A few things down…

The past few years, we’ve been schooling for six weeks on, then one week off.  This allows time for me to catch up on things undone, plus gives us two months of summer, while still schooling for 35 weeks each year.  However, with Fiala’s birth in October, I’m a bit behind, so I was attempting to just plow on through.

That didn’t work.

Four weeks ago, we did take a week “off,” where I was sick for the first two days, then caring for sick children the rest of the week.  Bummer.

I was getting SO STRESSED OUT by all the multitude of undone things that I had to take another break.

So, this week has been Spring Cleaning Week.

We got a lot done on Monday and Tuesday, including some things which are not apparent to anyone, but really have been bugging me, like cleaning under the fridge and stove.  Today, I’ve done no cleaning, but I still feel good about the day’s accomplishments.  After yesterday’s post, and me contemplating, “What else can I combine to save time and energy?” it dawned on me that:

  • I can probably have Grant and Ethan do math together next schoolyear.  Grant is doing Singapore math, which is fairly advanced, plus he gets 100% most of the time, so I think I can have him skip a year — or two — and do Math 7 with Ethan in the fall, especially if we use Teaching Textbooks which come with each day’s lesson “lecture” on CD-ROM.
  • Also, after stressing out about, “WHEN am I going to have Audrey’s birthday???” since pretty much every Saturday between now and summer is taken, I had a “duh!” moment and decided to have her birthday party… ON her birthday, which is Monday.

(Guess I didn’t need bullets for those…)

The boys’ game is not until 7:30, so we’re going to have a little cookout and cupcake party at 6:00 at the same park where their game is.

I spent most of the morning on the phone, reserving the ramada, and calling family and friends with our last-minute invite, then creating a quick .pdf invite/reminder, complete with “Kitty Dolly,” a.k.a. Hello Kitty, with whom she is still obsessed.

Funny about Audrey (more funny/odd than funny/ha-ha):  I had a number of people that I knew I’d be inviting to her party, but I asked her who she’d like to have there, so as to make sure I didn’t miss anyone she cares about.  First request:  “Nick and Josh and Marley,” her teenaged cousins.  Then, Maggie and Chloe, 12 and 10yo sisters from our church.  Then, Shawn, Joel, and Allison, who are 9 and 7yo brothers, and their mother (there is a father, too, but Audrey’s not as enamored with him).  Then, all the various grandparents.  I responded, “Ummm… how about some kids your own age?” and prompted her with a few suggestions, to which she absentmindedly agreed, kind of like, “Kids my own age?  Yeah, whatever.”

I had low expectations of turnout, since it’s late notice and on a school night, but everyone I’ve talked to (including my brother and his family — the aforementioned cousins — who live about 90 minutes away) will be able to come!  Most have been happy about the baseball game afterward, as well, like killing two birds with one stone, “Oh, I’ve been wanting to come to one of the boys’ games!”

So… no cleaning yet today, but I can’t tell you what a great relief this is to me, to have it finally figured out!!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 1, 2009, in Baseball, Family, Friendships, Homeschooling, Housework, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Audrey is just an auto-intelli-generator of cuteness, isn’t she?

    =D

    Nick

Leave a Reply

