Chipotle Pork Hominy Stew (Crockpot recipe, GFCF)

I made this up, earlier this week, and it was a huge hit.  Everyone scarfed it down, even the 3yo, for whom I thought it might be too spicy.  It wasn’t.  I made this for my family for an evening where I’d be away from home.  I got home late, did some puttering about, and thought, “I’ll have one bowl before I go to bed.”  Two and a half bowls later, I was restraining myself from having more.

All of the ingredients that I didn’t have on hand — pork, tomatoes, hominy, and zucchini — I bought on sale, so was able to make the whole meal for less than $10.00.  Ten bucks per meal is usually my roof, though I try to spend less, around $7-8 per meal.

One note:  This recipe uses chipotle-seasoned canned tomatoes.  I got the Food Club brand, which is a store brand for a local grocery store.  I know that Food Club brand is available in many more places across the States, but I’m not sure where.  If you can’t find chipotle-seasoned canned tomatoes, you may want to use unseasoned tomatoes, then add 1-2 tsp of a salt-free chipotle seasoning, like Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle.

For those of you unfamiliar, chipotle is made by smoking jalapeño peppers, and has a dreamy, unique flavor, not quite as hot as fresh jalapeños.  “chee-POTE-lay.”  And, hominy is corn that has no hull and has been specially soaked — it looks like really big corn kernels.  It imparts a unique, though subtle flavor.

Chipotle Pork Hominy Stew (Crockpot, GFCF)

  • 3 lbs boneless pork, cut into 3/4″ – 1″ cubes
  • 2 cans, 14.5 oz each, chipotle-seasoned petite-diced tomatoes
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and sliced thinly
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 dried mild red chili pod, crumbled, without seeds (unless you like it really hot)  Alternately, add 1-2 tsp crushed red chile or ground chili powder.
  • 3 small zucchini (about 1.5 lbs total), quartered and chopped (or Mexican gray squash/calabacita)
  • 2 tsp Mexican oregano (whole or broken-leaf, not powdered)
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup corn starch
  • 2-4 cups water
  • 1 large can (30 oz.) white hominy, drained

Put the first seven ingredients into a Crockpot, and stir.  Pour chicken stock over the top, stir again, and cook, covered, on high for six hours, or until pork is fork-tender.

Mix the corn starch into two cups of water, and stir into stew.  Cover again and cook on high until simmering and thickened, about 30 minutes – 1 hr, depending on your Crockpot.

Stir in hominy.

If it is too thick and/or too spicy for your taste, add an additional 2 cups of water.  (My husband prefers stews THICK and spicy.)

Keep on low or warm until ready to serve.

Enjoy!

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 1, 2009, in Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, GF Recipes, GFCF Recipes, gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I think my husband may love you for posting this recipe. 😉

  2. Mmm! I do a version of this called pozole. We like it with fresh vegetables added on top at serving– cabbage, radish, avocado, green onion.

  3. This looks great too. Sorta reminds me of something we used to eat when we lived in New Mexico. I’m going to try this one too!

  4. Made this today. It was really really good. I ate way too much. I loved that it was so easy, just dump it all in and press start. Hubby really liked it too. This was my first time ever using hominy and only the second time I have ever used chipotle peppers. Oh ya, I didn’t have any of the tomatoes that you used so I used regular diced tomatoes and then minced up 2 chipotle peppers without the seeds. I also only used 2 cups of stock and no water except the water for the cornstarch. It was the right consistency for us. It made A LOT. There is easily enough left over for 2 more meals. Score for me!! Thanks Karen for posting this recipe. Awesome!!!!

  5. embracingthechaos

    Kids didn’t like it but I didn’t expect they would. They seem to be existing on air lately. I am at my wits end in that department. I used the yellow squash from my garden. I have more of it than I know what to do with.

    • Oooh, you have a garden… Mmmm… I wish I had squash coming out of my ears!!! I’m looking out the window at the bare patch that we prepared (raised bed and everything) to be a garden, but then our dog tore up the watering system, and it’s been just dirt for… umm… two years. My hubby has been working on it, and I hope to have a fall garden going. Did you grow any tomatoes? Have you ever canned? Summer squash cans well with tomatoes. Throw in some fresh basil, if you have it… Yum.

      Oh, I know about kids existing on air. NONE of my kids were good eaters until they hit about age 7. Audrey, my 3yo, has even said, “I don’t like food.” It’s a miracle when I make something that everyone likes, including all of the kids. I’ve had to use it as a major character-development issue, to let them know that, though I love to feed them what they love, not everyone is going to adore every meal — basically, you can’t always get what you want.

  6. embracingthechaos

    oops sorry didn’t realize i was signed in with my other blog. previous post was me.

    kim

  7. embracingthechaos

    so there is hope that my kids may someday eat?!
    yes, i have lots of tomatoes. and more basil than i can possibly use (and it is only 1 plant). i have never canned before. i have always meant to get around to trying it but it just hasn’t happened yet. i did however freeze like 20 lbs of fresh peaches yesterday. i was feeling so suzy homemaker. i never would have thought about canning the squash. the combinations sounds really good. i can’t use the stuff fast enough. i only have one plant and if i don’t get out there to pick them when they are small the skin gets all tough. ick. the herbs are doing fantastic but i think this may be my last garden as we are having a huge problem with the birds. every time a tomato starts to turn yellow or orange the birds eat the insides out then what is left is attracting the fire ants. everytime i go out there i get eaten alive and then find all the tomatoes hollow. i am intensely frustrated. additionally we have our water hauled in so it is expensive to water out here. next year, herbs only i think.

Leave a Reply

