“You will always be a blessing”

Each of my children are so dear, so precious to me.  But, there is just a special sweetness over Fiala.  She is so very good-natured.  We get comments — all the time — both from people who have long known us, and from virtual strangers, about her personality, about how kind she is, how peaceful, how sweet…  She just is.  She is such a pleasant little girl, and she brings joy everywhere she goes.

I have a love-hate relationship with photography, where my children are concerned.  I love having memories perserved, both from the inconsequential to the monumental.  But, I get frustrated that the true nature of my children are so rarely captured on film (well, not really film, but you know what I mean).  Every once in a while, though, their true selves will peek out at the camera, and we snap the shutter at just the right time.

This past Friday, my step dad came over to take Ethan on a trumpet-shopping expedition.  He’s been renting one, bless him, for Ethan for more than two years, and recently decided that, long-term, it makes more sense to buy one, since it appears that Ethan’s going to continue with trumpet-playing.  When he brought Ethan back home (they weren’t successful in their quest, unfortunately), Fiala was awake and happy to see Grandpa Joe.  I adore this picture.  It just captures Fiala so nicely.  (And, I dearly love my stepdad, who, among all grandparents that my kids have, takes the most active role.)

Grandpa Joe and Fiala

Grandpa Joe and Fiala

A few weeks ago, Martin and I had the same thought, independently, on the same day, regarding Fiala.  It was the phrase, “You will always be a blessing.”  My mom used to always send us kids off with the encouragement and admonition, “Be blessed, and be a blessing!” and it’s only now that the beauty and weight of those words sink in.  What a joy it is to actually be a blessing to every one you touch.  🙂

OK.  I know I’m biased, and I know I’m gushing… but who better to gush than one’s mother?  I love my children, and I’m so, so happy that we “decided” to have a fifth child, because she’s simply dreamy and sweet, and I love her so.  She’s a blessing.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 10, 2009, in Family, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. My #4 (parrot) is like that.

    What a great picture and what an awesome grandpa.

  2. I like it…be blessed and be a blessing. Mind if I steal that?

  3. She is too cute for words! She looks so yummy! Do you have to resist the urge to lick her? 🙂

  4. Such an awesome picture, and Fiala is just soooo cute!

Leave a Reply

