One thing leads to another

So.

I finally put my new-from-Craigslist Steamvac to use yesterday.  I only did half of the family room.  I did one wash cycle, then FOUR rinses — two in the afternoon, and two at night, when the carpet was almost dry — and the water was still almost-black.  And this is with us vacuuming that room at least 2x/week.  Eek.

Then, I went to put the furniture back… and I noticed how dusty the wood blinds were.  So, I cleaned the three wood blinds, which is probably my least-favorite job around the house, but boy does it feel good when they’re clean and gleaming.

And, once the blinds were clean, I thought, “I’ll just wash the windows, too.”

Then, I thought, “I can’t put dusty furniture on clean carpet next to clean blinds.”  So, now I’m in the middle of dusting and polishing all of the furniture.

And, as I’m dusting, I thought, “I’ll bet if I take that lamp apart, I can hammer out the dinged-up place on the metal base, so it doesn’t sit lopsided.”  Done.

No wonder it takes me forEVer to complete a task.

Fiala is on the floor on a big blanket we have, and it feels great that I’m not freaked out about her getting a mouthful of dog hair and 3.5 years of dirt every time her lips touch the carpet, as she wiggles and rolls off of the blanket.

Today, I also lined up picking up some stuff tomorrow from Freecycle postings — some 3T clothes for Audrey, and a large area rug to go under our kitchen/dining table.  The lady giving it away cautioned me, “It’s definitely NOT modern-looking,” which was abhorrent to her, but perfect for me.  🙂

We also did school…  Dinner’s planned…

Oh, my camera is not working 98% of the time, or I would have snapped a pic — Wesley and Audrey spent a good portion of the morning in their fort concocted by all the family room furniture, which had been pushed to one side, combined with all the dining room chairs, which Grant had moved in order to vacuum/Swiffer, as is one of his Thursday chores.  It was a fantastically huge fort, and they had a wonderful time together.

It’s been a good day, one of those altogether rare productive days.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 7, 2009, in Babies, Budget, Homeschooling, Housework. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I KNEW IT! You ARE superwoman! Where do you hide your cape?!

    • One room down, all-of-the-rest-of-them to go doesn’t feel quite super. But, I’m glad to have ONE room done! For now. Doesn’t ever last as long as we want it to, does it?

  2. I have the same issue when I’m cleaning, although my tangents never seem quite so linear and productive.

    • I tend to have productive tangents, but not always the wisest and best productive choices. Like, I’ll clean out a junk drawer that really needed it, while two days’ worth of dishes languish in the sink. Know what I mean?

  3. So can you just move onto my house now. That is super impressive.

    That is the reason we pulled all of our carpet up. It just stays so dirty. And long-haired cats don’t help either. So he stays out most of the time.

    So is that on the to-do list that you had?

    • No, it wasn’t on an official to-do list. I have a love-hate relationship with to-do lists, because I never get as much done, as quickly as I think I should, and I tend to add so many things to the bottom of the list… It’s like, cross off one thing, add six more, and it becomes a bit discouraging.

  4. Productive days are awesome! I hope I get one of those soon.

    However, your story made me think of “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie”… if you vacuum, you’ll clean the blinds… [smile]

    ~Luke

  5. I’m linking here from Luke’s site. I liked what you said on his post recently about acting like Christians in restaurants.

  6. You deserved a cookie!

    Do you ever add things to your to do list after you just accomplished itjust so you can cross them off? You don’t know me so I can admit that I do! Makes me feel better about the things on my list that did NOT get done! 🙂

  7. I’m still amazed that you only have to vacuum twice a week… even before the dog, I had to vacuum at least once (and usually twice) every day… now it’s three times a day. I’m thrilled at no longer having carpet… but I still have to do a sweep/vacuum and then mop combo at least 3x a day… if I miss one of those cleanings it is so horribly obvious! Maybe my kids are just really messy! 🙂 (or possibly, I’m really obsessive?).

    Your carpet sounds like our downstairs living room carpet… our dog added to the three that used to live in this house made for nasty, black water! Gross!

    • Ummm…. yeah, Jamie, 3x/day would qualify as obsessive!! I’m sure my carpet would look better if it were vacuumed every day… sometimes we vacuum it 3x/week, but anything beyond that is really rare. I grew up in a house where we vacuumed once a week, so I’m at least improving on what I was raised with!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

