The end of Little League. Maybe. (And, I rescue three goslings.)

Last night was the boys’ last Little League game of the season.  They lost 13-8.  The bummer of it was that the other team “only” had eight runs, and then in the last inning, through a series of errors and walks, they exploded with five runs in the space of literally about three or four minutes.  ~sigh~  We had all held out hope until that point.  You could literally see the boys’ shoulders slump with discouragement.  Our last at-bat, it was 13-4, and even though there was no way to catch up, as there is a five-run limit on each half-inning, and in spite of their deflated spirits, the boys battled back and scored four.  Losing 13-8 sounds a lot better than 13-4.  😀

It was actually a really pleasant game.  Martin had kinship, so he was gone for most of the game.  But, his Dad and Stepmom came, which was great.  Fiala kept reaching out to touch Herbie, and layed her head on his shoulder, completely melting his heart.  Instead of sitting in the bleachers, I brought Wesley and Audrey out into the grass to the side of left field, where pitchers often warm up on a sand pitching mound.  About 10 little kids were sitting, barefoot and covered with dirt, digging happily in the sand.  It was a warm evening, but not uncomfortably so, and a breeze was blowing in…  Baseball, family, friends, all under the stars…  It was nice.

Ethan has decided (with our blessing) to try out for the competitive All Stars team.  We have no idea if he’ll make it, because as an 11yo, he has to try out for the major league all stars, even though he’s played for a minor league team all season, as they only allow 9 & 10yos to play for minor all stars.  The league president said that if they did have enough viable talent to create a 10-11yo all star team, they would.  But, our city isn’t all that large, so the talent pool isn’t, either… we’ll see.

If he makes it on to the Major all stars team, the team will keep competing until a winner for our district, then state, then region is decided.  The winner of the region goes onto the Little League World Series.  The chances of that happening is extremely slim, because, in our district, is the Glendale Arrowhead team, which makes it to the LLWS almost every year.

Still.  No matter what happens — even if he doesn’t make the team — we figure it will be a good experience for him, and you never know what will happen if you never try.

In a minorly-related incident, I saved three goslings on Monday night, at our first playoff game.  😀  There is a large, man-made fishing pond in the park in which the boys play their games, over which the road crosses.  As we passed by part of the pond on our way in, we saw a Canada Geese couple with their three very new goslings waddling along behind.  Audrey was elated.  So, we dropped off all the men at the ball field 😉 and headed back, Audrey, Fiala, and me, to watch the goslings.  We followed at a distance not nearly close enough for Audrey.

“They will be my pet!”

“They’re wild, Audrey.  They belong outside.  They want to live in the wild, not as a pet.”

“Awww….  Goslings!  They will be my wild pets!  They love me!”

😀

As we watched, the goose family decided to cross the street.  Cars stopped as the family hopped off of the curb and slowly made its way to the other side.  On the opposite side of the small street, the mother and father hopped up the curb, but it was too tall for the babies.  A couple of cars which had been waiting lost patience and slowly drove past the babies, who were huddled at the curb, and their parents, who were looking helplessly down on them.  Then, as I was trying to decide what to do, two of the goslings started uncertainly drifting back out into the street, as a truck, not noticing the drama, whizzed by, literally sending one of  goslings spinning backwards.  My heart dropped;  I was sure I was going to have to do some serious comforting to a tender 3yo heart, as the truck had certainly hit at least one of the goslings.  Miraculously, though, they didn’t appear injured.

I couldn’t wait any more.  The cars closest to me were still stopped.  I crossed the street, Fiala on my hip, and holding Audrey’s hand.  More cars approached from the other direction.  I held up my hand to them, and directed Audrey up onto the sidewalk, a number of feet away from the mother goose, who was hissing in earnest at both Audrey and me.  Uncertainly balancing on some cute wedge heeled sandals, Fiala still in my right arm, I crouched down and picked up the fluffy, unbelievably soft goslings, one at a time, and placed them on the sidewalk next to their mother.  I heaved a huge sigh as the family of five waddled slowly away.

I don’t think I have ever held a baby duck or goose before.  It was cool.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 14, 2009, in Babies, Baseball, birding, Family, Sports Stuff, The Kids. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have to say the titles of your posts always crack me up. They are like mini stories in themselves. Love them!!

    How sweet to rescue those goslings. I would have done the same thing. The kids vehemently defended a duck, who had foolishly made a nest under some playground equipment. She had eggs. Some teenagers were trying to disturb her just for fun, everyone else just looked and left. We don’t know what ever happened, but we were hopeful.

  2. Awww! Where’s the “Like” button for this post??? Thank you, on behalf of myself and my Aunt Buttercup”, for saving those babies! 🙂

    Keep us posted on Ethan and the All Stars. So they have to try out and it isn’t based on stats? I don’t believe in luck, but I’m not sure what else to say but GOOD LUCK, ETHAN!! 🙂

    • Yes, they started try-outs because it used to be a coach-nominated process, but 98% of the time, who are the coaches? Players’ fathers. And who are the coaches going to nominate? Their own kids. I don’t think there are enough people keeping player stats on each player to get an accurate stat count. There’s just usually one person from each team doing the box score for each of the games, and those aren’t totally accurate all the time. Many a time, I’ve seen the scorer for the other team approach our scorer and say, “How many do you show that they scored in that inning?” and vice versa. So… I don’t think that would be a reliable source of AB’s, RBI’s, batting average, a pitcher’s ERA, etc….

Leave a Reply

