Audrey is reading, sort of

Grant, my 9yo, has an extreme aptitude for English.  Oddly enough, it’s a symptom of a learning disorder, in which he excels in language (both spoken and written) and pretty much everything else is highly suspect.  He taught himself to read at 3 years, 2 months old.  He asked me if Ross, the store to which we were going, had blue letters.  I asked him how he knew that, and he said, “Because it has an ‘rrrr’ and a ‘sssss’.”  😮  Three months after that, he was reading on a 2nd grade level, and giving his kindergartener brother, Ethan, some unwanted competition.

Long ago, I told Grant that Audrey might give him a run for his money, on the claim to earliest reader, not because she has some extreme aptitude for language, but because she is just generally bright and motivated.

She could sing the alphabet song (simply by memory) before she turned two.  She grasped about a year ago that those squiggly lines on a page said something.  A few months ago, we started playing “p-p-p-p-penguin” type sound games.  She doesn’t know all the letters’ sounds, but she does know many of them.

On Friday, at the boys’ baseball game, she ran up to one of the other dads, and pointed at the water bottle he was chugging, and said, “That says ‘princess’.”  I thought it was cool that she was pretending to read, though she was highly insistent that it really did say princess.

Then, yesterday, she ran up to the same exact kind of water bottle, Trader Joe’s Mountain Spring Water, which was on our countertop.  It has a sport top, and I had saved it to refill, which someone had done.  “It says PRINCESS!!” Audrey exclaimed yet again, dancing with excitement.  As I took the bottle away from her and started to correct her, I stopped myself.  The text that is in the largest, boldest print on the label is “SPRING.”

Somehow — I don’t know how — she recognized the “P-R-I-N” in spring as being the same letters in princess.

It’s more like half-reading by sight alone than actual reading, but still… Pretty good for a girl who just turned three earlier this month.

She may yet beat Grant.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 22, 2009, in Homeschooling, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It may be half reading, but Audrey is 100% cute!

    Nick

Leave a Reply

