Music.

EDITED FOR THE THIRD TIME to add… I was thinking about this post, and was going to come back and edit it yet again, rewording it extensively, because I think I sound snooty.  I told myself, “You were tired when you wrote it.  That’s not what you really think.”  But, it is.  I’m truly, typically biased against songs that have lyrics full of clichés.  The song I’m mostly talking about here — By Your Side by Tenth Avenue North — has a mix of both striking lyrics and words that have been said many, many times before in pretty much the exact same way.  But, it’s still a fabulous song….  Hope that makes sense.

Here’s what I mean.  Fabulous, descriptive lyric:

Look at these hands and my side
They swallowed the grave on that night
When I drank the world’s sin
So I could carry you in
And give you life

Not-so-original lyric from the same song:

Cause I, I love you
I want you to know
That I, I love you
I’ll never let you go

But… you know… we need to hear that God loves us and won’t let us go, and we need to hear that a billion times.  I do, anyways.

Anyways.  Back to the original post:

I write songs.  I’m not mega-prolific, like my husband, but I do write ’em occasionally.  It affects how I hear others’ songs.  One of the goals both Martin and I have is to say something new, something that hasn’t been said before.  But, if we have a good song kernel, and it doesn’t cover any new territory, the goal is to at least say it in a way that it hasn’t been said before.

But, sometimes, there are good songs that break those rules…  Doesn’t say anything novel nor is it tricky/inventive, but it’s still really good.

There’s been a song in that vein, running through my head for weeks.  I hear it on the radio occasionally… enough to make me familiar with it, but not enough to know the words by heart or anything, just enough to stick in my head like, “Mmmhmm hmm whenever you hm hm la la la dah dah dah dah dah… please don’t fight these hands that are holding you.”  Tonight, after the song has been playing tantalizingly/frustratingly incomplete through my brain, I thought, “I’ll bet it’s on YouTube.”  And, voila!  It is.

It’s called By Your Side by Tenth Avenue North.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “By Your Side – Tenth Avenue North“, posted with vodpod

That’s not an official video, obviously.  If they had one, I’d post it.

This one is, though, for a different song of theirs, Love is Here:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Tenth Avenue North – Love Is Here“, posted with vodpod

Enjoy!

Ooh, and look!  They’re coming to Phoenix on March 27th.

The Rock And Worship Road Show w/ MercyMe, Jeremy Camp, Hawk Nelson, Addison Road / $10 at door / 7:30PM

I’m probably one of the few that looks at that list of musicians, and says, “Oh, cool!  Hawk Nelson!  Ugh.  Jeremy Camp.”  I’m not a huge Jeremy Camp fan.  Nor MercyMe.  But, I do like Hawk Nelson, and, obviously, Tenth Avenue North.  I like the girl’s voice from Addison Road.  My son Ethan REALLY likes Hawk Nelson.  Hm.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on February 22, 2009, in Music, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for this…I’m home sick with a sick child while my husband is at church with the other three. I’ve heard this song, never “HEARD” all of the lyrics. What a nugget of truth and worship on a day I am stuck at home!

  2. We are at home today too. But by choice. Terrible I know. It is my nephew’s birthday and since we don’t see him much we decided to make him a cake and have a party here.

    I am one of those people that only know the words, never song titles or musicians. I do like some MercyMe songs but don’t have a clue who the other ones are. That is what my husband is for. He can tell me right away who it is and he is opening my eyes to other music.

    Specifically the new Plumb album that she wrote for her boys. I listened to it about a million times while I was in labor with Koala. Have you heard it??

  3. Hi, Tina & Christy! Funny — I wrote this last night, waiting for banana bread to come out of the oven for Sunday morning breakfast. It was late, and I realized that, for a fast & easy breakfast when we’re all of a rush to get to church EARLY (8:15) when I lead worship for the kids, I was either going to a) have to make rice milk so the kids could have cereal, or b) make something else. I made banana bread, and posted this while it was baking. But it posted as the 22nd, because I must have finished it after midnight. 😀

    And, I LOVE Plumb!!!!!! “In my Arms” is the most incredible, beautiful song from a mother’s heart I think I may have ever heard in my life.

Leave a Reply

