Baby Fiala Update (Skin! Teeth! Chub! Slings!)

Fiala is seven months old on Friday.  Ah, time flies.

  • She is still having some skin trouble, though not nearly as extensive as it was before I started making my own laundry detergent.  So, combined with that, and the fact that she frequently has green poop (which means that the food is passing too quickly through her system, which typically means that the small intestine is having problems absorbing the nutrients in it), she’s probably having a food allergy issue, as well.  She is still 99.9% breastfed;  she won’t take solids at all, so it’s likely something in my diet.  It’s not gluten, because I’m already gluten-free.  It’s not dairy, because I’ve already experimented with that, and have pretty well ascertained that she’s not sensitive to it.  I’ll likely have to do a food journal, or an elimination diet or something.  I’m dragging my feet to do so, because otherwise, she is a brilliantly healthy child.
  • In fact, she’s 18 lbs, and now wearing size 12 month clothing.  Audrey was 21 lbs at TWO YEARS, and was so thin, most of her clothing was 12 months.  Audrey, at a checkup a few weeks ago, did measure at 30 lbs, and was the 50th percentile for weight, and the 75th for height.  She’s skinny, but I’m not really concerned any more.  I’ve been calling her “Two Feathers” all day because this morning, I picked her up and told her, “You’re no heavier than two feathers!”
  • Fiala is teething out of order, too!!!!!  It must be genetic.  Audrey did similarly.  On April 1st, Fiala cut her first tooth, one of her bottom central incisors, and the other one quickly followed.  On Saturday, her left lateral incisor (not the middle one) poked through.  Funny girl.
  • I thought I’d try a baby sling, to help with Fiala’s fussy afternoons.  She’s aging out of needing to nap so frequently, but in place of a nap, I usually get an abnormally cranky baby from about 3-6 p.m., just when things are especially busy with preparing for dinner, and Daddy coming home, etc.  So, I found a friend who would loan me one that she no longer used.  It works well, but it’s hard on my shoulder and back!!  They say that if you use a sling correctly, it doesn’t hurt your back.  But, really, the only thing that would totally not hurt my back is to leave her in her jumpy, or to roll around on the floor, or in the care of one of her brothers, or something like that.  It’s only been a couple of days, and we’re still both getting used to the sling.  But, as far as keeping her more content, and getting more done, and not hurting everyone’s heart by leaving her to languish in tears for the entire afternoon, well, that part is working well.  “Entire afternoon.”  Not really.  It just feels like that.  Especially when my day, up until 2:00 is taken up with school/meals, then I usually blog, do e-mail, read, etc. from 2:00-3:00 while the kids are in their quiet times…  3:00-6:00 is the MEAT of the productive time of my day, and this is the time that Fiala, bless her dear, sweet heart, is most fussy and uncooperative with the fact that I need to make dinner, and I’d prefer to get all the dishes done before my hubby walks in the door, etc.  So, the sling it is.  I hope, anyways.  I do need to sit down and view a how-to video or something.  My friend gave me a few tips, but she didn’t actually use hers much, so I feel like, sometimes, I’m not doing things quite right.
About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 18, 2009, in Babies, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I just made a Moby Wrap and I like so much more than the sling. I can nurse in it too. I still need to practice a little more though. And my 12 yo can carry her in it too without me being worried. Which will be nice while we are camping.

    go to http://www.babywearing101.com it has some great ideas on different wearing types. The Moby is just a long piece of material so you can do it in 5 minutes. And get 2 out of one piece of material. I keep one in the house and one in the car.

    It can be worn so many different ways.

  2. glutenfree4goofs

    I agree with Christy the Moby Wrap is much more comfortable but harder to learn, in my opinion. Not as easy to just throw on and take off. I understand you are using what was FREE and that’s a big part of it. If you spread the fabric out on your sling as much as possible across your back and even a little over your shoulder it should be more comfy. SO glad Fiala is chubby, I can’t believe 18lbs!! Davie is 12lbs and skinny like Audrey I hope she chubs.

    That allergy ellimination diet is a bummer but it’s pretty easy to tell what is the culprit. I have to do it AGAIN with my 2yr old because I thought I’d figured it out and now something else is causing diaper probs. I’ve cut out wheat, yogurt, apples, and milk but still he gets diarea and a beat red rash on his cheeks. Maybe corn? Rice? I have no idea!

    So I just said it’s easy and then I said it’s not! Oh Brother! 🙂

    Jessie

    Oh, if you do the Moby it’s very helpful to have someone else wrap it for you while you hold the baby.

  3. I was just about to say moby wrap. Slings KILL my back… and after 9 years and 3 different kids of trying them out I think I know how to wear it right heh.

    I don’t like to compare my kids either…. but on a case to case basis some delicately put sibling evaluation can be a good thing.

    both of my kids had problems with gluten and dairy while i was breastfeeding. my daughter also was sensitive to corn, soy, and citrus! but I bet if i had known enough to do the elimination diet she would have done better! I was naive to those things during her babyhood – poor child!

  4. I’m a new reader and hard-core believer in slings. If you have the single shoulder-style sling (the one you’ve borrowed), I recommend you get one like the Sleepy Wrap or Moby Wrap! I have the Moby. I wore my second in it until she was 9 months old (even though she started walking at 8.5) and my third is still in it. She’s almost 7 months now. She weighs almost the same as yours and wearing her for more than 4 hours might hurt my back a little, but I’ve done 3 hours in a row on my feet with very few aches. Oh, and you can use it until they weigh 35 pounds (my oldest who is 5 barely weighs more than that now!). Anyway… I had to make this suggestion.
    http://www.mobywrap.com

    • Thanks for the comment, Tori! I’ve just been using the ring sling for a little more than a week, and it’s been working out well! It doesn’t hurt my back, but she’s only in it for 20 min – 2 hrs at a time, depending on what I’m doing. I had her in it at my nephew’s high school graduation on Friday night and it was a lifesaver!! Five kids, hubby not along… I could hold Fiala, plus have two hands free for my very active 3yo. I may check out the Moby Wrap if, for some reason, the ring sling starts… not working or something, but so far, so good!! I’ve had her in it in all sorts of different positions, and they all work well for whatever I’m doing. The Moby wrap may be better — seems like there’s lots of believers in it here! — but for someone who has never used a sling before, I’m really happy with the sling I have.

Leave a Reply

