The last few weeks in pics (the happy moments, anyways!)

I match!  It's all PINK!!

I match! It's all PINK!!

When Audrey starts her day, it’s with a rattle of dresser drawers.  That’s how we typically know she’s up.  She does this because she wants to pick out her OWN clothes, and wants to do it before I can say, “No.”  Rather than fighting, I typically let her just wear what she wants, then change her into something more appropriate, if need be, before we go anywhere.  It makes for a ton of laundry, but, oh well.

dsc072591

Sweet sisters

This is what Fiala is typically like.  She is SUCH a happy, sweet baby.  Yesterday, at the doctors’ office, the doc said, “If I didn’t know better, I’d never guess you were sick!”  Because Fiala just cooed and smiled at her so endearingly.

Puppy Boy

Puppy Boy

I uploaded pics onto my computer and found that eleven of them were of Puppy Boy.  This was a sure sign that my 7yo son, Wesley, had gotten hold of my camera.  Puppy Boy is a treasure to Wesley, a gift from my husband four or five years ago.  I was mildly scandalized a couple of years back when Wesley said, “I love Puppy Boy down to his balls.”  Trying my hardest to keep a straight face, I enquired as to exactly what Wesley meant by this… then, it dawned on me that by “balls” he meant “small plastic pellets,” with which PB is filled.

at Audrey's party

at Audrey's party

At Audrey’s party, on Monday, April 6th.  Audrey’s there in the middle, inspecting the cutest, hugest Hello Kitty card, ever, from our friend Allison.  Allison has two boys, so she went all-out getting girlie stuff for Audrey — a tiara, a pink HK tee, some stickers, plus that giant card, all in the best giftbag ever.  The little girl on the right-hand side is named Sedona, and is the most darling, spunky cute girl ever.  And, that’s me, on the left, holding Fiala.  😉  My camera is weirding out, plus has never taken good pics at night, and I so did NOT get good pics of Audrey’s party.  Oh, well.  It was a lovely time anyways.

Baking stuff

Baking stuff

Me, baking waffles, as taken by Wesley, wearing earrings from Kiva’s shop.  I’m trying to figure out if my stomach sticks out that far in real life, or if it’s just the angle of the pic, or what.  Ack.

Can you tell, by this being the second post of the day, that I’m just worn out, and spending time sitting at the computer???  Busy days, sick kids…  it’ll do that to you.  I love, though, looking at pictures, and all the sweet, warm feelings they make rise to the surface…

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 15, 2009, in Introspective Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. No, it is the angle of the camera, I took one like that of my husband over Christmas. That’s what I need to start doing – get baking! Then I might stem the constantly pestering for biscuits with milk solids in them (not that he’s asking for this specifically, he just wants ket, I need to try and create healthier ket, heh!) I hope your kids are feeling better, I love the photos of your daughters, and it looks as though Audrey had a happy birthday. Does she like Hello Kitty? She’d love it around here, I’ve got a small army of them sitting looking at me!!

    Thank you for giving me a good laugh about Puppy Boy! That is so cute you found all those photos of him on your camera too…

  2. This is so fun, Karen! I got a couple of good chuckles too! 🙂 About Puppy boy obviously and…

    “I’m trying to figure out if my stomach sticks out that far in real life…” I say that to myself every time I see my reflection! haha!

    Your girls are adorable. 🙂

  3. Wesley and Puppy Boy. That paragraph made me laugh.

  4. Puppy Boy…he is too cute! Aubrey and my girlie girl sound like they have similar morning routines…I often think of Punky Brewster with some of her outfits. 🙂

    Thanks for the shop shout out as well, the earrings look fab! 🙂

  5. glutenfree4goofs

    How funny! Kids are hilarious. I’m been wanting someone to take a pic of me with my earings from Kiva to post, great minds think alike! Davie has the same brown polka dot onesie as Fiala too, what a cutie, your little one is.

  6. I have a little 3 year old who dresses herself also. I frequently call her my fashionista. She just climbed in my lap and saw Audrey’s pink outfit, and is now headed to her room declaring “I want to wear all pink too!” The laundry is well worth the independence, confidence, and creativity.

Leave a Reply

