Bits…

  • Alexander Henrys Apples & Pears Blue

    Alexander Henry's Apples & Pears Blue

    I love to sew, but I don’t often have the opportunity to really devote time to it.  Every once in a while, someone says to me,  “You could sell that!” and maybe I could, but I’m too slow to make things really profitable.  So, for me, sewing is more a labor of love than anything.  I’m very excited to be given the thumbs up from a friend to sew the stuff for her baby girl’s room.  😀  I practically forced my sewing skills upon her, but after talking with her about it on Saturday, became convinced that she really wants me to sew for her, and isn’t just saying, “Yes” to shoo me off, which is definitely a possibility, since I’ve been INUNDATING her with conversations, e-mails, texts, and other info about all things pregnancy, baby shower, birth, and infants since she got pregnant.  I was afraid she’d feel overwhelmed, but instead, she feels loved and cared-for.  That was a relief.  The fabric I’ll be using (among other coordinating fabrics) is on the right.

  • I have been visiting more natural-birthing blogs these days.  I think it’s because I can’t imagine not being around births any more, yet I remain uncertain as to whether or not we’ll have any more children of our own.  More and more, I like the idea of being some sort of assistant in the process of helping other mothers birth naturally… maybe as an unofficial birthing coach, maybe as a “real” doula, maybe teach Bradley classes.  Don’t know yet.  But… I must say that there are a lot of… um… imflammatory blogs on the topic.  There are a lot of midwives, etc., who tell stories that go something like, “Well, I lost a friendship over telling her this…”  and I decided that my friendships are more important than whether or not someone has an epidural.  But, one of my most favorite natural-birthing sites is this:  Stand and Deliver.  It’s written by a well-educated, homebirthing mother.  Her blog is continually interesting, without trying to make you feel guilty.  Plus, the author, Rixa, is also 31 or so weeks pregnant with her second child, which makes the info all the more relevant.
  • Found on Stand and Delivercool article about Salma Hayek nursing a sick infant — not her own — in Sierra Leone while on a humanitarian mission.
  • My friend Heidie said to me yesterday, “Don’t you just get discouraged???” about something that I hadn’t even thought about getting discouraged over.  I do get discouraged, but not over that.  There’s something on Fiala’s right cheek.  I don’t know what it is.  It’s been there for a good 4-5 weeks.  It was almost gone before the pediatrician said, “Looks like eczema.  Why don’t you put some Vaseline on it with every diaper change?”  I knew it wasn’t eczema, but I went ahead and put Vaseline on it, and it almost immediately it exploded into a huge, imflamed, oozy patch, doubling or tripling in size.  Ugh.  Meanwhile the patch of real eczema on her forehead was helped by the Vaseline.  So, apparently, Vaseline does help eczema, which, after five kids who all had/have eczema, was news to me.  I still don’t know what’s going on with Fiala’s face, but I started putting some homemade salve on it, made from beeswax and olive oil, mostly, and that is definitely helping.
  • I commented kindly about something on painter/illustrator Stan Fellows’ blog, and he sent me an e-mail saying, “You like it??  I’ll send it to you!”  My jaw dropped.  Then, I kind of backpedalled, because I wasn’t intending to be solicitous and he responded something like, “I wouldn’t give it to you if it was a watercolor.  People line up to buy my watercolors.  But, those are just some funky acrylic birds that aren’t marketable, so it’s either send them to you, or trash them.”  True to his word, the paintings showed up in my mail box on Saturday.  My heart skipped several beats.  Woo hoo!  I’m going to get part of it framed, and will post pics when I do. … Stan is by far my favorite, current illustrator.  I adore his work.  There’s just something about every bit of it that floats my art boat.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 9, 2009, in Art, Babies, Birth, Blogging, Friendships, Interesting Websites, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Pregnancy, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I know this is going to seem contradictory after all the stuff that we sewed but I really don’t like sewing at all. But my mom made me learn and I am glad that she did.

    The docs encouraged my SIL to give her baby another does of meds that she was sure was making her sick. It made it worse. She feels terrible. I hate it when you go against what you think is right and it makes it worse for the babies.

    How cool to get that art. ZK loves art and is always looking at artists. Not me so much. I need to learn to appreciate it I guess. :0)

  2. Thanks for the reminder that even as someone who has gone down the allergy road before (several times it seems) that there is always something new to learn! It seems my #4 is going to have allergies too. ugh!

Leave a Reply

