Updates…

  • Our dog Tally, thankfully, does not have distemper, bless God.  However, she does have a serious case of Valley Fever.  😦  She’ll have to be on antifungal medication, twice a day, for likely 12 months.  With the anti-inflammatory meds she’s also on, she’s already moving better, and in less pain, so she’s eating better.  She’s still visibly, seriously sick, but at least she’s not at death’s door any more.
  • My hubby, too, is sick.  Not Valley Fever.  However, he is now on medications, due to ear infections and severe allergy trouble.  Three medications at once, the most I think he’s ever been on in our whole nearly-15 years of marriage.  😦
  • Baseball is both wonderful and driving me nuts.  Little League, that is.  My 11yo is doing wonderfully.  My 9yo… not so much.  His baseball skills themselves aren’t lacking, which is encouraging, since he was delayed in so many motor skills for so long.  Socially/behaviorally, though, he’s not doing so well.  He’s not a cooperative “student” for his coaches, nor is he a very good teammate.  Nor does he focus well enough for a half-inning, let alone a whole practice or game.  So, he’s frequently getting in trouble for his goofy behavior, like for sitting in a five gallon bucket in the dugout.  IN the bucket, not on it.  Thankfully, his coaches are kind, but this means he spends the maximum amount of time on the bench each game.  😦  He loves baseball, but I’m torn between wanting to keep him in baseball (thinking of fall, and next spring, that is), so as to exercise his weaknesses and hopefully, eventually, overcome them… or just chalk it up to, “Team sports don’t work for Grant.”  We’ll have to see.
  • Fiala’s finally rolling over, back to front, at five months.  That’s a little late.  Precious, pudgy, happy, sweet girl.
  • April 6 is Audrey’s 3rd birthday, Diamondbacks opening day, and the boys have a Little League game that day.  🙂  Audrey keeps talking about a birthday party.  I do not have one planned.  The best day for that would be April 11th, and a friend of ours is already having a big party that morning, and our church is doing a big meal for the poor and homeless, downtown, that afternoon.  I’m still not sure what I’m going to do.  😦
  • My house is in the worst shape it’s been in in my entire marriage.  SO MANY things are behind, undone, pushed aside…  I think we’re going to have to take an unplanned week off, next week, just to make a dent in my 2.5′ high stack of ironing, clean filth off of doorways, give the dog a bath, remove the ¼” of dust that covers everything, save my digital pics to discs, print out photos to fill the picture frames I got for Christmas, clean out my laundry room, etc.
  • I finally got all three boys’ hair cut.  They were in desparate, shaggy need, a good 4-6 weeks overdue.  Halfway through, I was totally thinking, “This is SO not worth the $36 it is saving.”  I cut Ethan’s bangs too short.  I got done giving Grant a buzz cut, as he requested, and Martin said, “Oh, I didn’t want his hair buzzed.”  Wesley’s hair looks great, but it took me nearly 2 hours.  Seriously.
  • It is a joy of my heart that Ethan can read music.  It rocks.  Two-and-a-half years of trumpet lessons is all it took!  😀  With Sonlight’s Core 4, we got a CD with an accompanying booklet of notated music, called Wee Sing America, which is mostly historical Americana/folk music.  Ethan said, “I can sing these songs even though I’ve never heard them just by reading the music!”  I thought he was exaggerating his skills until he demonstrated.  Wow.
  • Ethan’s challenge right now:  Not to be Imperious High King Ethan, Ruler of All Siblings, Who MAY Deign to Let You Play With Him, Provided You Play According to His Royal Wishes, and According to His Particular Design, Framework, and Rules.  Ugh.  This especially does not work for Wesley, who will, minutes after starting to play with Ethan, invariably come running to me in tears.  Wesley is not competitive like the other two boys, nor does he want to follow some arbitrary rules made up by his brothers, especially Ethan.  Nor does he really care about rules to real games, like baseball.  He just wants to play.  He wants to hang out with his brothers.  And Ethan gets really upset that Wesley insists on being, say, an Indian, when he and Grant are playing robots from the future, and he tries to force square-peg Wesley the Indian into the round hole of Future Robots, to the consternation of everyone.  I have expressed to Ethan that the phrase running through his mind needs to NOT be, “If you want to play with me, you must…” and instead be, “If you want to play with me, I will…”  Know what I mean?
  • Speaking of Wesley, I got him speech-evaluated about a week ago.  His imprecise enunciations are “within the range of normal,” but he does have some language processing difficulties, as I had suspected.  We’re trying to figure out what sort of therapy schedule our insurance will pay for.
  • It’s warming up, here in the Phoenix area.  Sigh.  Days in the low 80s, mostly.  I am so not ready for it to be summer.  We have seven-ish months of summer here, which might sound lovely to those of you currently buried in snow and ice, but it’s not all that lovely if you live in it.  I mean it’s lovely now, but unbearably hot weather is just around the corner, making ugly faces at me, taunting me.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on March 28, 2009, in Allergies, Arizona, Babies, Baseball, Dogs, Family, Homeschooling, Housework, Life in the Desert, Motherhood, Music, Nonverbal Learning Disorder, Parenting, Random Stuff, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh the wonders of life and family!

    Nick

  2. So glad to hear Tally is going to be okay!!!!

    Rolling over is a big feat… yay! Who cares if its a bit late… she’s the youngest of five and in my experience those are the babies that get held a lot more, so they don’t get as much “floor” time. My cousin (youngest of five) NEVER crawled… he didn’t have to because everyone brought him whatever he wanted.

    Ethan sounds a bit like my oldest… I’m praying they outgrow this stage soon!

Leave a Reply

