Mother’s Day at the Ballpark

At the ballpark

Ethan, me, and Grant in the left field bleachers

Martin surprised me with tickets to take Ethan and Grant to see the Diamondbacks on Sunday.  And, yes, this really is something that I would truly want to do on Mother’s Day.  The only bummer is that we weren’t all together, but it really would be bordering on disaster — and an expensive one at that — to bring everyone.  So, he stayed home with the girls and Wesley.

I didn’t tell him, but I had a strong suspicion that this was what he was planning.  It started with him “casually” mentioning last week that we had no breastmilk frozen “just in case” he might need to feed Fiala sometime, like when I was out grocery shopping or something. 😉

Yesterday, right after church was over, I fed Fiala one more time, grabbed Ethan and Wesley, and we raced off.

We had a really good time.  It was a great game, really exciting, since the lead changed six times throughout the game.  The Diamondbacks did win 10-8 over the Nationals.  Our starting pitcher, Max Scherzer, STILL does not have his first big league win, though, because the Nats came back to tie it up after Scherzer had left the game.  So, spanning back to last season, Scherzer is 0-7 in 13 career starts (6 no decisions, including yesterday’s game).  Poor guy.  His ERA is 3.39, which is good enough to merit some wins…  but, a poor offense combined with circumstances that seem set against him have conspired to keep him winless.

This was the first game where Grant stayed focused and involved on the game on the field pretty much the whole time, which let Ethan and I actually enjoy the game, too.  It used to be that Grant would want to go to the bathroom every single inning, and be stir-crazy in his seat, not really pay attention to the fact that we were at a baseball game, talk loudly, nonstop, driving myself and all our ballpark neighbors nuts.  But, yesterday, he did really, really well.  Other than him asking me to buy pretty much everything in sight (to which I invariably responded, “No”), he was really pleasant company.

After the game, the boys got to run the bases, along with — literally — about 1,000 other kids.  They had to wait so long for their turn, I was afraid that they wouldn’t think it was worth it.  But, they came up to me, breathless with their run and with the experience, exclaiming it to be among the top two or three highlights of their lives.  Ethan said, “Well, the best experience of my life, of course, is being born.  But, after that, this ranks right up there.”

In related news, I think that Bob Melvin got a raw deal by being fired by the Diamondbacks’ management.  And, even though A.J. Hinch was a fabulous director of player development, overseeing a fantastic minor league system, I remain extremely skeptical that he can do any better than Melvin.  I sort of understand that, sometimes, a team needs to shake things up a bit, and that getting a new manager/coach can shed new light, bring new ideas, spur players into action, etc.  However, I do not think that Hinch was the right choice to do that.  At all.  I hope I’m proven wrong.

And… Micah Owings, who is one of my favorite players, who was originally drafted by the Diamondbacks, and now is with the Reds, is projected to be the Reds’ starting pitcher against the D’backs’ Dan Haren on Tuesday.

Last baseball note:  Tonight is my boys’ first playoff game.  Their team is seeded 7 out of 8 teams.  Of course, as a loyal mother, I must say that their team is BETTER than 7th;  they had lots of close losses, and… umm… I believe some mismanagement on the coaches’ part, specifically regarding which pitcher to start, and how long to leave him in, and who to have play as catcher.  Still.  I have lots of good things to say about this particular set of coaches, and as they are pouring their own time and effort into a volunteer position, I’m not complaining.  Well, I’m at least not complaining loudly.  Anyways.  It’s a double-elimination tournament, so they’ll at least have tonight’s game, plus one more on Wednesday.  We still need to decide if Ethan is going to try out for the All Stars team, which would mean another couple of months of baseball for him.  He both really wants to and really doesn’t, and I concur.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 11, 2009, in Arizona, Baseball, Sports Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. How fun!! That’s something I would enjoy too so I totally get it. 🙂 I’m so glad you had a good day!!

    “Well, the best experience of my life, of course, is being born.” That’s too cute!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

