An exercise in having a good attitude

I thank you, Jesus, that though I woke up on Wednesday with a clogged milk duct, that it hasn’t turned into mastitis, and even though it really hurts, it’s not nearly as bad as last time.  And, I thank You that, since I’ve walked this road before, that, early on, I have been able to put into practice some tips I learned last time, which has held the infection at bay.

I thank you, Jesus, that though I threw my back out, also on Wednesday morning, that my husband was very willing to come home, even though he’d only been at work for one hour, and bring me to the chiropractor.  And, thank You that he has enough PTO time available that he’s stayed home the rest of this week, too.  And, thank you that we have a really good, really effective chiropractor, who was able to schedule me again, today, since I threw my back out again last night.

And, just thank You in general for my incomparable hubby who has been invaluable in wrangling kids, bringing them to doctor appointments, taking our dog to her vet appointment, doing dishes, helping with meals, just serving all of us, and all with a good attitude.

dsc07434

Rainforest Jumparoo!

And, I thank you for the blessing of generous friends, because when I was bummed out that we haven’t been able to find the money for even a second-hand play “walker” for her, that she volunteered during a conversation about our kids, “Oh, Fiala likes toys?  I just sorted through Cavan’s stuff, and if you want, you can borrow his Rainforest Jumparoo as long as you’d like, since he’s grown out of it,” which made me start to cry because the Rainforest Jumparoo was exactly the thing I wanted for her, and You knew that — you saw me shopping at Target, you saw those Craigslist searches.  I’m amazed how You continually care for our needs and even our silly wants.  And, thank you that my friend just “happened” to be doing an errand within half a mile of our chiropractor’s office at the exact same time I was there, which saved us both a trip.  Wow.  And, thank you that Fiala LOVES her Jumparoo.

And, I thank You that none of my children are ill anymore.  That was awful, and I’m so glad, so thankful those weeks have passed.  And, I thank You that all of them were ill before the swine flu panic started, because if they were going through that NOW, I’d be going crazy in my gourd, worrying that they had swine flu.

And, I thank you that having to lay/sit on the couch nearly all day is happening during baseball season, because now I can watch a full game and not feel all that badly about not being productive.  Now… if You can just help the Diamondbacks’ bullpen and their offense a little…  😉

You’re a good God.  Thank you that when things go wrong, and though I may get knocked down, I so rarely get totally knocked out like I used to.  You’ve helped my roots to grow deep into You, and though I may sway, I’m still solid by the water’s edge

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 1, 2009, in Babies, Christian Living, Dogs, Encouragement, Family, Friendships, Housework, Medical Stuff, Motherhood, Parenting, The Dear Hubby, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ok that was humbling, motivating, exhilirating and wonderful all at once. Nuff said!

  2. Amen, amen, amen….love this!!

  3. glutenfree4goofs

    Amen, amen, amen! Thank you and yes I’m still alive 🙂 Just been trying to get over MY bad attitude. Ha, I wrote my message on a different post and had to erase and move it here! Kiva and I think alike.
    Jessie

Leave a Reply

