Baby Food Issues

Fiala is six months old.  Whenever she nurses, she hastily gulps her milk, usually finishing within ten minutes, and looks at me an emphatic, “Mmmph!” like, “Is that all?  Don’t you have three?”  She also has been wanting to nurse more often.  And, while she’s not losing weight, she’s not gaining it as quickly, and is losing some of her sweet chub.  Whenever we eat, if she’s sitting on our laps, she leans forward to try to intercept our food, her mouth gapped open.  Good signs that she’s ready to eat, right?

So, I got her some organic brown rice cereal, and mixed it with breastmilk.  Nope.  Refusal, with the most hilarious, disgusted expressions.  Mixed it with water.  Nope.  Steamed and pureed some organic carrots.  Nope.  Mixed it with the cereal.  Nope.  Refried beans? (Not really fried — just beans.)  Nope.

All of this was over the course of two weeks or so, trying bits at a time, daily.  I have to be especially careful about the introduction of new foods, because we have such problems with food allergies and intolerances, so it’s not like I can keep giving her random samples to see what she’ll eat.

This morning, I tried applesauce.  Nope.  She outright rejects it, sticking out her whole tongue to eject any that I’ve managed to get into her mouth.  She clamps her lips shut.  She blows raspberries.  She gags.  She will not eat.

Any ideas?

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 6, 2009, in Babies, Cooking/Baking/Food/Recipes, Digestive Woes, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Have you tried various temperatures? That has made a big difference for us. And repetition…lots and lots of repetition.

  2. glutenfree4goofs

    Funny girl she probaly wants steak and chips! Davie is eating daily “smoothies” of milk or warm water with avacado (extremely healthy with good fat content- Hawaii’s 1st baby food-not that I would know except that my midwife had a practice there for years) with a small piece of banana (for the sweetness but can cause constipation). I agree with Tina, it may have something to do with temp. as well. Davie didn’t like rice alone or carrots (I even mix THEM with a sliver of banana and often avacado). Hope she gets on the band wagon soon!

    • Now that you mention it, I have given her tiny tastes of avocado and banana. She gagged, of course.

      How do you store your avocados once they’re cut into? When they’re regularly $1 ea or more, it pains me to think of going through one every day… Or, maybe I should just give her some and slice up the rest in our dinner salad.

  3. I would say she’s not ready for food other than just experimenting with how much she dislikes it. 🙂

    I’d hang back and wait another month or two, even if it means she nurses more often.

    • I guess my concern lies in how she acts as if she’s hungry, but then, she won’t eat anything other than b’milk…. It’s not like I want to force-feed her stuff she abhors. I just feel torn. 😦 And, I must say, I’m not feeling chipper about her not making it through the night anymore. OOH, it’s a no-brainer to nurse her more often, but OTOH, it’s hard putting it into practice.

  4. Let it be, let it be, let it be, let it be…..Beatles tune…..until she is ready. Did you try yogurt? French fries? Cherrios…you probably don’t have these. Avocado is a good idea. Sweet potatos baked are so good, like candy. Cheers!

    • I like the Beatles. 🙂

      No on yogurt, Cheerios, french fries (I did try some plain potato), as they’re not single-ingredient items, plus the Cheerios has gluten and yogurt has dairy, which I won’t try on her at all until we both get a better grasp of her non-nursing diet. Sweet potatoes is a great idea. In fact, I bought some on Saturday at the grocery store and had forgotten. I’ll try that next!

  5. My Miriam refused to eat anything that was mashed or had any resemblance to baby food. I ended up cutting everything into very tiny pieces and letting her feed herself. It also worked best if I cut up little pieces of what everyone was eating from my plate. At 3 years old she still eats better if I give her some of the food from my plate, even if she has the exact same thing on hers…

    • Ooh, good idea, Lydia. I will keep that in mind. In fact, I had thought about that a bit, because it seems like Fiala is having a texture issue, as much as a taste issue. Tonight, I gave her a g.f. pretzel, and she pretty much just waved it around, happy as a clam, barely even tasted it. So, maybe I do need to find a way to give her “big people food,” but baby-style.

  6. glutenfree4goofs

    Davie gagged when I tried the first time to give her a bite of avacado too. I know what you mean about the cost. My situation was different since my little girl actually did loose quite a bit of weight so I ignored the cost this once! 🙂

    I cut one in half and spoon some out into a blender with a sliver of banana. I add warm water and blend it (adding water if necessary) till it is just slightly more solid than milk- almost like thin yogurt. She took a few tries but now it’s her favorite, even when I try new things she wants her “smoothie”. I’m glad since now she has a double chin and she was on the verge of needing medical help!

    Oh, to store it I put the halves together (that helps it to stay green longer) and into a ziploc, then in the frig. Usually serving some for dinner, as you said, but I can make it last a couple days like that just for baby. A little brown is fine, just watch for mold.

    You might try summer squash. I tried sw potato and then squash a few days later. Davie wasn’t sure about sw potato and spit it out after a few bites but loved the squash. Go figure! If you are concerned about her weight you could always suppliment, (AFTER nursing) with goat milk even in a sippy cup so there is no worry about nipple confusion. There are powdered and canned kinds available at regular grocery stores by Myenberger if you can’t or don’t want to purchase locally. Goat milk is the closest to mothers milk and has a smaller curd so it’s easily digestible for babies.

  7. I will definitely pick up a few avocados on my next grocery trip.

    I’m familiar w/ goat milk. I did that with Wesley, when he started refusing the breast at 9 months — it was a gluten thing, but I didn’t know it then. So, I nursed him as much as possible, and when we were done, I’d give him goat milk. I don’t think we have local goat milk! But, fresh quarts of Meyenberg is readily available.

  8. Contrary to most advice…my babes always did better when the food was slightly thicker…like they needed a definite difference between the b’milk that they had been getting. My Josh is just a few weeks younger than Fiala…we’re right in the middle of it too. I have found that if I leave the spoon in his mouth until he swallows…he will eat it. If I don’t he pushes it out.

    If you want to try yogurt…we too have dairy issues. Whole Soy & Co. makes the only TRUE dairy free yogurt…at least that I have found. None of the cultures are grown on dairy as is often the case in soy yogurts.

    Blessings and peace during this time! I often wish they came with a digital readout…”don’t like that…I’d like bananas please!” Wouldn’t that be helpful!

    • Hah! Digital readout. That’s funny.

      I’ll try leaving the spoon in her mouth!

      I gave her some banana bits by hand this morning, and she ate a “whole” couple of teaspoons, and by the end of it, seemed to be actually enjoying it. So maybe feeding her bits by hand is the way to go. For now.

  9. glutenfree4goofs

    Tina, thanks for the dairy free yogurt tip! I will be looking for that. PS I just discovered today that ziploc baggies make excellent baby food smashers! Why didn’t I think of that before baby 4? Trying to keep it short- “write your own post lady!” ha ha!
    Jess

  10. Funnily enough, Kiko, who was the fussiest baby in creation and who we now suspect has food intolerances, would always consistently eat pear. I’ve discovered now that we’re on this Elimination Diet (we’re doing this one) that pear is very low in food chemicals and is by and large safe for most people with food intolerances. Maybe there is something in that?

    Oh, and Kiko has always consistently eaten lentils, I would mash them when he was younger but I guess Fiala is a bit little for them still. I have to say I don’t think Kiko was ready to go on solids until he was 10 months old, but then he was showing none of the “readiness” signs that Fiala is.

Leave a Reply

