Catching up… (or, The Four Hour Awful Marathon Worship Song Selection Morning)

I haven’t blogged in six days! I’ve thought along the lines of, “I should blog about _____ …” but haven’t been able to.  Just busy…

On Sunday night, my husband looked at the week ahead of us and proclaimed with no small despair, “We have something going on every night this week.”  To which I replied, more chipper than I felt, “Well, the things on the calendar for Thursday and Saturday aren’t during the evening;  they’re during the day.”  But, then, I remembered that he’s probably going to have to sub for another kinship worship leader on Thursday… the guy is a fighter pilot and instructor at Luke AFB and is training others for night flying.  How cool is that?  Still, it makes him unable to fill his normal responsibility of leading worship that night… so Martin will probably step in.  So, that makes something every night this week except for Saturday.

And, when there are things to do, places to go at night time, that means my daytimes are that much more cramped with stuff I’ve got to do to make it happen.

Like tonight, I have kinship (which is like Bible study), to which I am happy to go, plus I lead worship there, so I must go.  That starts at 7:00.  The older boys have baseball practice that starts at 5:00.  So… as soon as I am done writing here, I’m going to make tonight’s dinner, make sure the boys have their gear in order, pack up my guitar and music, and be out the door at 4:30 for practice.  Wesley and Audrey will play on the playground by the practice field, and I’ll hang out… then Martin will arrive at practice at 6:00, directly from work, I’ll go to the truck and feed Fiala one last time, Martin will take Audrey’s car seat out of my truck, then I’ll go off to kinship while all five kids stay with Martin.  He’ll come home and give ’em all dinner, and I’ll be home around 9:30.

Last night was similar, except they had a baseball scrimmage — AFTER our dear friend Allison picked up my three boys — WAY out of her way — so that they could go to homeschool park day with her boys, which I couldn’t do because a) the time factor; and b) I’m sick.  But, Martin was able to come home early from work and take the boys to their game, leaving here at 4:30.  I was supposed to take Audrey and Fiala grocery shopping.  But, Audrey had a break down, stemming from the fact that she didn’t nap that afternoon, and I wasn’t able to get everyone out the door in that small window of opportunity one has with a nursing baby — AFTER she’s fed, but before she gets way fussy from needing to sleep.  SO.  I just stayed home, Audrey and I ate dinner at 6:30, I put her in bed, she promptly fell asleep.  Martin and the boys got home at 7:45, I fed Fiala one more time while all “the boys” ate, THEN I went grocery shopping, leaving home at 8:15, hitting three stores, and not arriving back home until 11:15.

Ugh.

And, more of the same this entire week.

I know that there are a lot of families who easily and speedily and gladly skip from one event to another, but this is not one of them.  We’re all such homebodies.  Except Grant.  He has unwavering energy.  But… Martin told me that during the scrimmage game last night, Grant had to come off the field because he was wavering on his feet, and he told his coach he was feeling dizzy.  Well… he spent three hours in record heat yesterday at the homeschooling park day, and then was in left field with the sun in his face.  Heat exhaustion.  Dehydration.  Something.

I so have a love-hate relationship with the boys and baseball.  Anyone who has read here for a while knows that I’m a HUGE, HUGE fan of baseball, and I’m thrilled to pieces for my boys to be playing it.  And, I’m double-glad that they were drafted to the same team because there was a chance that they would be placed on different teams, which means different times and locations for both practices and games, and I don’t know how we could have swung that.  But, thank God, they were drafted onto the same team.  And, I committed to leading worship in a new Tuesday night kinship without knowing the boys’ schedule, and when it came, I saw that all the games are on Mondays, Wednesdays and every other Friday.

So, while it’s all technically possible for us to do all of the things we need to and want to, it’s a wearying season.

Then, I get crabby.

This morning, since I had not practiced yet for tonight’s worship, I thought, “I’ll practice while the boys do their chores.”  Well, the list I had created over the past few days, in my head, wasn’t coming along right.  One hour turned into two.  Literally.  Thankfully, Fiala loves it when I play and sing, so I spread a blanket on the floor, on which lay she, Martin’s laptop, my music notebook, and reams of papers strewn about, along with miscellaneous stuff like picks, a capo, pencils, etc.  Boys, chores.  Fiala, with me.  Only Audrey was running amok.

Then, since I’m new at it, I called my husband, the expert, after I had my four songs picked.  He nixed two of them.  Well, he didn’t exactly nix them, but he explained to me why he didn’t think they would work for the flow of worship (we call it “destination”).  I got really crabby.  One of the songs I replaced at his suggestion, no problem.  He suggested one that he saw I had pulled the music to, on Sunday.  I had practiced it already and considered it, so it was easy to swap that one out.  But, one of the songs he suggested that I NOT do… well, it’s a song that I feel very confident about.  I can sing it well, lead it well, play it well.  I didn’t feel it was too wordy or anything for kinship worship.  He did.  And he said, “I don’t think we’ve done that in the main service for a year.”  Which, I don’t think is true.  I’m certain we’ve done it much more recently (it’s Anthem of the Free by Matt Redman, if anyone is wondering.  If anyone is still reading.).  He suggested a different song.  By that time, it was after 11:00.  I practiced the other song he suggested.  In order to keep the flow of the list, I needed the song to be in the key of D.  But, doing it in D made that particular song way too high in parts.  But, I practiced… and finally just threw it out, and reverted to Anthem of the Free.  I called Martin about it.  The conversation wasn’t good.  He said that didn’t want to argue, and he’d just leave it to me.  Well, I didn’t want to argue, either!  But, by that time, it was after NOON.  Noon.  The ONLY thing I had accomplished the ENTIRE morning, was my kinship worship list.  And, here’s my hubby saying, “I just don’t think that song will work.”  And here’s me, feeling sort of like a rebellious child, saying, “But the other song you suggested is NOT working at all, it’s after noon, I haven’t accomplished anything, I have to wrap this up, I have to put lunch on the table.  I’m going to have to do Anthem of the Free.”  And arguing with one’s husband is just not a good foundation for a great time of worship.  He ended it by saying, “Well, if it doesn’t go well, just remember that short-bad is better than long-bad.  Just wrap it up if the people aren’t worshiping and move on to your next song.”

Ugh.

So, that’s been my day.  My week.

This wasn’t going to be our Spring Break week, but since we didn’t school yesterday because I was sick, and now we didn’t school today because of the Awful Marathon Four Hour Worship Song Selection Morning… well, it’s looking like this is becoming our Spring Break.

And, now my dear baby’s waking.  Must go feed her, which will bring some peace…  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 3, 2009, in Baseball, Family, Homeschooling, Sports Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix, Worship. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. glutenfree4goofs

    Ugh! I get it on so many levels. I am sick too and Davie is on a nursing strike so I don’t even get that Peace just struggle! Hope your days go better. One of my favorite songs/verses: Your love oh Lord reaches to the Heavens your faithfulness stretches to the sky…. He will sustain you, He is faithful!

    • Karen, you’ve captured the price we pay for leadership, participation in God’s good work, and, raising children, and keeping a house going. It’s not easy – it’s why so many people drop off. It’s not what you are going through that (ultimately) matters – it is what you are going to. There will be fruit for all this. Better days, even worse days ahead too – but a reward for the faithful that will make the days more than worth it. Love you, Kathy

  1. Pingback: Here’s why it’s worth it « Only Sometimes Clever

Leave a Reply

