. Then I just purchased the teacher’s manual. So much cheaper as the books were only 50 cents to a dollar a piece.

  2. Prayers for all of you in terms of health.

    As for the pic…didn’t notice that carrier just noticed the gorgeous in love couple getting their smooch on… 😉

  3. I didn’t notice the carrier until you pointed it out [laughing]. I guess the image of two attractive people kissing pulled me away from the baby side of things [smile]. It is a great picture, by the by.

    ~Luke

Leave a Reply

