Nervous Nelly

So.  On my eBay account right now, I am selling a really expensive guitar for my father-in-law.  I have never sold anything near that expensive on eBay.  He doesn’t have an account, and wasn’t really familiar with the process.  My hubby asked me to list it for him, and at first, I balked, because I knew it would take me a good three hours.  It took more, especially when I take into account all the communication back and forth to get all the details straight, and to request more info about this or that…

Then, mostly due to my unfamiliarity with the guitar itself, I listed it with a few details incorrect, and I had to pull the listing, which cost me/him/us almost $30 for the nonrefundable reserve price.  Ugh.  I went round and round with eBay, because it seems to me that I should be able to change a few words on my listing, even if there are already bidders, if the reserve price isn’t met.  Since the reserve is not met, we are not under obligation to sell, and the buyer is not under obligation to buy.  Conversations with only vaguely helpful eBay support, both on the phone, and in live chat, was more time wasted invested.

Also, though my FIL and I get along really well, we’ve had a few moments where I’ve had to try to ask him some things, or explain something, and I really need “X” kind of answer, and he supplies me with a “Y” answer and that’s good enough for him — “Don’t worry!” he says — but for me, being more familiar with eBay, and being responsible for a $3,000 purchase that someone else is making, well, golly, that does make me nervous, and I would like to have as exacting information as possible.  So, I’m trying to be both as diplomatic and kind as possible, while being firm in my request, and I don’t feel like I’m accomplishing either diplomacy or firmness.

I have never been so nervous about a listing in my life.  I feel like there are relationship issues at stake, not just money stuff.  Know what I mean?  Yet, I really want to help him out…

The bidding is up high, but it hasn’t quite reached the reserve price.  I just hope it sells because I’d really like this experience to be over with.

About Karen Joy

I'm a partially-homeschooling mother of six -- 3 boys ages 19, 17 and 15 years old, and three girls: 11, 8, and 3. I like birding, reading, writing, organic gardening, singing, playing guitar, hiking, the outdoors, and books. I very casually lead a very large group of homeschooling families in the Phoenix area. I have a dear hubby who designs homes for a local home builder and who is the worship pastor of our church. I live in the desert, which I used to hate, but now appreciate.

Posted on May 20, 2009, in Extended Family Drama/News, Family, Shopping, The Dear Hubby. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good luck! Hope it all works out well and quickly.

  2. May it sell soon and for a great price!

    ~Luke

  3. Must admit, I’ve never been entirely at ease with Ebay; I’ve bought exactly one thing there (a 50mm prime lens for my camera. I know you don’t need to know but I like saying it!) and that took me eight attempts or more as auctions spiraled up beyond the price such lenses would have fetched brand new! Of course, I hope that’s what happens with your FIL’s guitar…

Leave a Reply

