Maybe there is a demon under this rock

Yet another day of school stunted by sick kids.

This time, it’s Fiala — who has been mildly ill since Friday, likely with a virus which led to tons of congestion, likely made worse by the fact that she had RSV in February.  With the assistance of saline drops, I have been using the bulb syringe/nasal aspirator, a.k.a. the “nose suckey,” like a mad woman, as evidenced by Fiala’s squirming when she sights it, and by the sad little red marks at the base of her nostrils.  😦  Still, in spite of my best attempts to keep her as free of gunk as possible, I just couldn’t keep her cleared out, because by Monday night, she had a raging 103°+ fever, and was in absolute pain with each little cough… AND, she started to not eat.  After she rejected eating for almost 12 hours, I thought it was time to call the doc.  Yup, she has a bad ear infection, the second of her short life.  This is likely why she wouldn’t eat;  the pressure of sucking hurt her.  She’s now on antibiotics, amoxycillin.  It pains me — and her — to squirt 7ml of that sticky, sickly pink liquid into her mouth twice a day.  But, even after the first dose, she had improved to dramatically that I no longer had to medicate her for a high fever.  She’s still running a low-grade fever, and is still very congested.  But, last night, she slept for five hours, which is the best she’s done in nearly a week.

Ethan, my 11yo, also woke up late last night with a fever, 102.3°.  😦  I gave him Motrin, and this morning, gave him some grapeseed extract in some juice.  He did a bit of school, and went to bed.

This is on top of Audrey being sick for the last nearly-week, Wesley having two rounds of diarrhea, and Martin fighting extreme mouth/throat sores, and general illness for at least the last two weeks.

It’s just not right.

I grew up in a hyper-Pentecostal church — the kind where if you didn’t dance during worship, or speak loudly in tongues, or prophesy with loquacity, then, by golly, you just weren’t a real Christian.  It was also a name-it-and-claim-it faith kind of church, and the sort where it was taught that pretty much any bad thing, ever, came from a demon, and that bad thing just needed to be “bound” in the name of Jesus, and if the bad thing stuck around, well, you just didn’t have enough faith, or weren’t Godly enough, or something, because that demon was still there.

Much of my adult years have been spent separating the wheat from the chaff of my childhood… religious edcuation.  Like, is dancing bad?  No, of course not.  But does one HAVE to dance during worship?  No, of course not.  And, is talking in tongues bad?  No;  it can be highly beneficial.  But, is it the mark of true Christianity??  I don’t believe so.

And so on.

For each area of Christian beliefs that, from my perspective, had a pendulum that swung too far to one side, I have been trying to find the balance, the right place, the right perspective, the right attitude about.  (That sentence doesn’t have great grammatical structure, but I hope you understand.)

We have been so entirely ill this whole winter, and now into spring, in spite of everything healthy and proactive that I have done, I am now starting to believe that our family is truly under some spiritual — demonic — attack.

Martin, myself, and even our two oldest sons, are all involved in leadership at church.  Martin, as the worship pastor, is in an especially  visible role of ministry and leadership.  I have long seen that the enemy just wants to take down Christian leaders…  I have often seen the worst things happen to the best people.  I’m not suggesting that my family is “best people,” but we are certainly in leadership, and our continual go-’rounds with illness just seems, to me, highly suspicious.

We pray over our children, both in general, and over them for specific problems.  We lay our hands on them and pray with the authority given to us by Jesus.  But…  I’m thinking we need to call in the troops, and maybe have our whole family receive some ministry.

~sigh~

Still, God is good.  He is SO SO SO good.  I had an amazingly fantastic GOD experience at kinship last night, about which I will blog later, if I get a chance.

Prayer is highly appreciated.

God will be glorified.  Our family will not fall.  The Body of Christ will rally ’round and support us.  I know those things are true.  God is good.  He’s faithful.  I’m just awaiting that good outcome that He will bring, and trying not to grow weary in the process.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 15, 2009, in Babies, Christian Living, Christianity, Family, God/Christianity/Church, Homeschooling, Medical Stuff, Sad Things, The Dear Hubby, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear about your struggles. I prayed for you and the family and I hope everyone feels better soon.

  2. Dear Karen,
    I am so sorry to hear of your struggles! We too, feel that the closer we get to God, the more our “life struggles* increase, as shown by my husband’s 4th hospital stay in as many months. Still, you are right, our God is a wonderful wonderful God, and He will show us the why of it all soon enough.
    I will continue to pray that the *demon* (being highly Pentecostal myself, but not to the tune of your growing up years church members!) leaves your house for good. Our own Pastor is going to show up here tomorrow to help us the same way.
    God bless you for the wonderful work you do. I don’t know if even YOU realize how far your ministry reaches! It sure does a lot for my soul to see your written word.
    Blessings,
    Adrienne
    http://moonmommyof4.wordpress.com/

  3. glutenfree4goofs

    I liked your “un-grammatical” sentence! It made sence to me, I’m on the same wave length! Ok, so I could write another 10 paragraphs on this too. I’ve been feeling “attacked” and beaten down lately as well, wondering how much of it is the Devil’s scheme to keep us out of the blessings that God wants us to have through ministry. We are getting ready to start home group at our place, getting back onto worship team after maternity leave, and praying about starting kids choir… but I haven’t been able to sit through church or fellowship with other believers in months because of sickness. Ugh it IS a battle and I do believe, though we can’t fear everything bad that happens, only good and perfect things come from above so… PRAY, pray and without ceasing pray! I’ll keep praying for your family. Have some homeschool q’s will email. As always, no hurry 🙂

  4. We went through something like that a couple years ago. I felt like we were always sick! It went on for what felt like forever! It was keeping us out of church and out of community. It was just TOO much! I felt that it was a spiritual attack.

    I made a recording of “healing Scriptures”–every verse I could find on healing and health. And we played it all day and night long. We claimed that healing every chance we got. Everytime the kids said, “I don’t feel well” I taught them to say, “I’m healed in Jesus’ Name!”

    I know people think I’m crazy, but that illness was gone in about a day.

  5. I grew up in pentecostal churches that were the same exact way. Then, from about the age of 14 until I left Birmingham at 18, we went to a church that was pentecostal but really well-grounded in the word and deep Biblical teaching. It was more balanced than the other churches that seemed to be more focused on speaking in tongues, words of prophecy, healing services and the type of preaching that is either hellfire and brimstone or whipping the crowd up into a frenzy – but almost never any deep Biblical teaching.

    We found a great church in Nashville that fit our needs, the non-denominational Belmont. Since moving here to TX, we haven’t found one where we feel at home. We actually are “between” churches right now, having visited several lately and I’m just SO sad to be in this place. We need a good strong church body so badly. Part of the problem is somewhat of a crisis of denomination. Honestly, most pentecostal churches I’ve been in have given me a big “check” in my spirit (something was off, either a little or a lot). But the last several churches we’ve been to have been closer to the Baptist end of the spectrum, and that’s just not working for me. I need some lively worship. (no offense to any Baptists; they are a great, strong denomination.)

    Anyway, it’s so nice you’re in a church where you feel at home. I miss that so much. People in my area keep saying we don’t have any good churches around here. So frustrating.

Leave a Reply

