Illness, part 2

I know I’m not the world’s most natural/homeopathic/herbal person out there, but I try.  That said, even though I am doctor and medicine avoidant, both for myself and for my kids, I’m really glad for them when they’re necessary.

I took Wesley and Fiala to the doctor this morning.  I’m taking Audrey later this afternoon.

The good news is that Fiala, who has RSV, is recovering nicely.  The ear infection that the doc said she had on Tuesday has cleared up beautifully on its own, no antibiotics needed.  She is still needing pulmicort and albuterol through an SVN machine twice a day, but at least she’s not in the hospital.  They took her pulse-ox, and it was at 96%.  That’s good, for a 3 month old baby with RSV.

Wesley, on the other hand… not so good.  He has had a “bad cold,” which is surely also RSV, for the past week, but only ran a low-grade temp, and only needing albuterol breathing treatments about once a day.  But… on Wednesday, his ear began to hurt.  My husband and I have been putting colloidal silver drops in his ears since Wednesday, and for us, that usually does the trick.  Not this time.  He was crying in pain this morning… and continued doing so all morning.  He has two badly infected ears.  I filled the antibiotic prescription.  The good news is that, according to Walgreen’s, he hasn’t been on antibiotics since 10/07, so I guess that’s pretty good.  More bad news, though, is that Wesley’s pulse-ox was at 93%.  Not good.  They gave him a breathing treatment there.  Though we have an SVN machine here at home, the doc said, “If his pulse-ox is below 95%, I want to do a treatment here, then we’ll test him again to see how well he’s responding to the treatments.”  That was reasonable.  It shot up to 98%.  Great.  But… they want him on pulmicort, too (which is an inhaled steroid).  The doctor also wants him on Singulair just until the cold months are over and Wesley’s winter bouts with asthma subside, to be started AFTER his 10-14 bout of Pulmicort.

~sigh~

Pulmicort is a steroid, but since it’s inhaled, it doesn’t go (as) systemic as pills.  Singulair is not a steroid, either.  I’m not a fan of medication at all, but at least the doctor listened to our insistence that Wes not be on a long-term, systemic steroid prescription.  It’ll be for a couple months, tops.  The pharmacist (who was fantastic, and talked to me for a good 20 minutes, never making me feel like I was taking up too much of his time) said that about 5% of kids have abnormal emotional outburst responses to Singulair.  Also, have you seen the commercials that have a disclaimer about Singulair increasing asthma-related deaths?  That’s because people administer Singulair when an asthma attack starts, which is incorrect use.  It’s to be taken once a day, and doesn’t force open airways like albuterol.

NOW… I have to run and get things ready to take Audrey to the doc.  She started running a high fever again.  She’s been on-and-off sick since Saturday.  😦  She’ll improve, and I’ll think, “She doesn’t need the doctor.”  Then, she crashes again.  After a week, my husband decided that enough was enough, and we need to take her.

This has been the worst two weeks for illness for my kids in at least the last two years.

PLUS, tonight is the first practice for the two big boys.  (Martin is coming home early so he can take them while I take the girls with me to the doctor’s.)  Lost in the shuffle of sick kids, etc., is the fact that Grant made it onto the Minor leagues with Ethan, so they’re both on the same baseball team.  Fantastic.  Baseball is one of those things I sort-of dread, because it consumes SO MUCH time.  But, it’s good for the boys, and they love it, and it creates good memories.  It just wears me out.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 13, 2009, in Allergies, Babies, Baseball, Medical Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. glutenfree4goofs

    Well lovely Karen, I’m sitting here with my head in my hands, reading about your woe’s and eating a bag of chocolate chips while sipping my Wendy’s Pepsi. Horrible I know, I’m nursing a baby but it’s been one of those days. I popped over to see how things are going for you and I hate to say I was able to sigh a sigh of relief to know that I’m not the only one struggling to get school done, fighting sickness, and just plain trying to survive the week. Yeah about the V day I think mine is shot too, the babie’s and I have that nasty cold thing, ear ache’s and headache. My house gets worse and worse every time I turn around but my head is spinning and I can’t keep up with the crying let alone sleep for myself. Ahhh, I don’t mean to complain it’s just the Pepsi talking! I had to drop my big boys off with my Hubby for evening church and bring the other kiddo’s home to bed so I stopped for a little pop to keep me going that way, being properly caffeinated, I could get a good fire started and come say hi to you after 3 and 4 fell asleep! Boy, I’m rambling- hey I’ve got another blogging q- wanna email me when you have a sec, even if it’s not for a week or so. I hope you don’t mind I feel like you are a long time friend 🙂 P.s. your son’s school interests make me smile! I can’t wait for the older grades (K and 1st isn’t really my cup of tea). Ha, I just finised the last half of the bag of choc chips (previous half eaten throughout the day yesterday-wierd I’m not usually a stress eater)! Well, signing off but I wrote your names down and will continue praying for your family. 🙂 Jess

  2. Can I say first that I LVOE baseball!! I am very sad that we choose to eliminate that sport. It was my choice of sports when I was a kid and continues to be if given the opportunity to play. I enjoy watching the soccer games but I don’t have a clue of the rules. yeah for your boys and baseball!!

    On that note I will move on to your sick kids. I am so sorry that they are still sick. I know how frustrating that is! When I was pregnant with #4 we got the rotavirus and it circulated our house for over a month. I thought that I was going to lose it. Longest month of my life. But when I took Brown Bear, during that time, they had to go pull his records from the inactive files because he hadn’t been in so long. That was encouraging.

    I will continue to pray for your kids. I know first hand how dis-heartening it is to be sick continually for awhile.

  3. Oh man – I feel for you! We struggle with one kid being sick at a time, let alone the stress that a number of your brood must cause you. Dudelette’s just coming out of another lengthy bout of chestiness (i.e. cough/wake-up/cry/soothe/sleep-ten-minutes/repeat-ad-nauseam) and I can hardly keep my eyes open. But all you’ve got going on and you’re still juggling baseball fixtures – that’s master-class parenting, dude!

Leave a Reply

