Rabbiana

A number of weeks ago, Audrey started talking about a girl named Rabbiana.  She was very specific about the name.  The first part rhymes with “abbey” and the second “a” is pronounced like she’s British.  Or speaking Spanish.  Or something.  “Ah.”  RA-bee-AH-nuh.

I couldn’t figure out a) who Rabbiana was, and b) where she got the name.  It was sort of like Rabbiana was an invisible friend, sort of like she was real, very tough to figure out.

Then, about a week ago, she stood in my bathroom and greeted her friend, “Hi, Rabbiana!”  I looked over, and there she was, in front of a full-length mirror, making faces.  It dawned on me.

“Is Rabbiana the girl in the mirror?”

“Yes.  Hi, Rabbiana!”  Audrey repeated, grinning and posing.

“Did you know that girl in the mirror is you?  It’s called a reflection.”

“Yes.  Rabbiana flek-sin.  She lives in the mee-wuh.  Awww.  Cute girl Rabbiana.”

My husband Martin said that Rabbiana is sort of like Peter Pan’s shadow — partly connected, partly with a life of its own.

Since the reflection isn’t really her, Audrey feels free to compliment Rabbiana on her cute hair, choice of outfit, sweet smile, etc.  It’s funny.

I still don’t have any idea where she got that name.  Creative girl, that Rabbiana.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 24, 2009, in Funny Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. glutenfree4goofs

    CUTE! Speaking of cute girls, I’m having a “wheather pixie” war! Yours is always dressed cuter than mine! DARN IDAHO weather. Ha ha! Speaking of the cute things kids say you should come over and read about my sons socks!

    • Before I knew how tall you were, I wondered why you had such a tiny weather pixie. 🙂 Actually, I’m worried about mine, because she appears to be… stripping down, and I wonder what she’s going to be wearing come 110 degrees. I may have to pick a more modest weather pixie!

  2. Even if she doesn’t see it as actually complementing herself, what a terrific exercise in self-confidence and self-love. Too bad more of us grown ups can’t seem to do the same thing to our reflections.

  3. That’s adorable. Thanks for sharing… I needed the smile today!

    Rabianna… making that’s the next baby girls name. 🙂

Leave a Reply

