Box Day non-post

Well… we got our Core 4 box from Sonlight earlier this week.  Many blogging Sonlighters post pics and stories of the excited children squealing as Fed Ex drives up, and as they go through the box.

Yes, we are excited, no I am not posting pics of excited children.  Why?  Because our Box Day consists of me saying, “Shoo!  Shoo!  DO NOT RUN OFF WITH THESE BOOKS!  DON’T EVEN TOUCH THEM!!  I haven’t covered them yet!  I don’t want them to go missing!!”  Nice, huh?

In order to make the books last longer, I go through the tedious process of covering each of them with clear Contact paper (it works!) after I have put a colored dot on the spine of each book.  I also like the books to be actually available to pull off the shelf when it’s time to read from that particular book.  Plus, when I put no restrictions on reading ahead, when we’d get to the spot in the schedule for that book, I’d have a kid protest, “But I’ve already read that book four times” and then he’s not interested…  I mean, it’s great that he’s read it four times, but I have discovered that a kid’s understanding of a book is not necessarily the same as my mother/teacher’s understanding, and for most of the books, they really need my insight to explain some things… but since they’ve already educated themselves on the book, I can’t get them to really apply their attention as I read.  For all those reasons, I no longer let my kids read the books in advance.  I know, I know, I’m mean.

Thus, I don’t let them riffle through the box and see what great books are ahead.  I let it be a surprise.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 20, 2009, in Books for children, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yeah to have the new stuff! I only need a couple of more books and the teacher’s manual to have the core 4 ready to go.
    We are on week 28 in core 3.

  2. Happy Box Day nonetheless [smile].

    ~Luke

Leave a Reply

