Great site for homeschooling science supplies (and misc. thoughts about homeschooling science)

I came across a cool experiment to test the pH of various materials using red cabbage juice.  A huge part of me wanted to just jump right in and do it TODAY.  However, caution prevailed, and I decided to get some safety goggles, and gloves, as well as beakers.  I’d been wanting to get goggles and beakers for a while, anyways, so I figured this was a good opportunity.  I mean, kitchen glasses have sufficed for all our experiments up to now, but I have often thought it would be great to do some real measurement, plus have tools that we won’t be drinking from, later that same evening.  😉

I started at Edmunds Scientifics, where we’ve purchased a number of science things, previously.  Wesley about hyperventilated when he saw me open their home page.  “Does this mean you’re going to get _______ for me?!!??”  He rattled off a list of things he wanted.  Umm… no.

I have a love/hate relationship with Edmunds.  I love the catalogs that come in the mail;  the boys fight over them!  I love that dreams of powerful microscopes and telescopes dance in their heads, and not the latest video game.  However,  Edmunds often has some great sales (fabulous ones around Christmastime), their shipping is reasonable, and their clearance prices are awesome.  The trade-off for all of these positive things is daily e-mails from the company.  Daily.  Ugh.

Edmunds didn’t have all that I needed, though.  And what they did have, seemed to be a bit overpriced.  So, I did a search to find an online store that had all three of my items, plus reasonable prices, including shipping.  After a search that took too long, I found this place:  Home Science Tools.  Not only did it have the best prices of any of the sites I had visited, it has reasonable shipping (flat rate of $6.95), and it appears that, as a company, it particularly caters to homeschooling students.  It’s making me re-think my science plans for the fall.

They even have put together kits of required materials for eight or 10 different homeschooling curricula.

Some amazing deals:

Cow eye dissection kit (including “a preserved cow eye, an illustrated dissection guide, #22 scalpel, scissors, and a dissecting tray”) for $6.95.

A real (sterilized) owl pellet for $3.20, or accompanied by a dissection kit for only $1.30 more!

Pricier, but uber-cool, are their backpack kits.  “This kit includes the One Small Square: Backyard book, with nature activities and fun-to-read text. It also has our kids’ insect net, compact binoculars, magnifier jar, plastic collection bags, a nature notebook, colored pencils, instructions, and a sturdy backpack to hold it all.”:

Backyard Naturalist Backpack Kit

Backyard Naturalist Backpack Kit

I’m bookmarking the site, for certain.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on April 28, 2009, in Homeschooling, Science. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This one lives around the corner from me (the “store” is in her home).
    http://www.sciencestuff.com/

  2. Cool stuff! Owl Pellets are fun.

  3. What a great site. We are doing Apologia science next year and I am a little worried. Now I might have a great site to go to for supplies.

    Sounds like you are getting everything in order for next year.

    Did I miss the sequel to the homemade laundry detergent? We love ours and it lasts so long. Hope it worked for you.

  4. That sounds cool – I spent all evening last night with my daughter trying to come up with a science fair project idea – I am all scienced out!! I have tagged you for a meme on 5 Things you love about Being a Mum – no pressure but hope it brings more readers to your blog. Thanks for an interesting blog.

Leave a Reply

