My supey-dupey God moment

First, lemme ‘splain “supey-dupey.”  My oldest son, Ethan, has a profoundly annoying streak.  Jekyll and Hyde-like, he’s either charming and thought-provoking and absolutely pleasant to spend time with… or he’s intentionally squeaky, loud, odd, baby-talking, crazy, spurting out weird statements like, “I like cheese!” at the top of his lungs.  Or, he can get fixated on one word, usually a nonsense word, and that becomes his all-purpose exclamation.  No, it’s not like Tourette’s.  But, there’s not much middle ground.

In what surely shows God’s sense of humor, the things that absolutely want to make me tear my hair out with annoyance are the very antics that first Audrey, and now Fiala, find incredibly amusing.  They laugh and laugh and laugh at him.  Pretty much anything he says or does, even if it drives me NUTS, well, to them, he can do no wrong.  No wrong.  And you know what?  It’s such a blessing that my 11yo can make my crabby 3yo laugh, even if I have to plug my ears or leave the room while he’s doing so.

Anyways.  One of the things he says in annoying/amusing mode (depending on your perspective) is, “Supey-dupey.”  (Imagine this said loud, high-pitched, and with a baby-talk affectation.)  It means, of course, “super-duper.”  But now… guess what?  Everyone says “supey-dupey” around here now.  Even ~ahem~ me.

Anyhow.

My favorite time and place to pray is by myself, in the car on my way to or from somewhere.  That typically means I get about four by-myself episodes of prayer each week.  😀  To and from the grocery store, late at night, and to and from kinship (which is sort of like Bible study).  I usually pray out loud, and I get downright earnest with God, so frequently, I have to wipe a few tears away when I pull up to my destination.

So, Tuesday night, I was going to kinship, and I was praying over my children and my mothering.  I prayed a number of things, but two very specific things I prayed over were these:

  • I said to God, “I don’t want anything that I’ve done wrong as a mother to damage my children.”  There are a host of things that I could do less of, more of, better, whatever.  I’m not close to ideal as a mother, and I often fear the long-term repercussions of my mistakes on my children.
  • I also said to God, “I want to be more proactive in my parenting.  I want to really reach their hearts.  Please give me prophetic words, and insightful scriptures that are revelatory for the moment.”

I pull up to the home where kinship is, I wipe my eyes and nose, and get out of the truck.

So.  Kinship goes like this:  Sharing/ice breaker chatting.  Then, teaching/discussion.  Then worship, which flows right into ministry.  Before ministry, the leader asks if there are any general prophetic words or words of knowledge, to give direction to how we should be praying for each other, or to give encouragment to people that God sees their needs and wants to meet them.

During ministry time, there are no observers.  It’s either be ministered to, or be ministering.  You’re either giving or receiving.  And, then there’s me, playing the guitar, “protecting the environment” of ministry time.  I usually just play some simple three chord progression, flat-picking a little… and often sing/pray spontaneously, quietly.  Most often, no one prays for me, but that’s OK.  It truly is.  But, on Tuesday night, a lady named Marietta came close to my ear and asked if she could pray for me.  I said, “Of course.”  She asked me if there were any words that had been given which applied to me, and I said, “Maybe the one about anxiety.”  So, she started praying.  She prayed a number of things, but two of them stood out.  Can you guess what she prayed???  It was this, and this is verbatim, or close to it:

  • “Karen, God says to you that you have not damaged your children.  You will not damage your children.  Do not fear damaging them.”
  • “God, give Karen prophetic words for her children.  Give her scriptures that are just right for the moment, so that their hearts are captured.”

Ha!  It was like I prayed, and God looked at His wristwatch and said, “Hm.  I’ll answer that.  Gimme 90 minutes or so, OK?”  Amazing.

On my way home, reflecting on this, I thought these things:

  • How could anyone doubt the goodness of God?
  • How could anyone doubt the goodness of prophetic prayer and ministry?
  • How could anyone doubt that God is concerned with our most intimate of heart’s cries?  With our prayers both big and small?
  • How could anyone not value the Body of Christ, the larger collection of Christian believers???
  • Why would any Christian “give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing“??

Well, I’ll tell you how and why all that might — and does — happen.  It’s because Jane & John Doe Christian has not had an experience like the one I’ve described.  Not enough Christians have had an opportunity to “taste and see that the Lord is good.”  Because once something like that happens to you, all those questions are resolved.  Once something like that happens, you know that you KNOW that you KNOW that God is good, that the prophetic is for today and it’s good, that God is concerned with me, that God hears me, that the Church is good, that the Body of Christ can be — and IS — powerful and beautiful, and that meeting together as Christians is HIGHLY beneficial.

I’m highly convinced that, at least in the U.S., and maybe worldwide, one of the enemy’s biggest jobs is to run a smear P.R. campaign on God and His intentions.  It’s satan’s motivation to make us think that God is unkind, that the prophetic is for whackos, that God doesn’t care about me and He doesn’t hear my prayers, that the Body of Christ is entirely messed up and not worth my time, and that meeting together as Christians isn’t worth it and highly overrated.

Ugh.

Makes me mad well up with righteous indignation.  😉

And then, when that settles down, I rest in my trust of my wonderful God, who is kind enough to soothe my fears, encourage my heart, and let me know He hears my prayers.

AND, I’m so thankful for Marietta, that she heard God, and that what she prayed was spot-on.  I told her afterwards of that 90-or-so minute lapse between my prayer and hers, and she said, “Oh, that’s amazing.  God told me, early when I was praying for you, to tell you that you weren’t damaging your kids, and I told him, ‘That’s silly.  She doesn’t need to be told that.’  And I didn’t do it.  Then, He prompted me again, and I did, and as soon as I did, I could tell that it meant something significant to you.”

~sigh~

So, no matter what’s going on in my life, I will not be overwhelmed because my God is real and powerful, and He cares for me, and He hears me, and He will answer my prayers.

And He’ll do the same for you.  I know it.  He will.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 16, 2009, in Christian Living, Christianity, God/Christianity/Church, Introspective Musings, Motherhood, Music, Parenting, Prophetic, The Kids, Vineyard Phoenix, Worship. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. WOW! What an encouragement.

    I have only had one prophetic experience like that but the words that were shared took about 10 years to figure out but once I did…they keep applying to me over and over and over again. Gives me great joy! Thanks for sharing this intimate experience with your savior…makes me thirst after that myself.

    How often to we have the opportunity to bless someone and we think..na, you don’t really want me to do that! What a great reminder too to be sensitive to his leading, don’t question it, just obey it!

  2. God is awesome! When He wants to let us know something, He lets us know without a shadow of a doubt, doesn’t He!!

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. glutenfree4goofs

    Thank you! God IS good and I’m at a loss for words.
    Jess

  4. Wow, Karen! What an awesome testimony! God is so good to take care of us just the way we need it isn’t He! I’m so glad that he answered your prayer in such a way and so

  5. quickly.

    (I’m not sure what happened there!)

  6. Beautiful and inspiring! Your words are such a blessing!
    ~Adrienne

Leave a Reply

