Mmmm… Shiny.

I have warring fashion spirits within me.  Part of me likes funky stuff.  Part of me, though, does not want to dress to attract attention.  Part of me likes pretty stuff.  Part of me, though, does not like typically feminine fabrics.  Part of me just wants to wear jeans forever.  Part of me, though, wants a more grown-up wardrobe.  Part of me feels guilty for spending money on clothes for me when my kids need _______ .  Part of me, though, thinks, “It’s OK to buy clothes every once in a while and you shouldn’t feel guilty.”  Part of me adores the look of crisply ironed cotton.  Part of me, though, is really, really tired of ironing.

And so on.

Tonight, though, with great restraint, I went shopping.  I had a coupon for $10 off of any purchase at Kohl’s, no minimum required or anything.  Usually, when I go shopping, I pull 10 things from the rack, eight of them look horrible on me, and the two that fit OK aren’t the ones that I really like.  So, I go home with a new piece of clothing, but I’m not really happy with it.  Or, I don’t buy anything at all.  But — and maybe it was because I wasn’t just shopping the clearance racks — tonight, I tried on seven tops, and I really liked five of them!  I only had hubby/budget-clearance to buy one.  I really wanted at least three of them!

There was one that looked better on the hangar than on me, but I still really liked the style:

Then, there was one that looked OK on the hangar, but I knew it would fit me well, and it did, but if I was going to walk away with only one top, I wanted something more exciting:

It has tiny polkadots you cant see in this pic

It has tiny polkadots you can't see in this pic

In the end, I bought the top that looked best on me:

This one has tiny polkadots, too

This one has tiny polkadots, too

It comes in a light turquoise color, too…  I debated between the two, but ended up taking home the chocolate one.  I’ll have to save my $$ for the other.

Since I had that coupon, the top cost me only $6.48 with tax!  Woo hoo!

It’s super-shiny.  I don’t think I have ever bought any shiny piece of clothing, ever.  Even my wedding dress was matte silk, and that was in 1994, when EVERY wedding dress was satin and polyester, and real silk matte (dupioni, I think it’s called) was really hard to find.  (And, though it was nearly 15 years ago, it felt like a LOT of money back then when I bought my dress… but after watching a few episodes of Say Yes to the Dress, I’m thinking I got a smokin’ deal.  But, that’s another story.)

You know I don’t shop much when I blog about the purchase of ONE blouse.

I also FINALLY found a pair of white leather sandals for Audrey, after looking in about eight stores over the past month.  I wanted all-white, real leather, and less than $15.  It seems like ALL kids’ shoe manufacturers are using only “all man made materials” now, except maybe for StrideRite, and I just can’t pay $40 for kids shoes.  But, I have to have real leather, because I need them to last all summer.  Leather holds up better, and it still looks all right, even if it’s scuffed.  I found some, finally, at Payless, for $12.99:

The little flower appliques aren’t leather, but I decided to let that slide.  Audrey will get to wear them to church tomorrow.  It tickles me to think how thrilled she will be when she sees them in the morning.  🙂

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 25, 2009, in Budget, Clothes, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. We are so much alike. That is exactly how I feel. That is why I take my friend. She is honest, but nice about and can drag me toward more fashionable things.

  2. GOOD FOR YOU! Enjoy looking fresh and pretty!

Leave a Reply

