Deep? Or wide?

So…  After I got about 10 comments — both from people I know IRL, and the blogosphere — in the space of a couple of months that were along the lines of, “I check your blog every morning, and I’m a little disappointed when there isn’t something new.”  Ten isn’t like 1,000, but up until the fourth or fifth comment, I assumed that 99% of my readers were one-time visitors, who have just found me by Googling “rice milk recipe” or “gluten free sugar cookie recipe,” and that very few people were actually reading my blog on a daily basis, much less anticipating new posts.  Having been alerted to the fact that I actually have regular readers, I decided to try harder to post more frequently.

But, now that I’ve been doing that, I’m wondering if I’m not posting too much!  Used to be, most every post would get 10-15 comments, and we’d all get a good conversation going.  Now, it’s rare that a post gets more than two or three, and I’m thinking I might be overwhelming my small-but-valuable-regular-readership with TMI.

Whatchya think?

Edited to add: I did not write this to get on y’all’s case about not commenting more!!  I really didn’t.  I think I have perpetuated my own problem by not replying to more comments — since I’m spending my blog-time writing more new posts — thereby halting the conversation that I started!!  Duh.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 12, 2009, in Blogging, Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I struggle with posting more…I want to post monday through friday kind of like a business but it never really works that way. i am just not a business person and when i feel pressure to do something it never happens.

    • I don’t feel pressure! At least, I think I don’t. My reaction was really like, “Wow. You want to read more?” I know it’s dumb — of course, there are people reading the blog, but I hadn’t really thought about it. I’m happy to write more. I’m happy to write too much, in fact. 🙂 I just realized that I’m missing some of the long comment conversations… Which, as I thought about it more today, I realized is my own fault, because of instead of replying to pretty much everyone’s comments, I’m writing new posts instead. Hmmm…

  2. I don’t care if you blog every day or not! I DO check daily but if you haven’t blogged, I just check the next day. 🙂 People need to learn to go with the flo. LOL I’m always glad when I see something new though.
    Ade

  3. I am a daily checker. I always smile or cry with you or ____…when I read your blog. Your life issues are similar to mine and I always look forward to new posts! Can you go deep AND wide? Thanks for being willing to share your life so freely!

  4. glutenfree4goofs

    I like a good conversation but I’m a relatively new frequent reader. I did come over via the sugar cookies recipe 🙂 but I feel like you have mother/ homeschool/ sister insight -being a couple years ahead of me-with the kids…you young one 😉 – that I can totally relate to. I am only online about 3times a week and if I get on and you have posted every day I will usually only comment to one or two.

  5. Your posts come directly into my Google Reader. I just don’t normally post on many posts, but being that you’re homeschoolers and in Arizona (like us), and hearing your struggles and accomplishments help us realize that we’re normal. 🙂

    • Hey, cool, Jay! I’m always pleased when lurkers de-lurk. 😀 Blogs are fantastic for bringing people together with similar interests. In real life, it seems that many of the things our family undertakes are odd, but when joined with the online community… well, I feel startlingly normal. Hahaha!

  6. I always read your blog. I think you already know that though. 😉 I’m not always good about commenting – especially if I’m quickly reading through the few blogs I like to read every day – but I AM reading. Keep it coming!! 🙂

  7. Have you heard of Blogging Without Obligation? I think the site is down for a few days, but do check it. It’s good. http://www.tartx.com/blog/?page_id=233

  8. I read you via RSS, so I get your posts whenever you post them… no matter how often or infrequently.

    As I gather more and more blogs into my reader, I no longer read every post like I used to. I’m skimming a lot more and looking for content that I feel I can actually contribute to or smile about [smile]. So, I like posts that are deep (but not super long), funny (but not super long), or insightful (and these can be a little longer [smile]).

    I always say that social media are a tool: Use them in the way that works for you! Deep or wide. My two cents.

    ~Luke

  9. I have you on my google reader so I get a notice whenever you post and click over here whenever it looks like something I want to read the whole way through or comment on. Do you check your blog stats on your dashboard? That may show you how many hits you’re getting regardless of comments.

    • Yes, I do check it. I get an average of about 450 hits a day. It’s nice to
      have lots of readers, but I guess… the more I think about it… even
      though I absolutely love to be of service to anyone who is searching for
      recipes, etc., I more greatly value the little conversations, and the bloggy
      relationships that have grown out of blogging. So, 25 regular readers are
      more valuable to me than 400 fly-by-nights. 🙂 Lots of bloggers do all
      they can to plump up their readership, but I’ve never done that. I can’t
      say I’m totally devoid of ego, but I can definitely say I’m not driven by
      it…

  10. Oh…and I didn’t know “conversation” was a goal here! Guess I thought you were too busy to want to read a bunch or comments! So…I’ll do my best to have some witty replies/insights to share! 😉

    • Well… I most often don’t respond to ALL the comments, because then it just feels like I’m stuffing my blog with my own comments, and over there on the sidebar, one just sees the Karen avatar and no one else. That seems wrong somehow! Hehehehe! Or, if I respond TOO much, I start feeling like I’m obligated to answer all comments, and I don’t like feeling obligated. BUT, I read every comment, and almost w/o exception, appreciate every one, because then it doesn’t feel like I’m shouting to a black hole. Or, it’s like reading a book that has really good character development, where revelations about that person unfolds, and they become more real to you, and you care more about them. Because the internet can be, in a way, so impersonal, and I always find it lovely to see the personality and character of each commenter (if they stick around!) unfold. Then, they become more real… Hope that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

